We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FOR HONEYMOON, FOR AN IDYLLIC HOLIDAY WHAT A BEAUTIFUL PLACE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of MDC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MDC Hotel
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Farallon, Panama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“FOR HONEYMOON, FOR AN IDYLLIC HOLIDAY WHAT A BEAUTIFUL PLACE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Although we enjoyed Istanbul very much ( Kusadasi to a much lesser extent the hotel reviewed separately was the biggest hinderance!) Cappadocia and the accommodation there was everything I dreamt of and could not even have imagined!! MDC Hotel, a Boutique hotel is set right inside the caves, using the natural formation of the rocks and include even a very old almost Bysantine chapel! No expenses have been spared to make this hotel as interesting, comfortable and luxurious as you wish. The staff, including the owners were all the time at hand to help you, make sure you were happy and comfortable. Breakfasts are sumptuous and they are so willing to get up any time to prepare it for you should you have to leave the hotel at an uncivilised time! We had all our dinners there, as the food was reasonably priced and very nice, and the local wines very acceptable. We could have gone for dinner to the main village Urgup ( even I think with free transport, I think,) but we opted to stay in as the evenings were wonderful and the food good and after a whole day trekking, it was wonderful to have a jacuzz, relax and go for dinner next door. A to Cappadocia, itself if you have not visited the area, and do not intend to, you will have missed one of the most eerie, and mystical places in the world.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review of our hotel. We are very pleased that our hotel lived up to your dreams and expectations. We are glad that you appreciated your visit to Cappadocia, we feel very privileged to live in this magical region full of natural wonders and centuries of history. The staff at MDC Hotel join me in wishing you all the best; we look forward to your next visit.

Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    789
    115
    20
    0
    0
See reviews for
232
382
45
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chiba, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

First time i spent MDC Hotel with my mother. This hotel's all sence is wonderful,rooms,reastrants, funitures...everything. We want to visit again!
And especially Mr.Murat(Hotel Maneger)is very kind and take care of us,his hospitality is No.1! I already visited many countries, but i have ever seen such a good hospitality.
We want to tell Mr.Murat "Thank you for everything"

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Masako007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Everything was perfectly executed and the rooms are beautiful.The hotel is very elegant with a nice renovation respecting original Cappadocia architectural style.
We used wi-fi ,in the real cave ıt was amazing...
Peaceful valley views. All staff attempt to or did speak english very very friendly. We highly recommend.
I would like to thank Mr. Murat ,He is very funny and friendly
Peaceful valley views. All staff attempt to or did speak english very very friendly. We highly recommend. Thank MDC HOTEL

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marry776616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

I am so glad I got to stay at MDC, just by chance, as the rooms at their other hotel where I was booked, was undergoing some maintenance. This is an amazing hotel, the decor is authentic Turkish, and the whole atmosphere made you feel like you were in a cave. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub, nice to soak in after a long day out. It is so serene and peaceful, as it is away from the city centre, you just feel that you are way up in the mountains.

Wonderful reception on arrival, everyone very friendly and helpful, happy to drop you off in the town centre, though it is not very far, and you can easily take a walk. The buffet breakfast had a wide choice, and your eggs made the way you want it. Our day tour came back to MDC Hotel for lunch, and the food was great.

I am sure one of the best hotels in Urgup. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fPisces3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

A peaceful and tranquil hotel which looked very appealing to the eye.
Staff were very friendly and helpful and tried to please us with a smile on their faces at all times. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone without any hesitation.
Our tours and balloon flights were organised by Murat Bey, which meant that we could sit back and relax while he did all the hard work.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank adaletlaleli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed at MDC for 2 nights on a recent trip through Turkey. I have had the good fortune of staying at many fabulous hotels in a number of countries but MDC is one of the most unusual and fabulous places I have ever stayed. The rooms are actual caves. As my daughter said, this is without a doubt a 5-star cave. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant both evenings and the food was delicious. We loved everything about MDC - the service, friendliness of the owners, and every aspect of the rooms. Our room had a huge circular tub in the bathroom for a delighful soak after a day of touring. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank paulakurkolarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

My friend and I just left MDC Hotel and we are already trying to plan when we can go back. When we first arrived, we were warmly greeted by Ahmet who immediately made us feel right at home. The hotel was gorgeous and although a little outside of the city center, it was quiet and added to the experience of being in a cave hotel. We were amazed at the size our our standard rooms and loved the jacuzzi in the bathroom. As some other reviews mentioned, the rooms were not well lit, however it was perfect for a cave room. The restaurant was delicious. We had 4 meals there and at every meal, the food was delicious and the staff was very helpful and attentive. The view from the restaurant was also nice and the whole environment was very peaceful. I enjoyed being away from the city and I even went for a morning run by myself and felt safe and loved the calmness of the area. I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to get back again soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LarisaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.7 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.5 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#8 of 66 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
0.4 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
4.3 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#10 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MDC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MDC Hotel

Property: MDC Hotel
Address: Karangandere Mah. Karagandere Sk. No:20 | Urgup /Nevsehir Cappadocia, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#4 Business Hotel in Urgup
#5 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#6 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — MDC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in a beautiful valley away from traffic or noise with a commanding panoramic view across the gardens to the valley.MDC Hotel has a unique setting with beautiful gardens and fruit orchards and is the only hotel in Urgup where you can walk from your door into the surrounding valleys.All rooms are elegantly decorated with modern luxury and all are south-facing ensuring dry, airy, roomy luxury suites.Enjoy comfort and luxury at its best in a historical site - truly a unique experience in Cappadocia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your MDC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MDC Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing