We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do yourself a big favor and book a few days at this incredible hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MDC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
MDC Hotel
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do yourself a big favor and book a few days at this incredible hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

While honeymooning in Turkey, we booked at the last minute a sight-seeing tour to the Cappadocia region, and the good folks of True Blue Travel Agency in Istanbul had managed to get us an overnight stay at the MDC hotel in Urgup. What a huge treat it turned out to be! This luxurious hotel is brand new and is still working on a further expansion. It is located on the outskirts of the village and offers attractive views on the surrounding countryside. If you want the hustle and bustle of a big city, this will not be for you – we very much enjoyed the tranquility, waking up to the sound of birds and cows…

Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by the hotel manager, who welcomed us with refreshing cold drinks before showing us to our spectacular King Suite. All rooms are built into existing caves; each room is different, but all are very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The restaurant is excellent too – don’t miss out on their lamb in yoghurt sauce! The wonderful staff was professional yet personal and actually managed to make our stay one of the absolute highlights of our trip - no small praise considering the magical environment of Cappadocia! Our only gripe about the MDC would be that it is located too far from Calgary, or we would be back tomorrow!

Do yourself a big favor and book a few days at this incredible hotel. It may well become one of the worst-kept secrets of the region very soon - try to get in now while they are not fully booked for months in advance yet…

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter_Paulette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback of your stay at MDC Hotel. We are very happy to have participated in making your honeymoon a memorable experience. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to all the team here and we look forward to welcoming you in our hotel very soon.
Best wishes to you both from all of us at MDC Hotel.

Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    782
    114
    20
    0
    0
See reviews for
232
379
44
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

The 5 days we stayed here at MDC Hotel was a delight! The service, hospitality and surroundings was absolutely 5 star!

I love that you can sit outside your room like an open terrace to enjoy a glass of wine (on the house), enjoy the valley view and chat to the friendly staff. The other manager (Murat?) was very accommodating and attentive as well as constantly offered us refreshments.

Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner Ahmet, who served us drinks and just talked to us as if we were his friends. The hospitality was really refreshing compared to the other hotel we stayed in Europe. With his great connections with tour groups it was very easy to arrange. At first we freaked out as it seemed like it was in the middle of no where but in fact it is just a little outside the Urgup city centre but still a nice 15min walk and the staff always offered to drive us. You actually feel more relaxed staying outside the city and going for that stroll.

Our balloon ride was at 4.30am and there was attentive staff ready in reception to look after us. I do believe they go the extra mile with all their guests.

We really appreciated the size our rooms and loved the jacuzzi in the bathroom. A nice way to unwind after a hectic tour day. I do wish they had a pool outside as there is not much else to do after the tour is finished. The rooms aren't as well lit, but you are after all staying at a modern cave hotel! Great amenities in the room and free wifi was extremely convenient for us.

Thanks to all the wonderful recommendations from previous stayers as that was the reason we chose to book with this hotel.

MDC completely understand the needs of their customers and definitely go the extra mile to make sure everyone is satisfied!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mina_G8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Thank you so much for your review and for the photos of our hotel. We pay great attention to our guest reviews which help us attain the high standards which we set for MDC Hotel. We are very glad you enjoyed our stay with us as much as we enjoyed having you to stay. Your feedback will be passed on to all the team here; I am sure they will appreciate your comments. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again,
Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

What could be better than the uniqueness of a cave with the modern amenities to enjoy.
The hotel is lovely built on a a gently sloping hill . The rooms are large and immaculately clean. Many have levels within the room and a few stairs between levels, so older folks may want to articulate their needs when making a reservation. Some of the mattresses sit on a unique platform of stone, so if you like harder beds, you will enjoy these. Otherwise ask for a room with a box spring The rooms also have windows which can be opened a potential real plus as soon as the intended screens are installed.. We understand that there are also plans to build a pool and spa.

The manager understands the hotel has a reputation to build and devotes himself to customer satisfaction. Each guest's needs are individualized and each is made to feel special. Because of wobbly knees, I was escorted to my room on the arm of an employee whenever they spotted me, although there are ramps next to the gently slope in the front of the hotel. The attentive staff was available early and at 4:30 AM
we were handed juice and coffee prior to our balloon ride pick up.
Although we were offered a ride to town for local restaurants, after our first night at the hotel's restaurant we were happy to have the opportunity to enjoy dinner there again. They even packaged a bottle of their pomegranate salad dressing for my sister.
In short this is a modern facility in "cave country" with a management determined to win and re-win your business. They succeed.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArnaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review. We do our best to make our guests feel at home and looked after, and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us - we certainly enjoyed having you to stay. Please give our best wishes to your sister; we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you once more at MDC Hotel.

Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farallon, Panama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Although we enjoyed Istanbul very much ( Kusadasi to a much lesser extent the hotel reviewed separately was the biggest hinderance!) Cappadocia and the accommodation there was everything I dreamt of and could not even have imagined!! MDC Hotel, a Boutique hotel is set right inside the caves, using the natural formation of the rocks and include even a very old almost Bysantine chapel! No expenses have been spared to make this hotel as interesting, comfortable and luxurious as you wish. The staff, including the owners were all the time at hand to help you, make sure you were happy and comfortable. Breakfasts are sumptuous and they are so willing to get up any time to prepare it for you should you have to leave the hotel at an uncivilised time! We had all our dinners there, as the food was reasonably priced and very nice, and the local wines very acceptable. We could have gone for dinner to the main village Urgup ( even I think with free transport, I think,) but we opted to stay in as the evenings were wonderful and the food good and after a whole day trekking, it was wonderful to have a jacuzz, relax and go for dinner next door. A to Cappadocia, itself if you have not visited the area, and do not intend to, you will have missed one of the most eerie, and mystical places in the world.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review of our hotel. We are very pleased that our hotel lived up to your dreams and expectations. We are glad that you appreciated your visit to Cappadocia, we feel very privileged to live in this magical region full of natural wonders and centuries of history. The staff at MDC Hotel join me in wishing you all the best; we look forward to your next visit.

Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiba, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

First time i spent MDC Hotel with my mother. This hotel's all sence is wonderful,rooms,reastrants, funitures...everything. We want to visit again!
And especially Mr.Murat(Hotel Maneger)is very kind and take care of us,his hospitality is No.1! I already visited many countries, but i have ever seen such a good hospitality.
We want to tell Mr.Murat "Thank you for everything"

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Masako007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Everything was perfectly executed and the rooms are beautiful.The hotel is very elegant with a nice renovation respecting original Cappadocia architectural style.
We used wi-fi ,in the real cave ıt was amazing...
Peaceful valley views. All staff attempt to or did speak english very very friendly. We highly recommend.
I would like to thank Mr. Murat ,He is very funny and friendly
Peaceful valley views. All staff attempt to or did speak english very very friendly. We highly recommend. Thank MDC HOTEL

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marry776616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

I am so glad I got to stay at MDC, just by chance, as the rooms at their other hotel where I was booked, was undergoing some maintenance. This is an amazing hotel, the decor is authentic Turkish, and the whole atmosphere made you feel like you were in a cave. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub, nice to soak in after a long day out. It is so serene and peaceful, as it is away from the city centre, you just feel that you are way up in the mountains.

Wonderful reception on arrival, everyone very friendly and helpful, happy to drop you off in the town centre, though it is not very far, and you can easily take a walk. The buffet breakfast had a wide choice, and your eggs made the way you want it. Our day tour came back to MDC Hotel for lunch, and the food was great.

I am sure one of the best hotels in Urgup. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fPisces3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.7 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.5 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#8 of 64 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
1.5 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
5.3 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#7 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
4.4 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MDC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MDC Hotel

Property: MDC Hotel
Address: Karangandere Mah. Karagandere Sk. No:20 | Urgup /Nevsehir Cappadocia, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#4 Business Hotel in Urgup
#5 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#6 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — MDC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in a beautiful valley away from traffic or noise with a commanding panoramic view across the gardens to the valley.MDC Hotel has a unique setting with beautiful gardens and fruit orchards and is the only hotel in Urgup where you can walk from your door into the surrounding valleys.All rooms are elegantly decorated with modern luxury and all are south-facing ensuring dry, airy, roomy luxury suites.Enjoy comfort and luxury at its best in a historical site - truly a unique experience in Cappadocia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your MDC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MDC Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing