We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of MDC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MDC Hotel
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great find”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

This hotel is beautiful and cozy, the employees are pleasant and accommodating. Overall, the hospitality if first rate. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandiLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are pleased that our efforts to provide first-class service are appreciated and that your stay with us in Cappadocia was enjoyable.
Best wishes,

Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    789
    115
    20
    0
    0
See reviews for
232
382
45
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I stayed at this hotel in May 2011 as part of the Best of Turkey tour. The hotel is a bit out of town but it is very well presented. I upgraded my room to a suit, with a jacuzzi in the room. It was quite a charming room. No complaints here. I would stay in this property once again and reccommend it to others. By the way, I did the Best of Turkey tour through turkeytravelcentre.com

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lonelyhearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Thank you for your review of MDC Hotel. We read our guests' comments attentively and are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope you will come and stay with us again on another occasion.
Best wishes

Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
189 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We STRONGLY recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have a great time. The pictures of the hotel on the net are exactly the same as what you see there. Upon arrival they gave us drinks and a whole cake, facilities are very clean, new, and modern, and more importantly they work beautifully. Well it's about 10 minute walk from the town centre and so walking back at night may not be a great experience but it's just 10 minutes. My wife also enjoyed picking tomatoes, apples, and apricots in the little farm within the hotel compound. The staff could be friendlier but nothing at all to complain about them. The ladies who make Gozleme for breakfast are nice too and they let us try making some! Unlike many other hotels/hostels, it's in a great 'isolation'. We'll book a room here in advance if we visit Kapadokya next time.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YOICO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We know that we are privileged to be in such a beautiful setting while being only 700m away from the centre of town. Even so, we always offer free of charge to our guests to drop them off in town and pick them up when they want to come back to the hotel. Our fruit gardens are flourishing and it is always a pleasure to share our organic fruit and vegetables with our guests - it is so much more fun when you pick your own!
We look forward to your return visit,

Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

My dad, my brother and I visited MDC hotel for two nights. We were staying in the king suite and the room was absolutely spectacular. Made you feel like you were truly the king of the cave. It had the best bathroom I have ever seen in a hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. We arrived with no tours planned and they booked us in for everything at very reasonable rates. The beautiful manager - Sibal was extremely helpful in planning our days. Our agent had mistakenly booked half board so we had a set menu for dinner. The dinner turned out to be a pleasant surprise. On the second night they had fish for the main course which my brother doesn't eat. They were happy to make a meat based dish for us instead. We were happy with the location and it definitely looked like we had picked the best hotel to stay in. Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoten_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our stay with us and your meals in our gourmet restaurant. It is always rewarding to know that our guests leave our hotel having had a perfect experience.
Looking forward to welcoming you once more,

Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This hotel is a very good base for visitibg Capadoccia. We had a very good room 204 (suite) spacious and nicely decorated. In this room you have the main room as a traditional room with lots of light and a second room and the bathroom as a cave. I preferred this room to others as I didn't like sleeping without windows.

The restaurant is really good with the chef making outstanding meals out of traditional pkates e.g. Even a simple chicken kebab was superb when served over mashed aubergine. Prices in the restaurant are rather good.

Please note that the room does not have air conditioning but this even in August was not an issue as the "cave" stabilises temperature.

This is a new hotel so the staff is still being trained e.g. When we asked for orange juice a couple of times for breakfast they said it was nit possible even if thy have this drink in their bar menu. Once they forgot to make up our room.

However the hotel management and owner are keen to improve and solve issues as they occur.

Apprently the hotel is plannibg to build a pool for next year which will make this a superb place. It is quite hot in Caoadoccia in the summer and having a pool to refresh oneself after a busy day visiting the region will be great. We loojed for other good hotels with a pool and could't fibd one so this will ve a differentiating factor (with the chef), probably making it the best hotel in the region.
I will definetky return

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ike_fedas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Thank you for your encouragement and your constructive remarks. We appreciative your positive comments and I have passed on your compliments to our restaurant chef. We always read our guest reviews carefully and take note of any ways in which we can improve on the service we provide to our guests. Using this experience helps us build a truly top-class training program for our staff.
We look forward to having the pleasure of showing you our new pool on your return visit.
Best wishes,

Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We are at this moment staying with our family for five nights at the MDC hotel in Ürgüp and appreciate the very big room in this brand new hotel, it has opened only in March 2011. The Turkish owner is full of enthousiasm after having build this unique hotel using former greek cave rooms, enlarging and completing them with modern facilities. The hotel is a cooperation of Canadians and local owners and offers a number of really great things, such as the about 90 m2 King suites, which make holidays with kids very easy, nice private terrasses for every room, a very nice lobby...
One if the things we most appreciate is the great cuisine by the hotel chef, his cuisine is on top level and the prices for the high level quality are very reasonable. The official manue has all trasitionnal Turkish dishesm but, also a number of dishes of the more elaborated Turkish cuisine. But, the chef's offer is going well beyond the official menu. BraOvo!
As this a brand new hotel there are still little things which will improve with the time and experience, but, none of them really influenced the success of our holidays here in Cappadocia. Training for the staff ( other than the chef) will have to be provided to live up to the promiss of a luxury hotel, the "hard ware" is well in place.

Room Tip: Suites are very spacious, if you are as lucky as we were, you can choose the room upon your arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kikaBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you appreciated your stay with us and that you enjoyed your culinary experience in our hotel restaurant. Turkish cuisine is considered one of the best and our gourmet chef enjoys elaborating and adapting traditional Turkish dishes to suit all tastes and dietary requirements. Our staff have high expectations to live up to and we place great importance on their training to make sure that all our guests have a perfect stay in MDC Hotel.
We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and look forward to your next visit.

Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

While honeymooning in Turkey, we booked at the last minute a sight-seeing tour to the Cappadocia region, and the good folks of True Blue Travel Agency in Istanbul had managed to get us an overnight stay at the MDC hotel in Urgup. What a huge treat it turned out to be! This luxurious hotel is brand new and is still working on a further expansion. It is located on the outskirts of the village and offers attractive views on the surrounding countryside. If you want the hustle and bustle of a big city, this will not be for you – we very much enjoyed the tranquility, waking up to the sound of birds and cows…

Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by the hotel manager, who welcomed us with refreshing cold drinks before showing us to our spectacular King Suite. All rooms are built into existing caves; each room is different, but all are very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The restaurant is excellent too – don’t miss out on their lamb in yoghurt sauce! The wonderful staff was professional yet personal and actually managed to make our stay one of the absolute highlights of our trip - no small praise considering the magical environment of Cappadocia! Our only gripe about the MDC would be that it is located too far from Calgary, or we would be back tomorrow!

Do yourself a big favor and book a few days at this incredible hotel. It may well become one of the worst-kept secrets of the region very soon - try to get in now while they are not fully booked for months in advance yet…

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter_Paulette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback of your stay at MDC Hotel. We are very happy to have participated in making your honeymoon a memorable experience. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to all the team here and we look forward to welcoming you in our hotel very soon.
Best wishes to you both from all of us at MDC Hotel.

Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.7 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.5 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#8 of 65 in Urgup
657 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
0.4 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
4.3 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#10 of 69 in Goreme
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MDC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MDC Hotel

Property: MDC Hotel
Address: Karangandere Mah. Karagandere Sk. No:20 | Urgup /Nevsehir Cappadocia, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Urgup
#4 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#5 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#6 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — MDC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in a beautiful valley away from traffic or noise with a commanding panoramic view across the gardens to the valley.MDC Hotel has a unique setting with beautiful gardens and fruit orchards and is the only hotel in Urgup where you can walk from your door into the surrounding valleys.All rooms are elegantly decorated with modern luxury and all are south-facing ensuring dry, airy, roomy luxury suites.Enjoy comfort and luxury at its best in a historical site - truly a unique experience in Cappadocia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your MDC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MDC Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing