We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MDC Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$205
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cappadocia Palace(Urgup)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,032)
Filter reviews
1,032 results
Traveller rating
878
131
21
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
878
131
21
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscave hotelturkeyturkish pancakesfree shuttle serviceking suitestayed here for nightsspecial thanksheated floorsturkish bathamazing hotellounge arealocal winebuffet breakfaststayed longerunique experiencefairy chimneysgreat hospitality
Filter
Updating list...
566 - 571 of 1,032 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2012

MDC was recommended by the travel company agent at Argeus, and we were impressed and spoiled by the quality of this cave hotel. The staff were very attentive, and greeted us as our shuttle from the airport pulled up the steep hill. My luggage had been lost, and Mustafa did his best to help put us at ease despite this inconvenience from the airline, and to set us up with an amazing meal from the hotel restaurant (one of the best meals we had during our entire Turkey vacation!).

Over the next day, Mustafa continued to help me contact the airline and my travel agent to try to get more details about my lost bag. In the meantime, we took advantage of the excellent location of MDC to walk down a short winding country road to the town below. These walks between the town centre and MDC were a memorable part of our trip, as we often met local people along the way, and got to see them conducting their normal lives in their gardens and on their farms, or the children at the playground, etc.

Our room at MDC was comfortable and impressive. We enjoyed the sunken hot tub one night after a long day of touring the area, which was a real treat. The dim lighting adds to the cave's ambience, but if I could make one suggestion for the rooms, it would be to have a little more light as an option (i.e., when packing or searching for things after dark). We loved the hard lounging area in the living room, and enjoyed relaxing on these large cushions in the evenings.

Breakfasts are included, and as other reviewers have mentioned, the variety of food is excellent, and the traditional turkish bread made by the women working there was a memorable feature that we missed when we went on to Istanbul.

Attention to detail is a point of pride for the staff of this hotel, and Mustafa was waiting for our shuttle even before we were, so that he could see us off just as he had greeted us upon arrival 3 days before.

Thank you for this clean and comfortable hotel experience in a truly remarkable locale!

Jenn, Canada

Room Tip: Room 103 has a lovely bathroom with a deep sunken tub with jets...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2012

I was delighted to read that you had positive thoughts about your stay at our hotel and you found all of our team members to be very helpful. We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and appreciate your valuable opinions. I speak for all of us when I say we are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you particularly appreciated our unique location.
Thank you again for taking the time to write your kind comments; I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again soon.
Best regards
Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My family and I recently returned from a holiday to Turkey, during which we stayed in Cappadocia for four days and stayed at the MDC Hotel. The MDC was strongly recommended by our travel agent (True Blue) and received consistently high ratings by other travellers on Trip Advisor.

Our expectations before checking in were understandably quite high, but we realised very quickly that the hype was justified. First impressions are generally indicative, and upon arrival at the hotel (after a tiring 10 hour bus trip from Antalya, and a misunderstanding with our pick up which became quite stressful), we were met by the omnipresent and wonderful hotel manager, Mustafa, who greeted us warmly at the front of the hotel. Mustafa stressed that he wanted us to feel like the MDC was our home and not a hotel, and he very quickly organised our rooms upon our arrival in the lobby. Mustafa quickly organised a free upgrade of our rooms after we informed him that we needed extra beds in the room.

The hotel itself at night was beautiful, and the rooms we were given were both striking and unique, combining the outlay of caves (the building is heritage listed I believe) with the most modern of amenities and comforts. We couldn't help but smile upon seeing the rooms, as we hadn't seen anything like them before.

We then enjoyed a wonderful dinner at the hotel restaurant, with a four course meal that was local and delicious. We were also entertained by two wonderfully talented musicians employed by the hotel (we purchased their CDs) who played great (mostly Turkish) music throughout the night. The service at the restaurant, as with the rest of the hotel, was fantastic without being pretentious as one would expect with a hotel of this class. Our breakfast the next day and for the remainder of our stay was of high quality and very diverse, with the highlight being the sumptuous pancakes (complimentary) created by the two local women in the restaurant.

Although the hotel itself was wonderful, it is our experience with the staff which elevated it to make it most memorable. Particular praise needs to be given to Mustafa, the hotel manager, who was at all times gracious, extremely professional, organised and accessible. Mustafa made us feel like we were important guests (although he treated everyone who stayed at the MDC with the same courtesy) and not only responded to our requests, however small, with a high level of efficiency, but almost anticipated any concerns we had before we raised them with him. Unlike other Managers which would only appear once or twice, Mustafa was constantly present during our stay and was always considerate to respect our space and privacy. It was obvious to us that Mustafa is a natural and works tirelessly to ensure those staying at the MDC have a memorable escape from the rigours of travel. The impression we had of Mustafa is not in any way to undersell the efforts of the other staff, who were all fantastic, but his contribution to our overall experience is such that it would be difficult to imagine the hotel without him in his role.

We would not hesitate staying at The MDC again and would look forward to reuniting with Mustafa and staff. Cappadocia as a place is enchanting and different from most places that you will ever encounter. The feeling that you are somewhere special extends to the stay at the MDC hotel, where Mustafa and staff will make you feel happy and most welcome.

We can highly recommend staying at the MDC while in Cappadocia, and wish to extend our sincere gratitude to Mustafa and the MDC staff.

Leila, Kladis, Joseph and Elias Harfouch.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elias H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2012

It was such a pleasure to read your kind comments on your recent stay at MDC Hotel. Your feedback is important to us as it keeps us focused on maintaining the high standard of service that is expected of our hotel.
We appreciate your praise and are so glad we contributed to making your stay in Cappadocia a memorable one.
All the staff members join me in thanking you for your thoughtful feedback and we sincerely look forward to having you to stay next time.
Best wishes to all the family from all the team here at MDC Hotel
Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

After extensive research and reading the thousands of reviews on cave hotels in the Cappadokia region we were hoping we had made a 'good' choice when booking our 30th Wedding Anniversary trip at the MDC Cave Hotel. (after seeing many of our airport to hotel bus mates being dropped off at some questionable quality hotels) It was with very great relief when we pulled into the driveway of MDC to be greeted by a smiling Mustafa and the splendor of this beautiful hotel. Whew! We wanted to experience a 'cave' room, but we also wanted a window, ventilation and spacious luxury. MDC Cave Hotel was exactly all that and more. It's new, it's clean, it's modern, it's tasteful cave living! The staff are professional, helpful, friendly, discreet and we really felt they cared about how we were enjoying our stay at the hotel as well as the region.

We had an entire list of things we wanted to see and do while we were in the area. The first thing we did was to sit with Husnu who booked all the tours and activities we wanted, when we wanted them and how we wanted to do them after gaining his advise as to timings and durations, etc. From then on everything went like clockwork, and we even changed a few activities/tours along the way to suit OUR wishes. I'm really glad we waiting until we were in the area with people who know whats going on before booking tours. Further I'm extremely grateful that the staff at this hotel were so very open to assisting us in arranging our schedules to fit in all that we wanted to do.

Our room was very nice. We booked a suite room. It was large, but not cavernous or seemingly empty, so it still felt comfortable and cozy. We loved that it felt secluded in a way that we could sit out on our generous terrace and watch the valley and the comings and goings without actually having to interact all the time or feel that we were being watched. At the same time there were common areas outside our door, so one could envision visiting with neighbors while enjoying the evening sunset if one so wanted.

The room was well appointed, this is a cave after all, but ahh, the decor was pleasing and interesting. Many local handcrafted details are included in the structure, decor and soft furnishings. I'm sure no caveman ever resided in this amount of luxury! It was so great to see these added touches because it was nice to experience and admire the artistry, craftmanship and history of the area that these touches embodied. The bed, while a bit hard for my liking, was presented well, linens were soft and fresh. I would have liked a few more English language channels on the TV, as it would have been nice to watch a movie or a TV show after a long day and a full tummy vs the news! (BBC, CNBC and a music channel were the only English channels we found).

The bathroom was huge, and again well appointed. It was very clean and convenient. There was a round jacuzzi tub, a large (separate) shower stall and a generous seating area all set in marble. One particular detail of the bathroom was stunning. A large wall that was an illuminated piece of marble. We kept this wall lit most of the time while in the room. It was a perfect nightlight moreover it was an amazing idea and beautifully set the mood through the myriad of muted tones and natural splendor of this slice of stone. It was simply a natural work of art highlighting the simplicity and natural stone cave.

We had all but one dinner at the hotel's dining room over our stay. It was intimate and warm. The music was entertaining, but allowed you to visit and mingle with other guests if you so desired. The sommelier, who also was our waiter was a lovely gentleman, who instinctively recognized when you wanted your privacy or when you wanted to chat. He was knowledgable of the menu and the wine list. He was extremely accommodating in every way possible. The menu in this restaurant was decent. Each time we ate there we were not disappointed. In fact the Pottery Kebap (a regional specialty) was absolutely delicious! I would have liked to have a few more bbq (grilled) options that the Turkish cuisine has so famously perfected. The selection of local wines was excellent.

Breakfast was also very good. There was a good spread that I believe would suit all tastes. The live cooking station for eggs was a bonus as was the added cultural exposure to the local ladies who made stuffed bread/crepes each morning upon request. It was all very warm and welcoming vs. rushed, awkward or touristy.

The location of the MDC Cave Hotel is not in a town, and we appreciated this as we wanted someplace more restful. You need to know you are not gong to walk out the hotel's entrance and even see a shop or restaurant in view. It is away from all the touristy noise. It has a destination hotel feel as it feels like once you arrive, you are there until your next tour or your departure. You are gaining alot of peace and quiet but must realize there is not much to do at this hotel. This is fine if you are a hardcore tourist, and just want a shower a meal and a sleep, but this hotel presents itself with such panache that you really wanted to enjoy the space and luxury more than just a place to sleep. It got really quiet after everyone had their evening meal, mostly because there was no common gathering type function area to continue to enjoy the night before/after your dinner. It would be great if there was some organized evening activities at the hotel (such as game nights, quiz nights, dancing, bbq, bonfire, or activities to this effect). Maybe consider putting in a swimming pool or bocci ball court, or have an outside bar/lounge area. After dinner there was nothing to do except go to your room and watch the news or read or sit on your terrace but beyond the beautifully floodlit grounds, its completely dark and very quiet! Don't forget these are cave rooms so you don't even hear your neighbors and the rooms are deliciously private so you rarely see them as well! It just would have been nice to be able to mingle and visit with people that were at the hotel via some centralized activity or gathering spot.

The town is only 1 km down the hill, but there are so many twists and turns and alleys one takes to get to the hotel we were intimidated to wander off in search of a good walk to town for fear we would get lost in a rather rustic area. In fact, I think providing a walking map to town should be included in the room literature. Also a hotel car or shuttle bus running into town at set times would have made this hotel absolutely the best place to stay in our opinion. Again, we would have liked to go to the town and wander around knowing we would not have any problem finding a taxi back to the hotel whatever the hour. Because the hotel gives off the feel of being remote (when it actually isn't at all) families and younger (more active) couples might not like the percieved isolation.

We highly recommend this hotel. Several other couples we met on tours who were in our age range were very very disappointed in the hotels they had booked (via travel agencies or online) and were stuck staying in. We all agreed that choosing a hotel in this vastly popular tourist region was intimidating at best. We had all wanted to have a comfotable base to see the sights while experiencing the cave stay. There are hundreds if not thousands of cave hotels. Far from thier online photos, some look horrible and primitive, some look worn and more like hostels in reality, some aren't even near a cave and yet have the word cave in their name.

We are so very pleased to say we had a great experience at the MDC Cave Hotel. We would stay here again, it was the perfect blend of ethnic charm and modern luxury. You will not be disappointed in your accommodation or the reception from the very welcoming, obliging staff. (When was the last time you arrived at a hotel and the manager was standing there to welcome you?)

You will enjoy outstanding hospitalty if you make the MDC Cave Hotel your choice while in this region.

Best of luck and great thanks to Mustafa and his team.

Room Tip: If you have accessibility issues make sure you request a room that don't require you to climb stairs.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank burjview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed and thoughtful review of our hotel. We are very happy that we could contribute to make your 30th wedding a memorable experience and that you had a relaxing and tranquil stay at MDC hotel. We are also glad that our personalised arrangements for tours and activities helped you enjoy your visit of our beautiful region of Cappadocia. We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and appreciate your valuable opinions. We take all guest feedback very seriously, and we are constantly improving all aspects of our service and facilities. So we will be reviewing your helpful suggestions in order to ensure we contunie to offer the best possible service. It was a pity though that you did not feel you could ask our staff about our shuttle bus. Although, as you point out, we are only 700m from the center of Urgup we do run a shuttle service to and from Urgup on request at any time of night or day. I have instructed all the staff to make sure that our guests are aware of this. However I was delighted to read that you found our staff to be helpful and professional and I have shared your compliments with all the team here to encourage them to continue their efforts in making our guests feel welcome and ensuring them a pleasant stay.
Once again thank you for your thoughtful feedback and I sincerely look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Great stay at MDC, the room was very comfortable and spacious... the hotel staff was very helpful (specially the Hotel Manager - Mustafa) and helped us arrange all tours on a discount from the vendors.

The only problem is that the hotel has nothing around it (that is probably true for all hotels in this area), so if you are looking to relax in the comfort of your room and go out for an occasional trip to tour the city, then this is an ideal place for you to stay!!

Room Tip: All rooms have a outdoor sitting area... great place to relax and recharge!!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marut_Setia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to send your lovely review so soon after you got back. It was a pleasure meeting you and I am very glad you enjoyed a relaxing moment with us. We are also glad our arrangements helped you enjoy your stay in Cappadocia. We always focus on combining quality and price value - for tours as well as our own rooms. Thank you once again for your thoughtful feedback and I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again soon.
Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

MDC hotel is located in the quiet part of Urgup facing a quiet valley. One is woken by the lowing of cows and the gobbling of turkeys(no pun intended). The rooms are large and comfortable with cave features without sacrificing any of the modern comforts. The staff are friendly and welcoming and this is especially true of the omnipresent and ever helpful Mustafa. Dinner in the restaurant is very pleasant with two excellent musicians playing lively but unobtrusive Turkish music. In the mornings, aside from the normal breakfast spread, two local women make excellent stuffed Turkish crepes on demand. I'd give the hotel a 5 star rating but the room we were in(505) had an unpleasant odour emanating intermittently from the sewerage outlet next to the toilet. I am certain we would have been given a new room if we'd asked but as the smell was intermittent, we put up with it rather than packing and unpacking again. I'd definitely recommend it highly but avoid room 505.

Room Tip: I'd give the hotel a 5 star rating but the room we were in(505) had an unpleasant odour emanating intermittently from the sewerage outlet next to the toilet. I am certain we would have been given a new room if we'd asked but as the smell was intermittent, we put up with it rather than packing and unpacking again. I'd definitely recommend it highly but avoid room 505.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences at MDC Hotel. We always read our reviews closely and use them for both employee recognition and to ensure that any kinks that are reported are worked out immediately. Comments such as yours are shared with all of our Team Members as an initiative to encourage them to continue their efforts in making our guests feel welcome and ensuring them a pleasant stay. I was so disappointed to read that you were inconvenienced by a slight smell in your room and I do wish that you had brought this to the attention of our staff, changing the filter would only have taken a minute. There is no excuse for guests leaving us feeling like they had a less than perfect stay. I hope you will come to stay with us again so that we can demonstrate the level of service that we are known for. If you do plan to be in Cappadocia again, please contact me directly and I will personally oversee your stay.
Best regards
Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews