We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”
Review of MDC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MDC Hotel
Ranked #7 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Egypt
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in the midst of caves. A perfect location. Rooms are fantastic and charming with each room having different style. The staff is excellent and cooperative. Mr Mustafa was most helpful guy in arrangements and feeling us at ease. A special thanks to him.Hotel has all the modern amenities which you need so you wouldn't miss out any thing. Breakfast was very good. The place has its own charm and on top of it such a place of stay makes you feel on top of world.
Keep it up guys.

Room Tip: enjoy all sort of rooms, they are different and enjoy them
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PNJEgypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We appreciate your taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay at MDC Hotel. Excellent customer service is our priority! We look forward to your next visit with us.
Best regards,
Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    117
    20
    0
    0
See reviews for
237
383
47
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My husband and I stayed in MDC hotel for two nights during our recent trip to Turkey. Cappadocia, the place itself takes your breath away. We had never seen anything like it. To top it all the hotel is fantastic. The rooms, the location, the food and the staff. Special mention to the manager, Mustafa. He just went all out to make each and every guest feel welcome and comfortable in the hotel.

If you are in this part of the world and want to try staying in a cave hotel (with all the modern amenities of cos) this is definitely the hotel you want to look at.

Neha

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NehaKotwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
It was lovely to read your review and know that everything was perfect for your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write your recommendation of our hotel. All the team join with me to wish you all the best and hope to see you again soon,
Best regards
Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a cave hotel for the very first time in my life and i must say that i was intrigued and awestruck by the structure of the hotel. It is definitely an experience of a lifetime. Do not miss it at all! In terms of the hotel, the staff were friendly, facilities were very good and we had absolutely no complaints. Overall a wonderful experience in Cappadocia, Turkey.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rookie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for writing a recommendation of your stay at MDC Hotel. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and hope to greet you once again in Cappadocia.

Best regards
Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on our recent trip to Cappadocia and we loved it. Our room was huge - it included 3 beds, 2 upstairs and 1 downstairs. It also included a sitting room and a giant bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. The staff is excellent at this hotel. The restaurant serves good food with excellent service and a fun setting that included live music at night. Breakfast each morning has a large selection of Turkish food as well as more western food.

After hiking and exploring Cappadocia all day, this is the perfect hotel to come home to.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityOfLights1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay and thank you for sharing your lovely photos with us. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Best regards,
Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at MDC for 3 nights, that were nothing short of interesting. To start the trip, I injured my eye and required a trip to the hospital. This is where the overwhelming hospitality of Mustafa and his MDC staff begins. Mustafa personally drove my gf and I to two different hospitals to see an eye specialist, staying with us the entire time and proving to be a expert translator with his perfect english. Once given a clean bill of health, we returned to the hotel where he sent us complimentary glasses of wine to help us de-stress. His unwavering sense of hospitality did not end there, as he continued to monitor my progress throughout our stay. Once healed, he helped book excursions and make sure we were moving around on time. In a country where English can be a bit spotty, Mustafa is the consummate professional who will make MDC a world class destination. The hotel grounds are spotless and beautiful, the food is beautiful and perfectly prepared, and the service from every employee on the property is phenomenal. We spent 10 days traveling around Turkey, and our 3 day stay (eye injury included) at MDC became the most memorable. Many hotels urge you to "feel at home", MDC truly lives that motto and goes above and beyond to ensure each patron senses this. Thank you again Mustafa for a wonderful experience and all your help.

Room Tip: Choose a suite with the in-room hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdamLANYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to send your lovely review. It was a pleasure meeting you and your girlfriend and I am relieved to hear that your eye healed properly. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to all the team here and we look forward to welcoming you again in MDC Hotel very soon.
Best regards
Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We loved this cave hotel from the location, to the rooms and the great staff. We got an upgrade with a second room for our daughter and a huge bathroom with a large jacuzzi and turkish bath setting! The staff make you feel at home. We dined in their resturant, listening to one of their staff strum the quitar and sing. The breakfast spread was the best we had in our 8 days of Turkey trip. The freshly made pancakes were delicious too. We used their complimentary shuttle service to the town (one way they said first) and was surprisingly arranged to pick back to the hotel. It was great to find Mustaffa with his car, as it was stone cold outside to walk back!
Special thanks to Mustaffa and their staff for a memorable stay,thank you.
Dont miss to climb up to the hotel property, there is a beautiful view of the town from there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geek-indian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write your comments after your recent visit. I was very happy to know that all aspects of your stay were perfect and that you enjoyed your vacation in our luxury cave hotel.
I look forward to greeting you once more on your next trip to Cappadocia.
Best regards
Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Hi Mr Ahmet. I had not forgotten my promise to write a review for your hotel .

Stayed here on the second half of the Viator 7 Day Turkey tour late February. What a pleasent surprise, after the let down with the other assigned hotel in Kudacasi.

We had a nice room on the first floor. The room was clean and the bathroom well stocked and even had a jacuzzi although we did not have time to use it.There was a kettle with the usual coffee and tea although this would seem redundant as we were always welcome to complimentary coffee and tea in the restaurant. There were a coulpe of English channels on telly which is not always available in non branded hotels in Turkey. Perhaps because it was snowing ouside, but the heating can definitely be reduced which unfortunately we could not from the room.

A disappointment with an abandoned Turkey night was made up with a nice dinner at the hotel instead .There was an extensive breakfast spread each morning and after a show me, we had fried eggs over and easy each morning from Mr Hamdi.

The hotel is a short walk from the town centre but if you need a ride back, a complimentary service is available.

With this hote,l the staff is its strength.

One area that will need improvement though is the portering service. I accidentally tip the manager on the day I arrived not knowing that he is not the porter although he was helping with the bags! Unfortunately one of the wheels of my Samsonite bag was damaged when on the day of departure, the porter instead of carrying each bag down the steps indivdualy decided to bump both bags down the steps on its wheels at the same time.

But it is still a memorable stay . Good hotel, well priced and very good staff.

And oh, the free wifi was good too.

Room Tip: Ask the manager .... He is always helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Owner at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
I was extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit with us here at MDC Hotel and appreciate your taking the time to write up your comments. We always read our guest reviews carefully and take note of any ways in which we can improve on the service we provide to our guests.
I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again
Best regards
Ahmet Küçükyildiz
Owner and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.7 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.5 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#8 of 65 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
0.4 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
4.3 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#10 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MDC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MDC Hotel

Property: MDC Hotel
Address: Karangandere Mah. Karagandere Sk. No:20 | Urgup /Nevsehir Cappadocia, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Urgup
#4 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#5 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#6 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — MDC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in a beautiful valley away from traffic or noise with a commanding panoramic view across the gardens to the valley.MDC Hotel has a unique setting with beautiful gardens and fruit orchards and is the only hotel in Urgup where you can walk from your door into the surrounding valleys.All rooms are elegantly decorated with modern luxury and all are south-facing ensuring dry, airy, roomy luxury suites.Enjoy comfort and luxury at its best in a historical site - truly a unique experience in Cappadocia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your MDC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MDC Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing