We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply the best”
Review of MDC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MDC Hotel
Ranked #8 of 69 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Great authentic accommodation built into the rock and absolutely sound proof with a uniform temperature. All fittings were top quality and lacked for nothing. Views were spectacular from the outside paved area. Service was excellent and forthcoming from the entire staff over our stay of several days. And the pup was just delightful and welcoming.

Christine

Room Tip: Each room - really a suite of rooms - was unique and equally delightful and top quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 975 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

The grounds were beautiful, the staff was welcoming, the breakfast spread was really nice, and the rooms were spectacular. The bed is a little hard, but all of Turkey has overly firm mattresses. I highly recommend this hotel if you're going to Capadocia and I highly recommend going to Capadocia.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rendell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Our Travel Agent chose and booked the MDC Hotel for 2 nights in January 2014. We were met at the entrance of the property by our host and the manager of the hotel- Mustafa. He escorted us personally to our room and made sure we were well settled before leaving. We were in suite 501 which was a 2 bedroom suite cut into the cave, with 1 queen bed and 2 singles. There was a large tub/jacuzzi in the bathroom which was tiled with marble and Onyx, illuminated from behind. We ate in our room on both nights and the service, food presentaton and quality of the meals was outstanding. Our check out on the second day was at 3.30am so the staff packed us lunch boxes with sandwiches and fruit and were extremely helpful in getting us on the road, even at that early hour. We could not fault the MDC Hotel or its staff in any way, nor would we want to.

Room Tip: room 501 was very good but I haven't seen the other rooms. Make sure you have a tub with a jacuz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KennyL3693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Ön Büro Müdürü at MDC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

The staff at MDC truly appreciate that you have taken time to write this review. We as management are pleased that the meals and service were so well received. Early departures are difficult for most and we are happy to hear your send off was memorable.
Thank for the comments and we wish you safe travels in the future.
Management and Staff of MDC Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We spent three nights at the MDC Hotel in January. We could not have been happier with our stay and our experience at this hotel. The hotel was very comfortable and very warm which was great as it was cold when we visited. The staff at the hotel were all very attentive, pleasant and helpful - they were always on hand to see if there was anything that we needed and happy to offer advice on what we could do during our stay. Mustafa Bey and Feyzullah Bey in particular were very helpful. We felt that the service at the hotel was very good. The breakfast was lovely with a range of different foods on offer - we felt that it was one of the best breakfasts that we have had at a hotel anywhere in the world. According to my cheese loving husband the excellent Ezine cheese showed the quality of the hotel!!!! The hotel is situated in a lovely spot at little outside of the of the town centre - but only about a 7 minute walk. This suited us as we are happy to explore on foot but the team at the hotel were happy to arrange transport for us if we wanted it. In short we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return again this hotel when we re-visit Cappodica.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mezrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Ön Büro Müdürü at MDC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

The staff thanks you for the complimentary remarks. We work hard to try to ensure all our customers needs are exceeded. It was nice to receive such high praise from the "cheese lover". I as a foreign partner am always glad to hear about guests taking that short walk through the old narrow stoned streets to city center and visiting local shops or restaurants.
Thank you for choosing MDC HOTEL , we await your return.
Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Five great days in a spectacular location. Rooms are large and spacious and the staff is very kind. However it is in the cave rooms, do not expect them to be perfect ventilated. Do not miss the balloon trip can be arranged directly at the reception, with better price than in the city. Because the distances to reach the interesting areas are large you should have a car.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skogkatt_nfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My family stayed here for two nights at the end of December, and we had a wonderful time at this hotel. The rooms/amenities were comfortable and very nice, and staying in a cave was really fun! But the staff was the real highlight. The owner was always around, and did everything from make sure the restaurant was ready for us, carry our bags to our room, and bring us tea. We saw him at all hours, so I'm not sure if he even sleeps, he's so busy running the place! Hamdi, who is the waiter in the restaurant (and seem to run the place) is delightful, and took great care of us, while also being friendly and funny. Can't recommend this place enough. If you're looking for a place to stay while you explore Cappadocia, absolutely stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Front Office Manager at MDC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a "great review". We are pleased to hear that our service was both your highlight and it exceeded your expectations. The staff at MDC Hotel put customer satisfaction as the priority.
Thank for choosing MDC, hope to see or your friends in the future.
Best in 2014,

Ahmet Kucukyildiz, Butch Bisaro and the Management & Staff of MDC Hotel thank you for buying an “Experience”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We arrive at midnight to the hotel, and the Manager received us and took us to our rooms directly saving us the admin work at the reception. We stayed for 3 nights, and the hospitality from all the staff and the manager was impeccable. We were very pleased with the service, and we felt more like second home being in this hotel. The rooms were very spacious, our room in particular had a lounge with lavish carpets and amazing décor. The bathroom was giant sized with a lavish jacuzzi, and marble floorings (see the pic).
The breakfast was very good with a wide variety of dishes to choose from, my friends told that the omelette was very tasty and the staff even helped us to choose from typical Turkish dish (Grape molasses and Tahini sauce, and smear over bread). Try the freshly prepared Gozleme, its the local thin bread stuffed with either cheese and/or potato and/or spinach. There were exotic dry fruits to choose from; we didn't have lunch and dinner at the hotel, we wanted to explore the local place for it. The manager offered a free shuttle service to drop us and pick us from the city centre.
The only drawback for us, we felt the rooms were very warm!

Room Tip: Try getting rooms on the terrace for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budwine888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.7 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.5 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
0.3 mi away
Sacred House
Sacred House
#10 of 69 in Urgup
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
4.4 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
4.4 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#14 of 77 in Goreme
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MDC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MDC Hotel

Address: Karangandere Mah. Karagandere Sk. No:20 | Urgup /Nevsehir Cappadocia, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#4 Business Hotel in Urgup
#5 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#6 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: £58 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MDC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in a beautiful valley away from traffic or noise with a commanding panoramic view across the gardens to the valley.MDC Hotel has a unique setting with beautiful gardens and fruit orchards and is the only hotel in Urgup where you can walk from your door into the surrounding valleys.All rooms are elegantly decorated with modern luxury and all are south-facing ensuring dry, airy, roomy luxury suites.Enjoy comfort and luxury at its best in a historical site - truly a unique experience in Cappadocia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your MDC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MDC Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing