We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Cappadocia”
Review of MDC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MDC Hotel
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We visited the MDC hotel last September and had a wonderful 4 night stay. Cappadocia is a captivating place and the MDC’s location at Urgüp is the perfect position from which to visit all its wonders.

We and our friends each had a double room ( cave) suite that was simply stunning- generous spaces, big comfortable beds, extraordinary bathroom and a large terrace to gaze over the orchard and cows cave” stalls” . Our sunset ritual was to sit back, drink in hand, and take in these serene surroundings accompanied by the sound of cow bells as the cattle were herded in at night.

The hotels’ restaurant provided excellent, relaxed a la carte dining at night, delightfully complemented by live Turkish music from Duran. The buffet breakfasts were also very good with an extensive choice on offer. Service was first class and I make particular mention of Hamdi Gürbüz who was extremely attentive as our waiter .. and also a source of fresh grapes from his farm. Miss Güneş Kar was always on hand to welcome us at the end of our day’s travels. And of course the resident puppy, Badem, who my wife was so taken with that we just had to send back puppy toys once we got home!

But what most defined our stay is the manager- Mustafa- who is a wonderful and charming host. Mustafa politely checked on our welfare each day, recommended and arranged our daily tours and insisted on driving us into and out of town when we asked for a cab. Never have we experienced such generous, personalised service. Just wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Ön Büro Müdürü at MDC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

What a wonderful review, thank you so much. Your reflection on many of the hotels aspects are truly appreciated. Management is pleased your length of stay provided you with ample time to enjoy MDC's surroundings, views and spacious rooms. The staff thanks you for the praise and are are glad you stay was a memorable one.
Safe travels in the future.
Management and Staff
MDC Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (966)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 966 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

One should never miss Cappadocia cave hotel experience and MDC is one awesome hotel.
They deserve five stars for the hotel location, food, cleanliness, room space, Staffs ( Mr.Mustafa), Services and almost all. I will recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiru_Kiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Great authentic accommodation built into the rock and absolutely sound proof with a uniform temperature. All fittings were top quality and lacked for nothing. Views were spectacular from the outside paved area. Service was excellent and forthcoming from the entire staff over our stay of several days. And the pup was just delightful and welcoming.

Christine

Room Tip: Each room - really a suite of rooms - was unique and equally delightful and top quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The grounds were beautiful, the staff was welcoming, the breakfast spread was really nice, and the rooms were spectacular. The bed is a little hard, but all of Turkey has overly firm mattresses. I highly recommend this hotel if you're going to Capadocia and I highly recommend going to Capadocia.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rendell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Our Travel Agent chose and booked the MDC Hotel for 2 nights in January 2014. We were met at the entrance of the property by our host and the manager of the hotel- Mustafa. He escorted us personally to our room and made sure we were well settled before leaving. We were in suite 501 which was a 2 bedroom suite cut into the cave, with 1 queen bed and 2 singles. There was a large tub/jacuzzi in the bathroom which was tiled with marble and Onyx, illuminated from behind. We ate in our room on both nights and the service, food presentaton and quality of the meals was outstanding. Our check out on the second day was at 3.30am so the staff packed us lunch boxes with sandwiches and fruit and were extremely helpful in getting us on the road, even at that early hour. We could not fault the MDC Hotel or its staff in any way, nor would we want to.

Room Tip: room 501 was very good but I haven't seen the other rooms. Make sure you have a tub with a jacuz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KennyL3693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Ön Büro Müdürü at MDC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

The staff at MDC truly appreciate that you have taken time to write this review. We as management are pleased that the meals and service were so well received. Early departures are difficult for most and we are happy to hear your send off was memorable.
Thank for the comments and we wish you safe travels in the future.
Management and Staff of MDC Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We spent three nights at the MDC Hotel in January. We could not have been happier with our stay and our experience at this hotel. The hotel was very comfortable and very warm which was great as it was cold when we visited. The staff at the hotel were all very attentive, pleasant and helpful - they were always on hand to see if there was anything that we needed and happy to offer advice on what we could do during our stay. Mustafa Bey and Feyzullah Bey in particular were very helpful. We felt that the service at the hotel was very good. The breakfast was lovely with a range of different foods on offer - we felt that it was one of the best breakfasts that we have had at a hotel anywhere in the world. According to my cheese loving husband the excellent Ezine cheese showed the quality of the hotel!!!! The hotel is situated in a lovely spot at little outside of the of the town centre - but only about a 7 minute walk. This suited us as we are happy to explore on foot but the team at the hotel were happy to arrange transport for us if we wanted it. In short we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return again this hotel when we re-visit Cappodica.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mezrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Ön Büro Müdürü at MDC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

The staff thanks you for the complimentary remarks. We work hard to try to ensure all our customers needs are exceeded. It was nice to receive such high praise from the "cheese lover". I as a foreign partner am always glad to hear about guests taking that short walk through the old narrow stoned streets to city center and visiting local shops or restaurants.
Thank you for choosing MDC HOTEL , we await your return.
Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Five great days in a spectacular location. Rooms are large and spacious and the staff is very kind. However it is in the cave rooms, do not expect them to be perfect ventilated. Do not miss the balloon trip can be arranged directly at the reception, with better price than in the city. Because the distances to reach the interesting areas are large you should have a car.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skogkatt_nfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.7 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.5 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
4.1 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 78 in Goreme
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
7.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Avanos Cappadocia
4.4 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MDC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MDC Hotel

Address: Karangandere Mah. Karagandere Sk. No:20 | Urgup /Nevsehir Cappadocia, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#4 Business Hotel in Urgup
#5 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#6 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: £63 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MDC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in a beautiful valley away from traffic or noise with a commanding panoramic view across the gardens to the valley.MDC Hotel has a unique setting with beautiful gardens and fruit orchards and is the only hotel in Urgup where you can walk from your door into the surrounding valleys.All rooms are elegantly decorated with modern luxury and all are south-facing ensuring dry, airy, roomy luxury suites.Enjoy comfort and luxury at its best in a historical site - truly a unique experience in Cappadocia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your MDC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MDC Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing