We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great service”
Review of MDC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MDC Hotel
Ranked #7 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great service”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I wanted to stay in a cave hotel while we were exploring the region and this was the perfect place to hole up. Everything about this hotel is lovely and the staff did a great job arranging all of our tours and answering our questions about the area. Highly recommend! Special bonus: The hotel had just adopted a puppy while we were there, and I was a wee bit obsessed with him.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgwonvaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    118
    20
    0
    0
See reviews for
238
384
47
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

It was extremely unfortunate that we only put aside 2 days and 1 night for this region and hotel.. The stay at the hotel had us saying "we wish we could stay longer!!"
The region itself is amazing, breathtaking... So many other things that can only be appreciated by coming and visiting the region... The hotel facilities are so beautifully designed... It feels like you've stepped back in time with a modern twist..
We had a massive Hamam in our suite! (Traditional turkish bath)
The staff are so friendly and will go the extra mile for you. For instance on our second day we checked out but didn't have a bus out of the region till late at night, and they accommodated us and made us feel extremely comfortable plus organised their transfer service for us, even though we were officially no longer a staying guest at the hotel...
Oh! And keep an eye out for their resident puppy dog, Findik... He is sooooo cute and fun!!! They treat the couple of cats there really nicely as well!! There's a pregnant kitty there and she is so well looked after.. As an animal lover, this was so great to see!!! as they say, you should judge a place/nation by how they treat their animals... We give them full marks on everything!!! Definitely a must stay!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SelinDemirez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed in Capadocia as part of our 10day tour in this cave hotel with 4 children and 3 adults, in two family suites. It was the best place we have stayed in so far. The landscaping is beautiful that you can spend all day taking family pictures there. If you go to the roof top, which is above the highest floor towards the back, the picturesque look in breathtaking in all directions. The rooms, are large and spacious and they provide a generous welcome package with all necessities. The only thing I noticed in all of Turkey is the lack of an Iron, which I hear is common in Europe. The staff was courteous and helpful and truly hospitable. The breakfast was delicious with fresh food everyday and our dinner was very tasty as well. After a long day on the tour we looked forward to coming and unwinding at the hotel. If I ever get a chance to go back, this is where I would stay, and for longer time. Pictures do not do the hotel nor the surrounding areas justice. It just has to be seen and experienced.

Room Tip: They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCHOTEL, Sahibi at MDC Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for choosing MDC Hotel. It is wonderful that you took the opportunity to share it with your children. The staff truly appreciate the time and effort you put into your comments. We choose this site as a perfect place to unwind after a long day and are glad you took time to explore the hotel and its panoramic views. We do hope that you and your friends do return and as you say stay longer.
Take care and safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arroyo Grande, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for a night as part of a Cappadocia tour. Our room was built into the mountain and was plush and comfortable. Food at the restaurant was wonderful, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. While there we had a medical situation come up that required us to change hotels. The guest relations manager, Feyzullah Yalim, was very helpful to us in arranging our transfer to another hotel, for which we were most grateful. We would without hesitation recommend MDC to anyone traveling in this part of Turkey.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of trip & this was the best property we stayed at during our 16 day trip across Turkey & Greece.Perfect is the word for this property. Amazing landscape, big rooms, courteous staff, delicious breakfast & dinner, excellent relationship manager (Mr. Faisullah).
The hotel is located slightly away from Urgup city centre, but the hotel offers FREE pick-up & drop each time you request them (Even multiple times a day) & the service is extremely prompt. The maximum we had to wait for a pick - up was 5 - 6 mins each time we went to the city centre.
Their breakfast is delicious & one must gorge on their stuffed crepes (similar to Indian stuffed parathas) which are extremely delicious & are served hot.
Would definitely stay here whenever we go to Cappadocia.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panktiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. Service was second to none and staff were all extremely friendly.

Room was beautiful and made for an unforgettable and unique experience.

Would recommend this hotel to anybody!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the hotel. The food was fantastic, al a carte at dinner highlighted traditional Turkish cuisine. Breakfast had a wide choice including traditional Turkish pancakes made by local women. The staff were friendly and hospitable, even getting us baklava for desert one night from Urgup.
The rooms were very comfortable, with traditional furnishings. Internet and mobile phone coverage was available from the rooms.
A highly recommended place to stay

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.7 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.5 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
0.4 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
4.3 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#11 of 72 in Goreme
1,023 reviews
4.4 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 72 in Goreme
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MDC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MDC Hotel

Property: MDC Hotel
Address: Karangandere Mah. Karagandere Sk. No:20 | Urgup /Nevsehir Cappadocia, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Urgup
#4 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#5 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#6 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — MDC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in a beautiful valley away from traffic or noise with a commanding panoramic view across the gardens to the valley.MDC Hotel has a unique setting with beautiful gardens and fruit orchards and is the only hotel in Urgup where you can walk from your door into the surrounding valleys.All rooms are elegantly decorated with modern luxury and all are south-facing ensuring dry, airy, roomy luxury suites.Enjoy comfort and luxury at its best in a historical site - truly a unique experience in Cappadocia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your MDC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MDC Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing