We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hospitality--must stay here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cave Konak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cave Konak
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Konya, Turkey
1 review
“Amazing hospitality--must stay here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Staying at Hotel Cave Konak was the best decision we made. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Urgup, which is about 10 km away from Goreme (you can take a taxi for about 30 TL or take a bus from Goreme). Urgup is less touristy than Goreme, which is why we chose this hotel. Our rooms were spotless and beautiful--you truly were in a cave! The bathroom was luxurious and surprisingly spacious; it had every amenity, including a rainfall shower head! Colleen and Adnan were amazing. She helped us map out a detailed hiking route, booked our tour and even looked up bus schedules for us. She was always available to answer our questions (she and Adnan speak English; another person their speaks german). The most pleasant surprise was the constant hospitality. We were offered tea, coffee, water dessert, snacks, etc whenever we came to the common area of the hotel free of charge! Adnan was also very helpful. When I asked him about directions to the bus station, he carried our luggage and drove us himself to the bus station. The hotel also had amazing views of Urgup and we loved sitting at their outdoor dining table to work on our travel blogs (HumptyDumptyJourney.com). We will definitely be staying here again when our travels bring us to Cappadocia in the future!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HumptyDumptyJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for your beautiful review. We are glad you enjoyed your cave room (the Hittite Suite) and the hotel's balcony and terraces. Yes, we are in the heart of Urgup – the only boutique cave hotel so conveniently situated in the town center. It is easy to get to Cave Konak Hotel – the airport shuttle comes right to our door (needs advanced booking) or busses from Istanbul can stop at the hamam (Turkish bath) in Urgup – we are just opposite. Tours pick you up from our door, as do balloon companies.

Both of the owners know the ins and outs of Cappadocia and we are always eager to share our knowledge, whether it is helping the independent traveler find their way around or helping guests choose tours to suite their interests.

Thank you for staying with us – we enjoyed your company and look forward to seeing you again whenever you return to Cappadocia – and in the mean time we are following your blog…happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    24
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
90
113
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights with the young kids. The set-up of our suite was perfect, with 2 bedrooms and private roof top access with table and a hammock. The setting is very original and we loved the boutique hotel ambiance. Staff is very nice, however the early morning staff do not really speak english. The owners are very helpful and friendly. the hotel is located near the city restaurants.Price was also very good for us.

There is some room for improvement. On the internet connectivity, in our rooms, we didn't really have a good connection in the master bedroom. Also, you are right next to a mosque, and were were waking up in the middle of the night by the prayers from the speakers.

The window curtains do not block the sun enough, I would add another set to ensure the kids do not come and jump in the bed at 5am! Toilets was nice, but not set-up for good air circulation. Finally breakfast only start at 8 am, which was too late for us to start our day with young kids.

Room Tip: Try to book well in advance to take advantage of their early bird rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank expatsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
You certainly chose a lovely family suite – the Seljuk Suite is just like your own apartment (no kitchen), with rooftop terrace, hammock and plenty of space for the children to play safely. Your friends (see the “Stop looking and stay here!” review) also loved the Ottoman Suite for their family.

For our buffet breakfast, staff in the morning speak a little English, fluent German and Turkish, and an English speaking owner overseas breakfast in case of any communication difficulty. There was a fluent German speaker in your family – so we did not see any problem.

Our breakfast is between 8 and 10, and is prepared fresh that morning (not the evening before). When you left very early on your last day, we sent our worker to purchase poaca (Turkish breakfast flavored breads) so your family could eat before traveling.

Your suite has its own wi-fi connection and our modem is the latest model. Your husband tested it and actually complemented us on the high speed of our wireless Internet. Unfortunately, there are times when all Urgup is slow! but we can certainly check the connection again.

Being near a mosque in a small place is inevitable - and the local council has a speaker system around the town, too! It’s really part of the ambience of a small town in Turkey.

We will certainly act on your other suggestions as they will help us improve. It was lovely having your family and friends staying here – best wishes from all of us at Cave Konak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We had an unbelievable time in Cappadocia and all of it was due to Colleen and Adnan at the Hotel Cave Konak. First, our room was spectaular. There was the main room which was spacious and beautiful and just down some steps was a smaller sitting room where one of our kids slept (the other one had a bed next to ours in the main room). We have two boys (7&9) who were welcomed with open arms.

Colleen and Adnan arranged a hot air balloon trip with an AMAZING pilot, Ismail Keremoglu. He piloted the balloon with such precision, dropping us down into canyons to get incredible, close-up views of the landscape and lifting us up for breathtaking views of the entire area. A MUST DO when you visit the area!

They also arranged a private tour guide and driver for us. We were traveling with friends who also have children (3) and our tour guide was fantastic at keeping the tour entertaining for the kids and completely interesting for adults.

We can't thank Colleen and Adnan enough for making this portion of our trip so wonderful! If you are traveling to Cappadocia, I highly recommend the Hotel Cave Konak.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with 2 or more children, let them know and they gladly accommodate. I had a ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your room (the Ottoman Suite), your balloon flight (a champion balloonist makes all the difference), and your tours (we especially chose your guide as he is good with children). We love a family atmosphere, and little Efe missed all the kids when you left. Love from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

coreen the owner was fantastic.She made you feel at home, the rooms were unbelievable and of very high quality. They booked our trips for us and tour guides and made sure we had the best. Breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms very cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Many thanks for your kind review - we are so pleased you liked our hotel and breakfast, and that we were able to help you have a wonderful time in Cappadocia. Best wishes from everyone at Cave Konak Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

The room was designed with the combination of cave and built features in a wonderful harmony. I liked the support of hotel staff for the guidance on Cappadocia map and also the balloon we selected with their seggestion was perfect at all aspects. I definitely suggest this hotel.

Room Tip: I will prefer a room in the upper floor in the next time. Bottom floor cave had a little smell of hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank serdarali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Thank you so much for recommending our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here. Regards from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We did not stay here, but we were so impressed with Colleen and Adnan's graciousness that we wanted to write a review. We were interested in looking at some of the homes occupied by Greeks in the region who were repatriated. We poked our heads in to ask if we could have a look. This turned into a tour of the hotel and great conversation about the town and the preservation work that the hosts are pursuing. We were so impressed we asked if we could come back that evening for dinner. One of our most enjoyable and congenial meals in Turkey with Adnan sharing stories and perspectives, and great food prepared by Adnan's wife.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LG58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
How lovely to read your surprise review. We hope that you will stay with us on another of your visits to Cappadocia. Best wishes from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

This is a small hotel with rooms that are partly cut into the rock to give the cave experience, and partly built above ground. Our room, the Roman Cave and Stone Suite, had a ground floor sitting area, and then down a flight of steps a charming cave bedroom and large bathroom with two separate showers. The rooms were comfortable, spacious and charming. In the morning a healthy breakfast is served upstairs, and you can also sit out on the rooftop terrace. Overall the rooms represented excellent value. The location is very close to the centre of Urgup, which is an excellent based for touring Cappadocia. Being close to the centre means that many shops, restaurants and services are at your doorstep, in comparison to the many other hotel options that are up the steep hill and less accessible for those without cars. The only downside is that the hotel is close to the local mosque, which means that the early morning call for prayers may disturb your sleep. This is a fact of life in Turkey that can be both charming and annoying at the same time!

However, one of the most important reasons for choosing this hotel are the proprietors, Colleen and Adnan, who are both fluent Turkish and English speakers. Adnan grew up in Urgup and is a passionate and charismatic advocate for the region. We took a private guided tour and found this an excellent one day introduction to the history, culture and geography of Cappadocia. We also went off the beaten track, literally, in his 4WD to visit some fascinating sites not otherwise accessible to the usual tour buses. He also proved to be an excellent concierge, providing us with a detailled map and instructions for a self-drive tour of other sites, reservations for balloon flights, restaurants, Dervish performances etc. Both proprietors are charming, educated and eager to help the independent traveller gain the most from a visit to the region. Although we were only in the area for two full days, we felt that we got an enormous amount from the experience in a way that was customized to our interests. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Thank you for you detailed review. Yes, we love to help our guests to get the most from their stay in Cappadocia. Kindest wishes from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
4.5 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
4.4 mi away
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
#28 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
0.1 mi away
Cappadocia Palace
Cappadocia Palace
#9 of 64 in Urgup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#8 of 64 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cave Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cave Konak

Property: Hotel Cave Konak
Address: Dutlu Cami Mah. Istiklal Cad. Dar 2 Sok. No:5, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Urgup
#6 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#7 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cave Konak 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cave Konak Hotel is a centrally located, friendly, family-run hotel that is a recently restored historical building emphasizing luxury and traditional Cappadocian culture. We truly love Cappadocia and enjoy helping our guests with free information so essential to make the most of this geographically amazing historical cultural area. We are situated in an old street in the heart of Urgup, a small town with all basic facilities, comfortable with foreign visitors. Tours and balloon flights start at our door. Breakfast and evenings on our panoramic terrace are times to relax and take in the landscape of ancient rock cut homes. We hope to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Cave Konak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cave Konak Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing