We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a place!”
Review of Hotel Cave Konak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cave Konak
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Fantastic little place in Urgup! Colleen is a great host who is extremely helpful and very knowledgeable about the region. Rooms are like from a fairy tale. Sumptuous breakfast is to die for. We stayed for 2 nights and had three days to explore the surrounding area. Would love to go back, perhaps to see the region during a different season.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Fantastic review…many thanks! Yes, please come back again. Every season is different in Cappadocia. In Autumn, locals are harvesting their grapes and making grape molasses and tomato paste. In winter snow is guaranteed at some point in January and although it is cold the scenery is beautiful sprinkled with white and there is skiing on nearby Mount Erciyes (we can help arrange this, too). In Spring the blossoms, wild flowers and the scent of herbs when you walk through the countryside are just wonderful. And of course summer, with no rain guaranteed and a background breeze to keep the shady places cooler is a favorite for visitors. We are open all year round with central heating in winter; tours also take place all year round. We hope to see you again! Love from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

Cave Konak is an excellent boutique: The rooms are beautifully appointed, having been painstakingly restored and filled with tasteful, quality furnishing, fittings and linen throughout, plus lovely staff. This is a real cave stay (as opposed to a box chipped out of limestone like in Goreme) or a real "vault" room with lovely stone arches. Some heavier curtains (for those rooms that do have windows!) to keep out the morning sun are all that I'd ask for.

Colleen is a wonderful manager/owner with much good advice and interesting stories to tell.

Close to all there is to see in Urgup (it’s quite small), with a good selection of restaurants and bars, but much less touristy than painful Goreme. It’s a relaxing place to base yourself for exploring the region by car or motorbike, and cheaper than the nearby tourist-traps like Goreme.

Thanks Colleen!

Room Tip: Note that the cave room(s) have NO windows so not for the claustrophobic. There are other rooms equa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Many thanks to you for your excellent review! We love our helpful staff and their contribution to our success. In the restoration phase, we were very careful to preserve the rounded cavey feel to our rooms that you pointed out. We are also ordering new curtains :) However I can't agree with your assessment of the cave rooms – there is constant air circulation using techniques discovered millennia ago in the underground cities, and all have openable skylights; consequently many guests love staying in these caves as they are unique in Cappadocia. Wishing you many happy travels in the future, love from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Myself and my travel companion stayed two nights at this wonderful hotel. The location is fantastic for walking around the small but beautiful town of Urgup. Our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. They arranged our tour in Cappadocia via email prior to our arrival which made the trip extremely smooth.

The hotel itself is absolutely stunning. Our room was unique and had historical significance. It was clean, spacious, beautifully decorated, and perfect temperature for our stay. The breakfast was home made and delicious with multiple terraces to choose from.

Without a doubt one of the best hotel experiences and would love to return! Thank you Colleen and everyone at the hotel for an amazing time!

Room Tip: Traditional suite was beautiful and had the best shower with two heads!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jewel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Hi and a very big thank you for your wonderful review which points out our handy location and how easy it is to arrange tours with us. Our suites are all historical, whether they are 200-400 years old or undeniably ancient as in the case of the cave rooms – our aim is that guests should know instantly when they wake up that they are in Cappadocia! We’re just simply glad you enjoyed your stay here. Love from all of us at Hotel Cave Konak.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Tired from a day of travel, Colleen met us upon arrival - gave a quick tour of our room, then allowed plenty of time for siesta before we met to discuss activity details. Just what we needed!

Room: Traveling with my adult daughter, we booked the Roman suite -- a sitting room with a single bed upstairs, with a comfortable queen in the cave room downstairs. The bathroom was stunning (words i've NEVER written before, by the way). Two showers, with clever use of the natural cave features provided an other-worldly experience while blow drying my hair! WiFi in the sitting room worked flawlessly.

Breakfast: Perfectly lovely! The women serving breakfast were delightful! Plentiful selection (traditional Turkish breakfast), along with cooked to order eggs. Coffee/chai are available in the reception room whenever needed. Seating outside on the terrace made for a great start to our days.

Location: Urgup was a good choice for my family - not too small, not too much of a bustling tourist village, there were plenty of restaurant options, ATMS, transportation access, and a Hammam across the street. Hotel Cave Konak is very conveniently located within Urgup - just a short walk to restraunts, shops, groceries and supplies.

Renovation: The restoration of more rooms at the hotel is in progress - but does not detract from the quality of the stay. There is work being done on an adjacent property, and it is fascinating to see the 'work in progress'. Restoration of a historical property must be a rather complex challenge, so if you've got interest in such things, the on-going work provides a unique glimpse into how this is done...

Service: This is where i believe Hotel Cave Konak is truly phenomenal! We really hadn't prepared for touring - other than knowing we wanted to do a balloon tour. Colleen spent a good bit of time understanding our interests, sorting out our travel style, and working with our tight schedule (only two full days). She made expert recommendations to meet our interests and budget - we scheduled a balloon flight for the first morning, and hired a driver for the rest of that day, and the next. i was quite surprised at how reasonable the cost of hiring a private driver was - and it worked out perfectly for our crew. She is also extremely knowledgable about the history and culture of the region - and provided just enough information to help us come up with our plan! Adnan, her partner, was on duty when we checked out at 4am in order to catch transportation to the airport. He was gracious and helpful as we had to work through a couple different cash options to settle our tour bill (due to skimmed credit cards on our way to Turkey).

Overall - Terrific experience, and i cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Roman Suite: Fabulous room for three people! The room is at the front of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisyfae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you so much for your amazing review – we are so pleased that we helped you enjoy Cappadocia as well as your stay at our hotel. The Roman Suite is a great choice for an underground suite – being a duplex suite it is more open with the staircase going down to the cave area, and from our CaveKonak website can be booked as either a double, twin or triple room. If readers are curious about the tours we offer, more can be read at our very own HoneycombTours website.

Once again thank you so much for your glowing review – we will certainly pass on your praise to our workers; we truly appreciate their contribution to our success. Wishing you many happy travels in the future, love from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This is a perfectly located cave hotel where you can choose either an above or below ground room. Its position makes it perfect to access Urgup and owners Colleen and Adnan are both informative and helpful with suggestions about what to do and are well plugged into reliable and interesting tours. It was perfect - also don't forget to try out the hanan across the road especially if you are planning a long bus trip!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thank you for your great review, but what pleased us most is that you had a wonderful time in Cappadocia. We always do our best to aid our guests – not just with accommodation but with the entire stay. If the guests want to do everything themselves we can help by providing maps and information; if guests want tours we can make suggestions about the different possibilities. Many thanks for staying with us and we wish you many happy travels. Love from all of us at Hotel Cave Konak.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

Beautiful cave suites. I believe ours was the 'Byzantine'. Who knew a cave could be so luxurious. We stayed for 2 nights and would have been thrilled to stay longer. Such lovely warm staff. Fabulous and generous breakfast.
We had limited time so Colleen helped us hit the ground running with two amazing day tours and an unmissable balloon ride. So grateful for her sound advice. It made our stay.
Urgup is a great choice of village to stay. Big enough to explore. Not so big that it loses that special village feel.
Thankyou to Colleen and all at Hotel Cave Konak.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flickola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Thanks for your beautiful review! We are pleased our efforts helped make your stay in Cappadocia a memorable one. We have been so lucky with our staff; they are so willing to help and they do put on a wonderful breakfast spread.

The Byzantine Suite is a well loved underground cave suite having a large bathroom with two showers in the same large shower unit. (Information for other readers: it is easy to check availability of particular rooms and any offers from our own cavekonak website)

If I could add anything about Urgup I would say that it is big enough not to become touristville, it mixes traditional and modern life in a very comfortable way, and the local people are very friendly. Thanks again for your fabulous review. Love from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

From my initial interactions via email through to departure on the final day, my experiences with this hotel were nothing but positive. I received a wonderful warm welcome on arrival, with the accommodation exceeding my expectations. A big plus for this hotel is that it is so conveniently situated close to the centre of the town but it offers a peaceful retreat at the end of the day.
The staff (and in particular Colleen) went out of their way to assist me with a number of things (including booking me onto 2 great day tours) but particularly when the flights for the next leg of my trip were unexpectedly cancelled. They also offered support (even if it was just a shoulder to cry on) when, due to a bank issue, my credit cards would not work and I found myself temporarily cash-less. I can highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Ottoman Stone Arched Suite. This is comprised of 3 rooms on different levels - the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gregcellence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review and high recommendation. We are glad we could help with your flight problem, even if it was simply by providing Internet access via our own computer, handing you the phone and offering tea and sympathy.

We hope that you now have your bank problem sorted and that it was not a major difficulty. Hope you have many happy travels. Best wishes from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.2 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
0.2 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
4ODA Cave House
4ODA Cave House
#9 of 69 in Urgup
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kemerhan Cave Suites
Kemerhan Cave Suites
#1 of 69 in Urgup
363 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cave Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cave Konak

Address: Dutlu Cami Mah. Istiklal Cad. Dar 2 Sok.No:5, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Urgup
#6 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: £35 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cave Konak 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cave Konak Hotel is a centrally located, friendly, family-run hotel that is a recently restored historical building emphasizing luxury and traditional Cappadocian culture. We truly love Cappadocia and enjoy helping our guests with free information so essential to make the most of this geographically amazing historical cultural area. We are situated in an old street in the heart of Urgup, a small town with all basic facilities, comfortable with foreign visitors. Tours and balloon flights start at our door. Breakfast and evenings on our panoramic terrace are times to relax and take in the landscape of ancient rock cut homes. We hope to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Cave Konak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cave Konak Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing