We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECT STAY!”
Review of Hotel Cave Konak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cave Konak
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“PERFECT STAY!”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This was an amazing place to stay! We absolutely recommend Cave Konak. The rooms are spectacular and comfortable. The service was friendly and very helpful. Colleen provided us with great information - what to see and how to get there! Adnan was happy to share information about the local culture!
The communal patios were also a plus to this hotel. We enjoyed evenings sipping beer and soaking up the sun. What a great location. Value for money couldn't be beat. All other cave hotels were outlandishly priced in comparison. I would love to come back sometime in the future to see how the renovations turn out - beautiful I suspect!

Sorry for being a little late on this review - many of our travels didn't have internet (BUT CAVE KONAK DID :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Hi – so great to hear from you. We would love you to come back and visit us too… this is your home in Cappadocia :) Our new rooms are available for the new season – and I am working hard to get photos and information up on our website (CaveKonakDotCom) and other places, too. There are small changes in this respect every week. As you mention, we are always so willing to share all the information we have to help guests make the most of their stay. Wishing you many more happy travels in 2014. Love from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    24
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
93
115
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Hotel Cave Konak was a beautiful surprise! Coming in from the freezing outdoors we were welcomed into a duplex suite - ideal for a group of 3 whether family or friends. The cave was chic without being pretentious and we loved the accessories and decor. We were particularly happy with the huge bathroom that had 2 shower cubicles! A comfortable bed and excellent breakfast made us very happy campers indeed! Colleen & Adnan were warm and helpful hosts and we couldn't have asked for better. A MUST stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swatinags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely room. As you of course know, in Cappadocia 24-hour central heating is essential in the winter, and of course a warm welcome is more than a warm room. We love chatting with our guests, and we are so lucky with our staff who are always so willing to help as well. We hope there is something for everyone on our breakfast buffet and the view in the morning is certainly a lovely start to a day out in Cappadocia. To choose a specific room, guests need to book through our own website at CaveKonak dot com. Thank you for staying with us. It was great meeting you. Wishing you many happy travels, love from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
144 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stop looking for a hotel... this IS the place to stay in Urgup!
Adnan was welcoming-- with his wife, when we arrived!
Colleen was helpful when we met her the next morning during breakfast!

The room (roman suite) = amazing! We entered to a small room with a twin bed. Stone stairs led down (into the cave) to a bigger bedroom with a super comfortable bed. A step or two down from the larger room was a large bathroom with two single showers and a large vanity in the center. Slippers, towels and extra blankets are provided. The water pressure and temperature was great!
*no television (#1, we didn't need or miss it and #2 it looks like the room will soon be wired for it)
**internet -- free and fast; but can't connect downstairs! does connect ON stairs and in upper room)

The location = convenient and gorgeous! Urgup is a small, quaint town. The people are friendly! The hotel sits up a small hill right in town. The views are magnificent!

Breakfast = delicious! An authentic Turkish-style breakfast was enjoyed on both mornings of our stay. From breads to jellies and sauces to cheeses and eggs... American coffee (= instant, stir-in) to teas (I highly recommend the apple tea)... it was all so yummy! Great views from the breakfast room-- top floor, no elevator-- are great! Whatever you do... don't miss breakfast! Served from 8am-10am.

Excursions/sightseeing = easy to plan with Adnan's help (I'm sure Colleen can help too, Adnan just happens to be who helped us). He helped us arrange a hot air balloon excursion as well as a private-guided tour of the region. Great help, thanks!

Say 'hi' to Patik (puh-teek)... the hotel's cat. He's friendly but not overly pushy if you're not an animal-lover!

We'll definitely stay here again should we return to Urgup! Highly recommend! Stay here!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monikaesu28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you so much for your detailed review which I’m sure so many readers will find useful. If guests wish to choose their own room they can do so from our own website. We have some rooms with TVs and some without – CaveKonak.com – see the Rooms page – leads to all the information. Our buffet breakfast in the panoramic room on the second floor terrace is also extremely popular. And yes, we love to share our knowledge, so everyone can pick our brains about the best known as well as out-of-the-way-sights to see in Cappadocia. Love from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel; we hope to welcome you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

The Damsa room is unique in both it's decor and concept. It is part stone and part cave with two showers in same unit and traditional decor. It truly is a Cool Cave:) Wonderful hospitality from both the owners and staff especially Colleen who arranges trips and Adnan who is expert in local knowledge. Panoramic view at breakfast to die for. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you so much for you kind words. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in Cappadocia, and that our knowledge about the locality and the tours available helped make your stay special. We look forward to meeting your friends when they visit in January. Love from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The hotel was restored and decorated brilliant. The owner cared about on every single details and was very kind and very helpful. It was a very special experience living in a cave. Location is perfect, in the center of Urgup. Also shower is great which was a real surprise :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkuytul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for your praise of the care and thought we put into the restoration. That guests notice this makes it all worth while. Being right near restaurants and shops is definitely a plus, especially in the low season when the weather can be cold. Love from all of us at Cave Konak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Great dungeon-like hotel in the center of Urgup. Very quiet, since some rooms are underground, and also because I was the only guest due to low season.

Stayed 4 nights in December 2013, was snowing and freezing cold (especially since I usually live in tropical areas). Adnan, the manager, was very helpful and provided an electric heater.

Cheers, Fabio

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Beckie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Dungeon certainly gives the underground idea – don’t forget rooms are centrally heated and dry and of course we always look after our guests :) Love from all of us at Hotel Cave Konak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Our family stayed there for 2 nights. We truly enjoyed our stay in the rooms. It was a special and unforgettable experience living in what used to be an original cave (our room used to be an underground chapel). The owner kindly brought us on a tour of the rooms he had just finished decorating. Each room is specially designed and decorated by the owner down to every little detail - he even included items of great historical value. The bathroom was huge, very different from usual hotel rooms. We liked the shampoo and soap provided :) It was just super awesome and we would take ages in the bathroom! The owner was ve ry kind and hospitable. During breakfast, he would share with us his incredible knowledge of Turkey and Cappadocia in particular. We felt at home staying there. Finally, the location of the hotel is also convenient since it is near the bus terminal. You would definitely not regret booking a room with Hotel Cave Konak!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquelineTeoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. All our new rooms are bookable from our own website at CaveKonak. Our aim is that all our guests should feel that this is their home in Urgup, and as you point out our central location is so convenient. Love to all of you from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
4.5 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#10 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
#28 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kemerhan Cave Suites
Kemerhan Cave Suites
#1 of 65 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
3.3 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cave Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cave Konak

Property: Hotel Cave Konak
Address: Dutlu Cami Mah. Istiklal Cad. Dar 2 Sok. No:5, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Urgup
#6 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#7 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cave Konak 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cave Konak Hotel is a centrally located, friendly, family-run hotel that is a recently restored historical building emphasizing luxury and traditional Cappadocian culture. We truly love Cappadocia and enjoy helping our guests with free information so essential to make the most of this geographically amazing historical cultural area. We are situated in an old street in the heart of Urgup, a small town with all basic facilities, comfortable with foreign visitors. Tours and balloon flights start at our door. Breakfast and evenings on our panoramic terrace are times to relax and take in the landscape of ancient rock cut homes. We hope to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cave Konak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cave Konak Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing