We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel & Location!”
Review of Hotel Cave Konak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cave Konak
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We were so lucky to stay at Hotel Cave Konak, as Adnan and Colleen were really so friendly and helpful. We would not have that much fun if we did not have Adnan's help explaining the region! We managed to discover lots during our stay and probably have seen more than what other tourists would manage to see in 3 days!!!
We stayed there in December 2013 - so the weather was cold obviously but our room was lovely and cosy! The hotel is historically important and the restoration was done nicely! Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neslihan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you so much for your beautiful review. December was very cold this year – in fact the only time we saw snow! At the moment spring is starting, but we still have central heating working as the nights can be cold.

Our hotel was in the old Greek section of Urgup until the exchange of populations at the end of WW1. The hotel complex consists of a number of different houses, some going back 400 years, and each generation seems to have added or modified something. Our restoration is authentic while at the same time providing modern comforts. We hope readers will come and see our hard work.

We wish you happy holidays this year, too. Love from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in February 2014. The hotel is well appointed and everyone there is so helpful! I had neglected to arrange any tours beforehand other than a balloon ride and Colleen graciously scrambled to make arrangements for us the day of. I was quite pleased with the breakfast and the hotel has a lovely terrace on which to enjoy it. All in all a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are really lucky we have such helpful staff, and we will of course pass on your praise. We can usually help with last minute arrangements, but this does get increasingly hard as Cappadocia gets busier. While we always do our best for our guests, prior arrangements do guarantee the best. Just so readers know, our information is all on the HoneycombTours Dot Com website. Wishing you all the best with your amazing travels. Love from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed with Colleen and Adnan in Feb of 2014 for 2 nights. They are very helpful in explaining the region and all there is to do. They picked us up at the airport with no problems. The rooms are clean and tidy. we had two suites, in one the WIFI was out. The breakfast could have a bit more selection, it was the sparsest hotel breakfast we had in Turkey.
The guide we had ,Ali was very good. He had a great grasp on the history of Turkey along with current events and politics which he was a bit reticent to discuss but later opened up. He was able to gain the attention of my two teenage kids, which is no small feat. he was their favorite guide in Turkey.
Overall Konak/Honeycomb is a great value,safe and clean. there are nicer hotels in Urgup but you will pay 50-100% more. I recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amsternrochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you so much for your informative review. The Wifi problem is now sorted – so sorry it affected your stay. Rest assured we take note of every comment from our guests. We will also pass on your comments to our guiding friend Ali. I’m sure he will be so pleased to have been your kids favorite guide in Turkey. Honeycomb tours is our own agency and it allows us to provide quality tours for our guests. Wishing you and your family many more wonderful travels together. Best wishes from all of us at Cave Konak.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I visited Cave Konak for 3days for our honeymoon in Cappadocia. It was AMAZING! We really love the location, the awesome view and the excellent service! Colleen was very helpful providing us with a lot of information both for our tours and information around the area of our hotel, food recommendations & also introducing us to the local cultures here. The room was really unique, spacious & cosy. Breakfast was served at the Terrace, the area was warm and inviting, food was yummy too! Staff was very attentive and always happy to serve us. I would definitely recommend this beautiful cave hotel to any traveller visiting Cappadocia! A MUST GO! :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeElvera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel. Our new breakfast room on the terrace has the most amazing views over the small town to the countryside around, and of course in the warmer weather breakfast can be al fresco. Our situation in an old street in the center of town is also ideal for all restaurants etc. And of course we all love to share our knowledge of Cappadocia. All of us at Cave Konak wish you both a wonderful future together and many happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My friend and I visited Cappadocia for two nights in early February 2014. We based our decision to stay at Hotel Cave Konak based on the Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed.

Prior to our arrival, Colleen provided excellent information on different activities in Cappadocia. She also arranged transportation to and from the Kayseri airport. We arrived around 9 pm and Adnan and his family were there to greet us. Unfortunately, I had to go to bed as I was not feeling well, but my friend stayed up and spoke with Adnan about what to see in the region. We booked the Mimeson Suite and it was clean and beautiful with comfortable beds. It was perfect for us because it has two rooms with two beds (a twin in the front entry room and a queen in the main bedroom). The bathroom was large and clean with a very big shower.

We had a delicious breakfast each morning on the top level of the hotel, which has beautiful views of Ugrup.

Colleen booked a hot air balloon tour for us through Sultan Balloons and it was incredible! We also did two separate private day tours arranged by the hotel. It was a great way to see the region and our driver, Yashar, was excellent.

While we didn't venture into town much, the location is great for proximity to restaurants and shops in Ugrup. And it is only a short drive to Goreme.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay at Cave Konak Hotel and would highly recommend to anyone looking to stay in the area!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cooks321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful and thoughtful review. I’m sure readers will find it very useful as you have mentioned so many points.

We have a number of suites that have both a queen size double and a large single bed – useful for either double, twin or triple (and the price is different accordingly).

We also have our own travel agency and can help with arranging all different tours and activities, should the guest wish.

And lastly our situation in the center of Urgup means we are so handy for restaurants and other facilities literally just 2 minutes walk away.

Wishing you every happiness in your future travels. Love from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This was an amazing place to stay! We absolutely recommend Cave Konak. The rooms are spectacular and comfortable. The service was friendly and very helpful. Colleen provided us with great information - what to see and how to get there! Adnan was happy to share information about the local culture!
The communal patios were also a plus to this hotel. We enjoyed evenings sipping beer and soaking up the sun. What a great location. Value for money couldn't be beat. All other cave hotels were outlandishly priced in comparison. I would love to come back sometime in the future to see how the renovations turn out - beautiful I suspect!

Sorry for being a little late on this review - many of our travels didn't have internet (BUT CAVE KONAK DID :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Hi – so great to hear from you. We would love you to come back and visit us too… this is your home in Cappadocia :) Our new rooms are available for the new season – and I am working hard to get photos and information up on our website (CaveKonakDotCom) and other places, too. There are small changes in this respect every week. As you mention, we are always so willing to share all the information we have to help guests make the most of their stay. Wishing you many more happy travels in 2014. Love from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Hotel Cave Konak was a beautiful surprise! Coming in from the freezing outdoors we were welcomed into a duplex suite - ideal for a group of 3 whether family or friends. The cave was chic without being pretentious and we loved the accessories and decor. We were particularly happy with the huge bathroom that had 2 shower cubicles! A comfortable bed and excellent breakfast made us very happy campers indeed! Colleen & Adnan were warm and helpful hosts and we couldn't have asked for better. A MUST stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swatinags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely room. As you of course know, in Cappadocia 24-hour central heating is essential in the winter, and of course a warm welcome is more than a warm room. We love chatting with our guests, and we are so lucky with our staff who are always so willing to help as well. We hope there is something for everyone on our breakfast buffet and the view in the morning is certainly a lovely start to a day out in Cappadocia. To choose a specific room, guests need to book through our own website at CaveKonak dot com. Thank you for staying with us. It was great meeting you. Wishing you many happy travels, love from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.2 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
0.2 mi away
Kemerhan Cave Suites
Kemerhan Cave Suites
#1 of 68 in Urgup
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cappadocia Palace
Cappadocia Palace
#20 of 68 in Urgup
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
4.6 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 78 in Goreme
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cave Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cave Konak

Address: Dutlu Cami Mah. Istiklal Cad. Dar 2 Sok.No:5, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Urgup
#6 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#7 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: £40 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cave Konak 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cave Konak Hotel is a centrally located, friendly, family-run hotel that is a recently restored historical building emphasizing luxury and traditional Cappadocian culture. We truly love Cappadocia and enjoy helping our guests with free information so essential to make the most of this geographically amazing historical cultural area. We are situated in an old street in the heart of Urgup, a small town with all basic facilities, comfortable with foreign visitors. Tours and balloon flights start at our door. Breakfast and evenings on our panoramic terrace are times to relax and take in the landscape of ancient rock cut homes. We hope to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cave Konak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cave Konak Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing