We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Cave Konak”
Review of Hotel Cave Konak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cave Konak
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Lovely hotel with brilliant character in the middle of the very nice city of Urgup about 1 hour away from Kayseri airport. Plenty of activities to do in cappadocia and the private tours offered by the hotel are of a high standard with a very knowledgable and friendly tour guide. The hotel breakfast is very good though having fruits would have been appreciated. Colleen the manager is very helpful too.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Remy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review of our hotel. Just to let you know that fruit is now back on the breakfast spread. We now also have more home made jams. We wish you both all the best for your forthcoming family adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

We spent two nights at the Hotel Cave Konak with our 2 children. Our "room" was actually 2 bedrooms separated by a hallway and with private access to the terrace. It was one of our nicest stays in our 8 months of traveling. The accommodations were clean, tastefully decorated and with all the amenities we needed. (It did not come with an electric kettle, but Colleen got us one instantly.)

The classy accommodations was topped only by the service provided by owners Adnan and Colleen. They were incredibly knowledgeable about the area and gave us great suggestions on what to do and see, including what would be interesting for our kids. When our balloon ride had a problem, they followed up with the owner of the balloon company. In every case, they went the extra mile to ensure that our stay was a perfect as possible. Thank you Colleen and Adnan!

Room Tip: They have a variety of rooms, including cave rooms (which have a light shaft), but we loved our 2 be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squacklips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. It is a true pleasure meeting people who are achieving something unique and different. We remember you with friendship in our hearts and true respect for your aims. We wish you and your family many happy travels. Love from all of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The owners and staff of this small cave hotel were so wonderfully friendly, helpful and professional. Colleen (one of the owners) helped us to arrange a driver, arrange tours, book the hamam and the Whirling Dervishes show. The hotel was clean and beautifully restored and within easy access of many shops, banks, and restaurants/cafes. Breakfast was lovely with fresh veggies, yogurt, cheese, and more. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We booked the Roman Suite which has a single bed on the top floor and a double bed in the cave below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityPrincess_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you so much for your fabulous review! We are very lucky with our staff who are so kind and helpful – and we shall certainly pass on your praise. The Little Owl still visits us every day (Adnan still whistles “who who”), and our cat Patik is getting very interested in the swifts that have arrived! We greatly enjoyed your company hope we helped you make the most of your stay in this wonderful region. Love from all of us at Cave Konak, and all the best for the new job.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Adnan and Colleen, the owners of the beautiful Hotel Cave Konak, were excellent hosts and very helpful. The rooms are beautiful and the breakfast excellent. We enjoyed every moment of our stay and highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reismaats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you so much for remembering us! And thank you for your complements. You are also very kind and lovely people. Please encourage all your friends to visit Cappadocia – it is truly a wondrous place, and if we helped to make your stay more special we couldn’t be more pleased. Love from all of us at Cave Konak Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I cannot rate this place highly enough! The hotel owners Colleen and Adnan defined my time in Capadocia. It was immediately evident they are in this business for their love of helping others, and took equal delight in making sure my trip was the best possible. On top of that, the hotel is stunning. A historic network of beautiful old buildings, masterfully restored. Also, it's EXACTLY where you want to be in Urgup. Right in the middle of town, with a roof-top patio overlooking this anchient, beautiful place. Last but not least? The breakfast was superb, and --no suprise here!-- the service was amazing! Thank you so much for making my time with you such a delight!

--Ben

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are situated right in the town center, with the very best view of the small town, the ancient once inhabited rocks and the countryside around: our rooftop breakfast terrace is a great start to the day with its uplifting panorama. Also being right in the center of town has its advantages as everything is at your feet in the evening. We appreciate that every guest is different, so try to get to know likes and preferences so that we can make the best suggestions for visiting the sights of Cappadocia. We thoroughly enjoyed your company and wish you many happy travels. Love from all of us at Cave Konak.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

I need to write this review based on the service offered by Adnan at the hotel.

I arrived in Cappadocia and accidentally got the hotels confused; unfortunately my friend and I were staying in Has Konak Hotel. Adnan called the other hotel for us, offered us tea, gave us something to eat, and called a taxi to get us to our hotel.

We promised to return to his hotel again for a drink. Today he spent a long time explaining the whole region in detail and booked us a private driver for a customised tour for tomorrow. He showed us multiple rooms at his hotel, each one unique and beautifully appointed. It's such a shame we didn't have a booking here.

We then went up to the rooftop terrace where he made us tea, spoke more about our tour tomorrow and gave a recommendation for a restaurant that served tasty Turkish food.

Adnan understands what it means to give exceptional customer service. I would recommend booking a tour with him and staying in his hotel. One of the best hotel owners I've ever had the pleasure of meeting!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you so much for your appreciative review. We also enjoyed the time you spent with us here at Cave Konak Hotel. Adnan is very proud that hospitality is an important part of Turkish culture, and he does not expect something from everything he does; the pleasure of welcoming others and communicating has its own rewards.

Being a professional tour guide, Adnan has knowledge of every corner of Cappadocia. Without proper information, guests would leave our region without getting to see most of it.

Cappadocia is one of the world’s most important cultural centers with its history as well as traditional local life; it is also one of the worlds most interesting and unique natural geographical wonders.

The more people visit this region properly, the more tourists will come and the longer they will want to stay, and the satisfaction of our guests will definitely help this to happen.

Even our modest hotel is a cultural value; it is like a museum as every room is original and different, and we restored it with pride. Because we have done most of the work here ourselves, it is a pleasure to share our property with our guests.

There is always a reason why everything happens, so it was fate that stepped in when you first appeared on our doorstep. The pleasure was all ours. Wishing you many happy travels, from Adnan and everyone at Cave Konak Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Nice room and great location. Breakfast is very delicious and Colleen is one of the best hotel owners I have ever met. The tour and hot air balloon were also amazing. Great Value and Most GO!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveKonak, Owner at Hotel Cave Konak, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you so much for your amazing review. Please say “Hi!” to everyone from all of us. We just do our best to help everyone have a fantastic time in Cappadocia. Wishing you many happy travels. Love from Cave Konak Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.2 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
0.2 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
4ODA Cave House
4ODA Cave House
#9 of 69 in Urgup
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kemerhan Cave Suites
Kemerhan Cave Suites
#1 of 69 in Urgup
363 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cave Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cave Konak

Address: Dutlu Cami Mah. Istiklal Cad. Dar 2 Sok.No:5, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Urgup
#6 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: £34 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cave Konak 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cave Konak Hotel is a centrally located, friendly, family-run hotel that is a recently restored historical building emphasizing luxury and traditional Cappadocian culture. We truly love Cappadocia and enjoy helping our guests with free information so essential to make the most of this geographically amazing historical cultural area. We are situated in an old street in the heart of Urgup, a small town with all basic facilities, comfortable with foreign visitors. Tours and balloon flights start at our door. Breakfast and evenings on our panoramic terrace are times to relax and take in the landscape of ancient rock cut homes. We hope to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Cave Konak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cave Konak Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing