We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cappa Villa Cave Hotel
Ranked #20 of 53 Urgup B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We followed a tour to Turkey during Aug 2013 and stayed in this hotel for two nights. It's a great and extraordinary experience to stay in cave hotel. Staff were friendly and food were delicious. However, the cave room was humid and smelly. Besides, it's quite cool to stay in the cave room even we arrived there in summer. So, we didn't try the tiny swimming pool in the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliaduckduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. The hotel was quaint and the view from the hotel was spectacular. Unfortunately these are the only good points about the hotel. The room was bare and rudimentary and our room was extremely cold. We told the staff our request to put up the heater. They said yes but nothing was done. Service was poor despite of the fact that there were less than 10 guests in the hotel for most of our stay there. We are definitely not rushing back

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 18SHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Love this place!!!! Nice cozy rooms. Supposedly each room is different. Mine was quite open and spacious. Only downfall is there is no shower curtain, so I had a pretty big problem with water spraying all over the place.

Decent breakfast and dinner buffets. It’s a smaller hotel, so the spread wasn’t as big as I’ve seen at the other hotels, but the food was still pretty good.

As we were the only tour group staying here at the time, I had no problems with the service. The only problem I had was the staff’s minimal understanding of English.

Was quite disappointed their spa was never open. According to my tour guide, during their low season in the winter, you have to make an appointment well in advance so they can find staff to come in.

There is free wifi, however, it is only accessible from the lobby. No gym available.

Toiletries provided include: shampoo, lotion, bar soap.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GroovieGurlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We stayed here for three days in October 2012. The rooms were certainly unique and the hotel is beautiful but we found we had a lot of problems with the service. When we arrived there was apparently only one person capable of checking us in but he was just leaving to take another couple to a different hotel so we had to wait 30 minutes for him to get back and check us in (he told us it would be 10 or 15 minutes!). Then we discovered that the on-site restaurant was closed because there weren't enough guests checked in for it to be worth their while. This meant we had to drive back into Urgup to get food (the village the hotel is in seems to have no restaurants). Also, many portions of the hotel are still under construction which causes some disruption. For example, we came back one day to find that the door to our room had been removed because they were replacing the latches on all the doors. Because of their layout there was perpetually construction noise above and around our room throughout the day. We had a difficult time dealing with the staff for anything request that was slightly outside of the ordinary (almost none spoke English, and we don't speak Turkish, which didn't help). The management of the hotel acknowledged that there were problems with the service during our stay but didn't offer anything beyond a grudging apology.

Our overall impression was that the design of the hotel and the rooms are really good but that it doesn't seem to be entirely up and running yet and may be going through some growing pains. Given so many issues we experienced I would say at present it's not worth the added cost and drive to stay here.

Room Tip: Each room is very different so ask to see several. Also know that although the 'cave' rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PerissiaManager, General Manager at Cappa Villa Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

We are very sorry for your compalints about our hotel.

First of all, you are right about the delay of the staff at check-in. However, much of your words don't the reflect the reality.

On your arrival, noticing that most of the rooms were available, we offered you one of our best rooms, to make up for the delay right from the start. The room you stayed in was a suite room even though your reservation was for a double room.

On the other hand, you complained about the restaurant. being closed, not true:
Our staff offered you a menu which you declined eventhough your stay was 'Bed & Breakfast' and dinner was not included.

You have written that "we didn't offer anything except for a grudging apology", not true: the management offered a bottle of wine but you refused and asked for a discount .
instead. By the way, you were unhappy from the first moment on and nothing we tried changed this situation.

Sorry but sometimes when one is not in the right mindset , things seem gloomier then they really are .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

My wife and I loved our stay here. It's a terrific location to see the sights in the Cappadocia region. The staff was attentive and very helpful in planning our trip to the area. Our cave room was great!

Room Tip: Reserve a cave room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife and I stayed here with our baby and toddler along with our brother-in-law's family in October 2012. Absolutely beautiful place - both the rooms and common areas - and fantastic service. Very atmospheric plus nice views. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ultimothemagnificent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

In a natural wonderland this butic hotel situated in a real old village.Most of rooms converted from old cave-houses of historic village, few others constructed by lime_stones,and all decorated with antique pieces.It is located on a hill with beautiful view of a valley,sunset is amazing
Spa is really goergous and outdoor swimming pool is also nice.Breakfast are very rich and owners are proud of using fresh local foods in a superb quality.Staff is very friendly and helpfull.Most of important places are in relatively close vicinity.

Room Tip: Ask rooms with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leventolgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
5.4 mi away
Perissia Hotel & Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 78 in Goreme
1,048 reviews
4.0 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stone House Cave Hotel
Stone House Cave Hotel
#18 of 78 in Goreme
369 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mustafa Hotel
Mustafa Hotel
#52 of 68 in Urgup
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#16 of 78 in Goreme
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cappa Villa Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cappa Villa Cave Hotel

Address: Ulasli Koyu, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Urgup
Price Range: £47 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cappa Villa Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Cappa Villa Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cappa Villa Cave Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing