We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come for the cave and location, but service was truly impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
Ranked #4 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
369 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Come for the cave and location, but service was truly impressive”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We traveled with a multi-generational party of 8. Every single member of our group felt this was a fantastic hotel. We stayed in a cave room, which was charming including natural light through the ceiling. Others stayed in a mansion room which was very large with a large sitting room and adjoining sleeping rooms.

What was most impressive about the hotel was Gamze's service and helpfulness. When someone in our party needed some medical advice for minor issues, she helped contact local doctor friends to provide some assistance. We were looking for a cooking class and she arranged a home visit where the kids got to prepare dishes and visit a local family. Her restaurant recommendations were excellent. Gamze is an example of why small boutique hotels have an important role in the travel industry, as no large chain hotel can replace the personnel warmth and attention to detail that she provided.

Even without the service, I would recommend the hotel for a couple of additional reasons - especially if you don't have a car. The hotel is about a 5-7 minute walk from the small town of Urgup. It is a charming town (especially compared with Goreme which is more commericial) with enough restaurants to choose from for a few days visit. There was a supermarket in town where we bought wonderful oranges for the equivalent of USD $0.07. You can also walk into the non-touristy part of Urgup. There are other hotels which appear to have high ratings and also good reviews - but I would recommend a hotel where you can walk to a town (whether Urgup or Goreme) as taxis can be somewhat expensive.

We traveled to Urgup in late December which was off-peak. We could walk into any restaurant and get a table. My sense is that travelling to Urgup in peak season would be a different experience.

When you book request either a cave room or mansion room at booking.

Room Tip: When you reserve, book either a cave room or mansion room at time of booking. Each room is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard10024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GamzeToy, Genel Müdür at Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Richard,
Thank you so much for such as a great review. We are really happy to meet you and your great family. We always think that travelers are not our customer, they are our guests and Fresco is our home. When our quests visit us, we apprciate to show them our culture and our hospitality. Thank you so much for mentioning the location too. We are very close to city centre.Ürgüp is in centre of Cappadocia, our quests can reach every where by bus or taxi.
Thank you so much again for taking your time to write this great review.
Please do not forget that you have friends and a home in Cappadocia.
Hope to see you soon
Warmest regards

Gamze TOYBIYIK KAYA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    33
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
132
175
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
abcs
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at two places in Cappadocia, this was another one that exceeded our expectatons. It was offseason and not many guests but it only made it more friendly when enjoying a top breakfast buffet.

What made this hotel was Gamze's, manager's exceptional service, the restaurant service and food and nice short walk into town for more delicious food.

Thank you Gamze for recommendations on sightseeing!

Room Tip: We had the second level suite near the restaurant and was fine, some might not like being right in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abcsAbcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GamzeToy, Genel Müdür at Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review. I am happy to hear that you enjoy your visit. We are only 150m away from city center so it is easy to recommend our quests restaurants and shoppings.
Thank you again for taking the time to post a review of your experience with us. I am very happy to meet you and your wife.

Hope to see you soon

Kind Regards

Gamze TOYBIYIK KAYA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Fantastic hotel built into the rock with beautiful views and only a short walk from town. The rooms were large with all the amenities and we found the staff very attentive and friendly. My mother had a birthday at the time of our visit and we where treated to complimentary fruit and wine which we thought was a nice touch. The hotel was an option on a tour we booked to the region and for what we got, we thought it was great value. Deserving of its 5 star rating.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GamzeToy, Genel Müdür at Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Brad,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a great review and I am delighted that you found the whole experience amazing
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warmest regards
Gamze TOYBIYIK KAYA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Me and my Fiance travelled to Cappadocia at the beginning of November, not having booked at hotel before arriving we turned up looking for somewhere to stay, having looked on trip advisor I remember seeing the Fresco cave and suite which while walking around we stumbled upon and decided to take a look.

Upon entering the hotel was meet by a lovely lady on reception who offered to show us around, first impression were fantastic however I was worried it was going to be a bit pricey but fell in love with the hotel and the location, after being shown 3 rooms decided on room 210 and well to my surprise was extremely priced for the standard of hotel (5star).

The room was amazing very comfortable and spacious, one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in, fantastic bathroom with both the option of a bath or shower (bath ideal after a long day out)

Breakfast, the breakfast room had amazing views of the local area and alot of choice from the typical Turkish breakfast (bread,cheese,meats,salad) to an egg menu where you can have a freshly prepared omelette

The staff the hotel the food the service was the best I have experienced very personal and welcoming and wished we could have stayed longer, would love to return here for our honeymoon.

If your looking for the true cave experience with a touch of luxury then Fresco cave and suites is defiantly the right choice, I would like to thank all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable and look forward to coming back in the future

Room Tip: Room Number 210 - Deluxe Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loopy_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GamzeToy, Genel Müdür at Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Wow, what a great review.Thank you so much. It is really pleasing to hear that you enjoy your stay. We will be very happy to host you again. This time we can arrange you , our honeymoon suite:)

Thank you for your lovely feedback which I have passed to each department and who really appreciate such lovely comments.

Please do not forget you have a home in cappadocia,

Warmest regards

Gamze TOYBIYIK KAYA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is one of the best hotels that I visited. Their staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean and smells great. Nice breakfast. They gave me a free upgrade to a suite: a comfortable king bed, TV room, a huge bathroom with jacuzzi bathtub,complimentary fruits, water, tea and coffee in the room. Really, I had a wonderful experience, in a very nice hotel, authentic cave, located in a beautiful place. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Really, I think every room in this hotel is nice, but mine was perfect! A suite in the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charley_P77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresco K, Genel Müdür at Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Charley,
Thank you so much for your great review.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time. Thank you also for your recommendation , it is really important for us.

Warm regards,

Gamze TOYBIYIK KAYA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Fresco Cave Suites is where I feel like home when I stay in. Staff is very well welcoming in first step I get in. Obviously they love this hotel and care for every opportunity to make residents to give the comfort. I love my room which I stayed in Al Room. Room and bathroom s so clean, everything look like very new like never used in a very authentic atmosphere. I just love this place, ohh by the way, they have breakfast and dinner buffet which has choices of incredible delicious Turkish food. I cant wait to go back to this breath taking town Capadoccia and wake up in Fresco Suites.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoYNMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresco K, Genel Müdür at Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you so much, what a great review. I am thrilled that you had a wonderful experience. It is good to hear that you enjoyed the food. It is what we pride ourselves on. We will be very happy to host you again in near future.

Warm regards

Gamze TOYBIYIK KAYA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

A friend and I traveled to Cappadocia for a weekend (Friday-Monday) at the end of October, and had the pleasure of staying at Fresco Cave Suites and Mansions. We stayed in #209, the Sari Room, which was incredibly cosy and very well appointed. Super comfortable beds, a great rain-style shower, a HUGE jacuzzi bathtub, and a really lovely living area with windows overlooking the patio/hillside. The staff was extremely nice and accommodating - one gentleman who works at the desk, Murat, even noticed that it was my friend's birthday that Saturday, just when he was making a copy of her passport upon arrival, and send a nice platter and Turkish doll as a gift that evening.

As for the location - I can't say enough about the magical place that is Cappadocia. Urgup is a slightly less touristy neighbor to Goreme, the main Cappa hub, but we were very glad we stayed in Urgup. A cute little town a short cab or bus ride away from all the sights. We did a hot air balloon, hiked down through the Rose Valleys, toured the underground cities, and visited the Goreme open air museum. We also ate a lot of delicious food. They say end of October is not high season for tourists, but we found it to be absolutely perfect - not too many people, perfectly crisp but sunny weather, and great deals/rates at hotels and restaurants.

The whole weekend was great and we were really happy to have our home base at Fresco. Thanks to everyone for making it a great stay!

Room Tip: Sari Room was fantastic. Don't forget earplugs though - the hotel is right next to a mosque and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresco K, Genel Müdür at Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Michelle,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a great review on the site following your stay with us and I am thrilled that you had a wonderful experience. I am also pleased that you thought that your room was cosy and very well appointed. We are happy to celebrate your friends birtday together. Maybe near future we can celebrate your bithday too:)
Please donot forget that you have a home in Cappadocia
Warm regards

Gamze TOYBIYIK KAYA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.4 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.2 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#8 of 65 in Urgup
657 reviews
4.5 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#10 of 69 in Goreme
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
0.5 mi away
MDC Hotel
MDC Hotel
#6 of 65 in Urgup
924 reviews
3.5 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions

Property: Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
Address: Musa Efendi Mah. Esat Aga Sk. No:15 | Eski Kayakapi Girisi, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#3 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#5 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"If you are ready to feel different, a taste of poetry, a vacation is waiting for you." Within walking distance of Urgup city's center and nestled in the old historical district, Fresco Konaklari is a wonderfully restored hotel that is the combination of several historically registered mansions featuring original wall frescoes dating back to the 19th century of the Ottoman period. Fresco Konaklari is centrally located on the edge of old and new Urgup, providing plenty of wonderful scenic cobble stone streets and paths to explore old ancient district Kayakapi or Temenni Hill and also offers the magic view of Erciyes Mountain in a distance with new Urgup spread at the front. Colorful Turkish Ottoman Style Rooms and cave rooms makes the hotel unique in Cappadocia. Mansions are also only an hour's ride away from both regional airports; Kayseri Airport is 60 kms away and Nevsehir Kapadokya Airport is 55 kms away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing