We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Elvan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Elvan
Ranked #48 of 66 Hotels in Urgup
Holmdel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
158 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Would not go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Would go back only if we did not have another place to stay. Very basic hotel with an attendant that did not smile and did not seem to care if he had people staying there. My converter did not fit in the outlet, so I could not charge my iPad. The breakfast was poor. The location is good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spdaroca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    9
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

we spent two very forgettable nights at the Elvan early in November 2011. The weather wasn't cooperating -- it had turned cold and wet. Maybe it was end-of-season torpor; we felt that the folks who run the Elvan didn’t care much if we stayed or went. After enduring a very cold room, so-so breakfasts, and terrible wi-fi reception for a couple of days, we moved ourselves to another place.

Room Tip: if you care about wi-fi, check signal strength before accepting a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nworbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

I spent a night here in early October and found it very welcoming. I paid 40TL (about 16 euros) for a clean, single en-suite room w. TV but without breakfast (as I was feeling stingy), though it was only 50TL with brekkie so still very good value compared with others nearby. There's a nice courtyard and a great roof terrace covered in grape vines (weighed down with huge bunches when I was there) which has excellent views over the town. It's a family run place and the teenage son was there when I stayed -- he speaks some English and gave me some good tips on which caves to explore up in the hills avove the town. They were generally helpful -- and nobody seemed to mind me grabbing a few handfuls of their grapes as I emerged in the morning! Would definitely recommend the place for value and the view.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

I just finished four wonderful days at this perfect small hotel in Urgup. The location is perfect and the hotel itself is an excellent value. I paid 22 euro's a night which is like $31 dollars. About half of what one might pay at Motel 6. Elvan was just off the middle of town, a five minute walk to the local bus terminal that would take you anywhere in Cappadocia for about 3tl or less. Lots of things to see and explore. The hotel room was spotless, good breakfast, and wonderful owners. I feel this hotel is a great value.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poplico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
587 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

I have stayed here 1 night with my girl friend. This area is not a cheap area. This hotel gives good value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crownvict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

1. Myself and my husband stayed here recently for 2 nights in July. The hotel was in a great location in Urgup just slightly uphill with the roof terrace catching the cool breeze in the evening with amazing views of the surrounding countryside and town. The hotel was beautifully kept and spotless. Also, nice and quiet. Lovely terraces and full of flowers and greenery which kept it nice and cool. Our room was cool despite the temperature outside (approx 35 celsius). The owner was very helpful and friendly and gave us all the information we needed to get around the local area. Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Urgup for a nice relaxing and good value stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaillimh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakutsk, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

Lovelky Hotel Elvan. We usually stay at the Cappadocia Palace Hotel in Urgup, which is a great place to stay also. They recommended us to the Hotel Elvan, so we stayed 2 nights over the weekend there instead.

If you're looking for cheap, friendly and helpful hotel accommodation in Urgup with a nice little breakfast in the middle courtyard, then stay here. Fatma and her husband are great folks.

There is also parking too out the front. Urgup centre is 2 mins away, and you should treat yourself to some great homemade wine just across the road, next to the Hamam from the local wine shop.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doublebagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.1 mi away
Hitit Hotel
Hitit Hotel
#52 of 66 in Urgup
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
6.1 mi away
Blue Valley Cave Hotel
Blue Valley Cave Hotel
#26 of 66 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asia Minor Hotel
Asia Minor Hotel
#36 of 66 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Akuzun
Hotel Akuzun
#28 of 66 in Urgup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cove Cappadocia
The Cove Cappadocia
#47 of 66 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cappadocia Abras Cave Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elvan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elvan

Property: Hotel Elvan
Address: Istiklal Cad. Barbaros Hayrettin Sok. No:11 Urgup Merkez, Urgup, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Urgup
#26 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elvan 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anadolu’nun Tarih ve doğal güzelliklerini iç içe bünyesinde barındıran ve büyüleyici görüntüsüyle “Güzel atlar ülkesi” diye adlandırılan, Kapadokya’nın önemli bir merkezi olan Ürgüp de yer almaktadır.Hotel Elvan yaklaşık 200 yıl önce Kapadokya'nın doğal taşı ile Rumlar tarafından inşa edilmiştir. Şu anda Tarihi dokusu bozulmadan restore edilerek, bugünkü modern görüntüsüyle, sevimli bir konaklama tesisidir.Hotel Elvan’da açık Terasımız, kayadan oyma şömineli şarap odamız ve misafirlerimiz için 20 odamız bulunmaktadır. Odalarımız yöresel mimarinin özelliği olan kemer tavan biçimindedir. Odalarımızda Telefon, Saç Kurutma Makinesi, Merkezi Isıtma, Uydu Tv, ve Wi-Fi sistemi bulunmaktadır. Ayrıca odalarımızda duş-Wc ve devamlı sıcak su vardır.Hotel Elvan, konum itibariyle Ürgüp şehir merkezindeki alışveriş noktalarına, müzelere, restoranlara ve cafelere yürüyüş mesafesindedir. Sakin, temiz odalarıyla, nefis kahvaltısıyla, unutulamayacak bir Kapadokya tatili için siz konuklarımızın hizmetindedir. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Elvan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Elvan Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing