We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best part of our trip to Turkey!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Urgup
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best part of our trip to Turkey!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Our family spent 3 nights at Esbelli Evi as part of a 2 week trip to Turkey. We adored our time in Turkey, but our time in Cappidocia at Esbelli Evi was the highlight. Our stay was flawless, from the prompt email communication to assistance with sightseeing, to delicious breakfasts and complimentary water and snacks.

Our boys adored our family cave suite. It was a spacious, cool retreat with a wonderful private garden. They loved that they could hike and explore the caves in the hillside right out our backdoor. My husband and I loved the excellent wireless internet connection, the luxury of being able to spread out in the evenings (the kids in the garden or bedroom while we relaxed in the living room), and the peaceful retreat feel of the hotel.

The entire staff was incredibly gracious and welcoming. We felt like we were at the home of a friend. We can't wait for a return trip to Cappidocia and Esbelli Evi.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chartiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
135
236
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

No need for me to repeat everything you have read in the other reviews other than to re-inforce that this must be one of the best hotels my wife and I have ever stayed in.

Suha and the two managers (I have forgotten their names) were extremely helpful. We were hesitant about renting a car (we drive on the other side of the road) so they suggested a tour route and that we hire a taxi for a day. It was perfect. We did another route the following day with the same driver. There was no need for a guide. The two routes included a walk in the three valleys in the Zelve open air museum on one day and in Soganli valley on the next day. They provided their sketched maps for these walks. Both walks were excellent and were among the many highlights of our month long visit to Turkey.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdvisemeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Our family has stayed at many exotic hotels all over the world, and this was one of the nicest. We stayed in the Fantasy Suite, and it was a modern and luxurious three room suite plus enormous bathroom built into a cave with flat screen tv, wifi, complete kitchen, etc. The service was exceptional and we would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms are different, so pick carefully from their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GracieDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed here from July 4 to 8. We originally booked the Twin Arch suite but were provided the option of a complimentary upgrade to the Family Suite. Both suites were gorgeous but we opted for the upgraded Suite which was simply incredible. Our group was myself, my husband, 6 year old, 1 year old and father in law. We fit very comfortably in the suite with room to spare - I think it could comfortably sleep 6. We had 2 full marble baths, master room with king bed (and cot for the baby), another bedroom with 2 single beds and a double set into the cave, a sitting room with complimentary laptop and wifi and flatscreen tv, kitchen, dining area, and a private terrace and rose garden. It was incredible. And after a lovely day of touring (which the hotel arranged for us), we were happy to be "home" in our cave. My 6 year old loved exploring, playing the piano in the common room. And we all loved the awesome breakfast. For pics, check out the turkey travel planner website.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SOSinTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

It's tough to review Esbelli Evi separately from Cappadocia itself, which was truly AMAZING -- a unique incredible place. Esbelli Evi was a very comfortable and nice place to stay while in Cappadocia. The owner is a bit grumpy and aloof, and the rooms are a bit bare, but it's a cave hotel after all, and the charm of the location and the beauty of the landscape are incredbile. The breakfast area is charming and a wonderful place to start the day, and the breakfast staff is friendly and warm.

The hotel grew on us over the course of our stay and by the end we were quite sad to leave. All in all this is a wonderful place to stay in a magical part of Turkey.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

a truly a wonderful destination hotel. That is if for nothing else I'd go there just to stay at the hotel. Cappadocia is a must place to see in Turkey. Take the time and effort. Worth every cent. And while you're there do go up on a hot air balloon trip.

The rooms were built into the cave and was an experience of a lifetime to stay there. The furnishing were luxurious and well thought. Inside the room was cool (20C as opposed to 40C outside) and we didn't even need to turn on the air-conditioning.

The breakfast was lavish but unfortunately they don't do lunch or dinner. So it is a walk to nearby restaurants for that. (anyway you'll have lunch on one of the tours) And in town there are a few good places to eat.

The hotel isn't available through travel agents or booking sites. So best is to go to their website and just email the. The response was prompt and very easy to book. We had wanted a standard room but they didn't have any so we were upgraded to a suite at no extra cost.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NazimFarhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

All the reviews are correct -- this is the best hotel in Cappadocia. We stayed in the Volcano Suite, and it was just gorgeous. the views were spectacular, the breakfast lovely, the common rooms welcoming, and Suha by far the most unintrusively helpful hotelier we have ever interacted with. Butterfly Balloons, which he recommended, was amazing -- we could see all the other balloons crowded around one spot, going straight up and straight down, while we soared all over, in and out of canyons, etc. Mike, our balloon driver, was fabulous.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freetownexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
4.0 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
2.4 mi away
Elika Cave Suites
Elika Cave Suites
#1 of 17 in Ortahisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Millstone Cave Suites
Millstone Cave Suites
#6 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kemerhan Cave Suites
Kemerhan Cave Suites
#1 of 64 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#8 of 64 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel

Property: Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel
Address: Esbelli Mah. Dolay-1 Sk. No:8 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Urgup
#2 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine small inn of comfortable cave rooms hewn from the golden stone, with beautiful views of the Cappadocian landscape, and the warmest welcome you'll receive in Turkey. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Esbelli Evi Urgup
Esbelli Evi Hotel Urgup
Esbelli Evi Cave Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing