We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cave hotel with great views close to Urgup town center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elkep Evi Cave Hotel
Ranked #40 of 66 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cave hotel with great views close to Urgup town center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed here for three non-consecutive nights, coming back visiting another region after a positive experience on the first night. The hotel is small, with about a half-dozen suites. Each suite/room is separately carved out of the cliff face, and is perfectly isolated from the others.

The rooms are comfortably appointed, but are not luxurious. My suite had a bedroom area and a sitting/lounge area as well as a small patio. The bathroom was quite large and was separated from the bedroom area by virtue of a giant wall of rock.

The hotel is located about ten minute's walk from the town center. There are many restaurants and shops within easy walking distance.

The proprietor was very solicitous and spoke good English. Some of the desk staff were also very helpful but between their broken English and my broken Turkish it took a bit longer to organize some tours or get dining recommendations. Nevertheless, everything was done right.

Breakfast was included in my rate, and was excellent. They had a great spread of meats and cheeses, as well as fruits and vegetables (including many olives), and breads and jams. They also offered eggs made to order and hot drinks including Turkish coffee brewed on demand.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mturk043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    46
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
80
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. It was a different experience. The cave room was comfortable and peaceful. The rooms are cool though there is no AC fitted. There was no TV and hence a little boring since I travelled alone. There was a bed provided outside the room that was quite convenient for sitting in the evening. Wifi was available till outside the room. Breakfast comprised of few items. Lunch and dinner are not available.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the side road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunil007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed in Elkep Evi for 3 days. The hotel gave us a completely new and superb experience. The cave rooms are beautiful, huge, peaceful and very comfortable. One feel like actually living in a natural cave. There is no AC in the room, but interestingly no air conditioning is required since the rooms are naturally cool and one requires blankets in the night. The rooms gives a feeling that one is staying There is a nice sitting area outside the rooms and one can have coffee/drinks enjoying the serene view of Urgup. The hotel is on the top of the rock and hence gives superb view of the city. Staff is very friendly and proactively helpful and take care of your travel queries. You can just relax and enjoy the beauty of the valley and chineys of Cappadocia and leave the rest on the team Elkep evi. ...we would surely come back...thanks.....

Room Tip: Select a Cave Room on the first floor to have a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiteshKumbhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed at Elkep Evi for 3 nights and absolutely loved the experience. It was almost like having a villa of our own with a private sitting space outside every cave room and total privacy. Even though it was quite hot outside, the cave needed no air conditioning, it was cool and fresh. Staff was so friendly and helpful! This girl Dilbahar and a young lad were extremely cordial. If I visit next, I'm definitely choosing Elkep Evi again!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sana v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Highly recommended - Central location, everything you need. I was very happy with the care the manager took to make sure we maximized our time in Cappadocia. Best and cleanest room in Turkey for us, walk to town (check out Ziggy's restaurant).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed three nights at this hotel and really enjoyed it. Not only was the hotel itself absolutely beautiful but the staff and owners were incredibly helpful. I must particularly mention that we were booked on a late night flight and the owners were kind enough to let us keep the room till 3 pm although check out was 12.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vidyabvarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

Cave hotels are a unique part of the Cappadocia experience and Elkep Evi provided us with a near-perfect example with a charming, cool and comfortable room with views over the valley. The service was personal and responded very well when our transfer did not turn up at the airport. They also helped with advice and requests for travel including driver/ guide. Breakfast is simple but plenty of it. Minor details like non-functioning safe and dodgy shower took my rating from 5 to 4. But we would return and also highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JstcaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.2 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#8 of 66 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Cave Suites
Golden Cave Suites
#16 of 66 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.6 mi away
Cappadocia Abras Cave Hotel
0.4 mi away
Kemerhan Cave Suites
Kemerhan Cave Suites
#1 of 66 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elkep Evi Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkep Evi Cave Hotel

Property: Elkep Evi Cave Hotel
Address: Esbelli Mah. No:26 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Urgup
#20 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elkep Evi Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An excellent Cave hotel in urgups Cavern hill that offers a fabulous atmosphere and a perfectly exotic setting. The bonus here is larger and airier cave rooms, each with a private terrace carved into the nooks of the cliff, and gorgeous view over the cappadocian dreamscape. The wealth of architectural detail and invention draw one in. One ends up falling quite in love with this cave suites hotel. We also have new Cave suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Elkep Evi Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elkep Evi Cave Houses Hotel Urgup
Elkep Evi Cave Urgup
Elkep Evi Cave Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing