We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and romantic cave hotel!!”
Review of Yunak Evleri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yunak Evleri
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Lovely and romantic cave hotel!!”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We were booked into this marvelous hotel by Argeus Tours and they made a fantastic choice! The rooms were spacious, bathrooms clean and lovely (although caves do "shed" a bit). Each area had a couple of spaces where you could sit outside. We had cocktails each night with our friends and were pleased that we had a space where we could sit outside in a group. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. The reception process was painless and everyone did all they could to make us comfortable after our long drive to reach the hotel. The location is perfect for the unbelievable Goreme Valley. Also you're close to the world renown morning balloon rides, the Turkish bath (hamman), and the underground "towns" that were occupied until the 1970's. The downtown area itself is in walking distance with some shops for both the locals and tourists. This hotel was a highlight of our fabulous trip. Thanks Argeus Tours for our fantastic guide. He really got all of us to leave loving your country!!

Room Tip: I visited a lot of the rooms and each one had something to recommend it. Some were more "in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureRUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    97
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
175
267
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
77 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

If only all caves were this nice! We had a wonderful two nights at the Yunak Evleri. It starts out by being a beautiful and unusual place for a vacation. Then it has excellent service and attention by the staff. It's fun to sit outside your own little cave and watch the sunset and surrounding countryside.

Breakfasts were good and served on a very nice veranda in the open air. Only problem was that there is a real rush hour around 8:30 to 9:30 when people start coming in from balloon trips and before guided tours which start around 9:30. Things get pretty crowded, so it's best to avoid that time period.

We didn't have dinner, which is a fixed menu. Instead we ate at the adjacent restaurant one night and went downtown the next. The downtown is kind of interesting (they had a free outdoor concert one night) and well worth the 10 minute walk down. We walked back up, but one might want to take a taxi back since it's pretty hilly.

Only one caveat. They don't have air conditioning, counting on the cave to be cool enough. But I found it a little warmer than I would have liked, though I ended up sleeping well.

All in all, a very nice place to spend your time in Capadoccia.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Cappadocia is an amazing place and the yunak evleri is a great hotel to experience it. The rooms are large and comfortable, the service was great, but what really stands out is its location and views. There is a great open-air lounge area and open-air dining area with spectacular views! We ate at the hotel one night and at Ziggys down the street which were both excellent. We only stayed for one and half days/2 nights. I would recommend staying three full days as there is so much to explore and you will have more time to relax and enjoy the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purpleleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my parents and the manager and assistant manager were amazing. Abdullah took me to Ortisshar and all the local places. The rooms were spacious (for caves) and beautifully decorated and the views from the room were amazing. The food was amazing on the large terrace.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shairal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Stayed two nights in what was billed as a standard room, but which was actually a two-room suite with fabulous bath. A perfect hotel for a Cappadocia stay. Urgup is less central than Geroeme, but it's really only a matter of five minutes drive. There are several good restaurants within walking distance. We dined at Ziggys and were a little disappointed. Can be hard to find, but if you have an iPhone it will lead you right two it. First class accommodations and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Some rooms require a climb. We were on the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eidolonnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The hotel was a good surprise....The cave rooms very cosy and clean with good linen. The bathrooms were modern with hot/cold water. They had small terraces outside a group of 5-7 rooms with excellent view !! The weather was just perfect in August to sit there with a cup of tea and enjoy the view!! Staff was courteous and helpful. The Breakfast buffet was good but not much choice for vegetarians except cheese and more cheese !! The dinner was a set menu and very good !! The Dining deck is lovely !! We loved it and would love to be back soon !!

Room Tip: Rooms which are on higher level have better views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeetaDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasília, DF
Level Contributor
155 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The hotel is similar to many others that can be found in the area, but the staff was responsible for making our stay a pleasure. The staff is very friendly and is always willing to help and give tips about some tours. On the last day, when I was about to come in the Nevsehir Airport, the driver got a call from the hotel to inform him that I had forgotten a book and some CDs. then the hotel's manager sent another driver to take the CD and my books to me at the airport that is almost 2 hours away from the hotel. That was really kind.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroHelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.3 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.2 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
5.4 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#7 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
5.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#13 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.5 mi away
MDC Hotel
MDC Hotel
#6 of 65 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yunak Evleri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yunak Evleri

Property: Yunak Evleri
Address: Yunak Mahallesi, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Urgup
#2 Spa Hotel in Urgup
#8 Family Hotel in Urgup
#13 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Yunak Evleri 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magical Serenity : Yunak Evleri Cappadocia In Cappadocia's magical landscape of fairy chimneys, in the ancient village of Urgup, is a unique cave hotel carved into a mountain cliff, the Yunak Evleri. This hotel includes 7 cave houses, 40 rooms dating back to the 5th and 6th centuries and a 19th century Greek Mansion. Yunak Evleri is an inspiring hotel - an ideal base for exploring Cappadocia's elaborate underground cities, hidden cavernous churches and enchanting rock terrain. A labyrinth of narrow passageways and curved stone stairways lead to unique rooms tastefully decorated in warm traditional style. These exceptional cave houses are renovated and decorated with care and in their own distinct style with strictly respecting the local character. The decor is elegant and personalized with beautiful hand-crafted furnishings and antiques. All rooms have private patios overlooking the Turkish Mesa. With 40 rooms, Yunak Evleri is small enough to be intimate, yet large enough to offer you privacy. Accommodations range from exotic luxury caves to multi-chamber deluxe suites, including family suites. One can find the signs of past times in each room which all have been decorated differently. The elegant decor is prominent wherever you lay your eyes on.Emperador marble floors, handcrafted lace curtains, antique chests and bedside tables, traditional bed covers, old brass bedsteads, old handcrafted writing desks , old kilim carpets and antique lighting have been chosen with care and with simplicity in mind. At the foot of the cliff stands the hotel's main lobby. Housed in a 19th century Greek mansion, the main building exudes a kind of sophisticated charm. Within the stone building, cozy meeting rooms provide a soothing atmosphere for lounging in the evening. Alongside a room with computer and wireless Internet connection, the music room has a wide variety of CDs you can borrow and the TV room is decked out in plush Turkish cushions with a view of the surrounding cliffs. There is a DVD room on the second floor decorated with local handmade pottery accessories, candles, and a lovely furnace. Evenings are characterized by sunset gatherings on soft upholstered Turkish pillows warmed by an outdoor fireplace. Candlelight dining is offered on the adjacent rooftop terrace. We serve local homemade foods for dinner and an open-buffet breakfast. Yunak Evleri opened its doors to its guests in 2000 and since then has hosted around 200,000 travellers from all regions of the world. Listed in various prominent guidebooks' top hotels lists, Yunak Evleri has created a peaceful balance between modern today and traditional past. With its convenient location in the center of Urgup, Yunak Evleri is a perfect base for daily excursions within Cappadocia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yunak Evleri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yunak Evleri Urgup
Yunak Evleri Hotel Urgup
Yunak Evleri Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing