We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yunak... You bet!”
Review of Yunak Evleri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yunak Evleri
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed in the Yunak Evleri for 8 nights in mid-July 2012, using it as a base for an extended stay in Cappadocia.

The staff is exceptionally friendly and the quality of service is generally high, with a few minor exceptions:
1. Pillows are extremely flat/old. I am usually a two pillow sleeper and needed three here just to barely get close to my normal height that I sleep with. They can definitely use some new, and better quality, pillows.
2. On the rare occasion I wanted to check e-mail, only one of the two laptops they have in their “computer room” was working. Despite numerous requests over four or five days to fix the one that did not work, it was never fixed which meant waiting if others were cued for the remaining laptop. Note: There is free wireless available throughout the common areas of the property if you travel with a pad or laptop or whatever.

Less minor—If, after being out all day touring, you want to eat dinner at the Yunak just for convenience you will pay 25 Euro per person for a four course meal that contains no—or very little—meat of any kind. This is an exorbitant price for roasted or sautéed vegetables, rice, and a bit of cheese… no matter how good it is. Better always to eat at one of the restaurants down in the town center, especially Sömine. Better food, better variety, at a better price.

But I DO recommend the Yunak despite these minor issues. Most people will only be eating breakfast here and then touring for full days, so the best reasons to select this property are as follows:

1. The Yunak itself, and the views from it, are especially beautiful. Sleeping in a cave room is a different and comfortable experience (pillows aside).
2. It is a short, but very steep, walk from the center of the town of Ürgüp where you can enjoy nice walks and great meals and get a better sense of local flavor than in the Yunak.
3. The bus to Neveshir, the town where transfers to all other points in Cappadocia are made, stops directly in front of the Yunak.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EngTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yunak, Manager at Yunak Evleri, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear Sir , Madam,

Thank you very much for choosing Yunak Hotel for your accommodation in Cappadocia and your informative review.

Please kindly note that our dinner costs 25 USD per person , not Euro and we do serve a local Cappadocian Foods at our restaurant . We had never get any complains from any of our guests up to now however the tastes and expectations might be different , totally understood.

We have 2 laptops in our computer room and they are all free. We apologize for inconvienence for not being able to fix one of them as you mentioned in your review. However, If you could let us know about the trouble we would like to asisst you to fix it immediately. Although there is a domestic telephone nearby the computers and it should be easy to call the reception , you havent let us know about the situation. Please accept our apologize.

We all being so careful about the pillows that they are orthopaedic and softer because of considering the health of our guests. The pillows are bought one year ago from VAKKO who is the most famous and trendy & luxury brand in Turkey , all over the World.

Thank you very much for your tips , you can make sure about minors drawbacks will be given more attention.

Loves from Cappadocia.

Manager,
Abdullah INAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

Everyone should experience staying in a cave hotel and this one is wonderful. The views are amazing, service excellent. We did not like the location of our first room they gave us - they were willing to move us to a room of our choice - which they did. We ended up in one of the best rooms in the hotel although a steep climb.

Room Tip: Be prepared to climb a lot of stairs. No internet connection in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiraMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

We had a cave room, and it was absolutely exceptional - this hotel has been the highlight of our honeymoon - if I come back this way, I won't bother looking elsewhere... Not cheap, though.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petebkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Sleeping in a cave hotel was a truly unique and very cool experience. Add to that great service and luxury, this hotel was outstanding. I would recommend it highly to anyone planning to visit the Cappadocia area.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This is a very efficiently managed cave-hotel, with spacious and tastefully decorated rooms.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank onurmeral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

It's cool to sleep in a cave, especially when the cave has a comfy bed, luxurious bath, and great view! We were awed by the surroundings as well as the room. Breakfast on the terrace is great, and in the evening when the swallows come out as the sun goes down on the surrounding rocks, it's incredible. The location works well for exploring Cappadocia. Also, we were very impressed with the service. When we checked out, I had accidentally left something in my room, and on their own the Yunak staff found it and sent it to us at our next hotel in another part of the country.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank njtravelerhme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Good service, excellent rooms, and good food. Very very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.3 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.3 mi away
Sacred House
Sacred House
#10 of 68 in Urgup
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
4.4 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
5.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#12 of 30 in Uchisar
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yunak Evleri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yunak Evleri

Address: Yunak Mahallesi, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Urgup
#2 Spa Hotel in Urgup
#8 Family Hotel in Urgup
#13 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: £64 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yunak Evleri 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magical Serenity : Yunak Evleri Cappadocia In Cappadocia's magical landscape of fairy chimneys, in the ancient village of Urgup, is a unique cave hotel carved into a mountain cliff, the Yunak Evleri. This hotel includes 7 cave houses, 40 rooms dating back to the 5th and 6th centuries and a 19th century Greek Mansion. Yunak Evleri is an inspiring hotel - an ideal base for exploring Cappadocia's elaborate underground cities, hidden cavernous churches and enchanting rock terrain. A labyrinth of narrow passageways and curved stone stairways lead to unique rooms tastefully decorated in warm traditional style. These exceptional cave houses are renovated and decorated with care and in their own distinct style with strictly respecting the local character. The decor is elegant and personalized with beautiful hand-crafted furnishings and antiques. All rooms have private patios overlooking the Turkish Mesa. With 40 rooms, Yunak Evleri is small enough to be intimate, yet large enough to offer you privacy. Accommodations range from exotic luxury caves to multi-chamber deluxe suites, including family suites. One can find the signs of past times in each room which all have been decorated differently. The elegant decor is prominent wherever you lay your eyes on.Emperador marble floors, handcrafted lace curtains, antique chests and bedside tables, traditional bed covers, old brass bedsteads, old handcrafted writing desks , old kilim carpets and antique lighting have been chosen with care and with simplicity in mind. At the foot of the cliff stands the hotel's main lobby. Housed in a 19th century Greek mansion, the main building exudes a kind of sophisticated charm. Within the stone building, cozy meeting rooms provide a soothing atmosphere for lounging in the evening. Alongside a room with computer and wireless Internet connection, the music room has a wide variety of CDs you can borrow and the TV room is decked out in plush Turkish cushions with a view of the surrounding cliffs. There is a DVD room on the second floor decorated with local handmade pottery accessories, candles, and a lovely furnace. Evenings are characterized by sunset gatherings on soft upholstered Turkish pillows warmed by an outdoor fireplace. Candlelight dining is offered on the adjacent rooftop terrace. We serve local homemade foods for dinner and an open-buffet breakfast. Yunak Evleri opened its doors to its guests in 2000 and since then has hosted around 200,000 travellers from all regions of the world. Listed in various prominent guidebooks' top hotels lists, Yunak Evleri has created a peaceful balance between modern today and traditional past. With its convenient location in the center of Urgup, Yunak Evleri is a perfect base for daily excursions within Cappadocia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Yunak Evleri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yunak Evleri Urgup
Yunak Evleri Hotel Urgup
Yunak Evleri Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing