We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty face but....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yunak Evleri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yunak Evleri
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Cashiers, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty face but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very pretty place but absolutely everyone going thru the motions with a noticeable uptight manner. Food at dinner was fair and nothing close to the marvelous Ziggy's Cafe next door. Breakfast iwas tasteless and service was terrible and unfriendly. Shower was backed up and they tried to tell me it was knob I was turning incorrectly. It was clogged and anyone cleaning prior to our arrival should have known this!
And, no small face towels is my pet peeve. Really? How difficult is it to provide most basic bathroom amenities. Turkey is fabulous but this seemed like another planet. In dire need of charming management.

Room Tip: Ask for private terrace .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sshropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    97
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
173
267
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

To stay in sheer comfort in the the caves was an experience in itself. Mr Abdullah the manager took personal attention to our needs and gave us a large room, as our son had joined us. Very well laid out room, with an excellent bathroom, with a Jacuzzi! The breakfast on the terrace is an experience, even though you have to go up & down a few steps to collect your breakfast from the pantry. A Must stay for all tourists

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dimpykhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

From the exterior, the hotel is beautful. We were disappointed on several levels. Lighting: I know it's a cave experience, but the rooms are so dark, you can't find anything and can't see in the bathroom mirror. We couldn't open the curtains because the two windows gave onto a common terrace so anyone walking by could look right into our room. Also, the common terrace made for one noisy night - ask for a room with a private terrace! Breakfast: spread was good, but melon and fruit salad and cakes were tasteless. Biggest issue is that the eating area is up a set of uneven, steep stone steps from the food area and because it is self serve, it is a bit dangerous. Two people tripped while carrying trays during our stay. There was plenty of staff, so really they could carry trays for guests! Outdoor common areas are lovely, but indoor areas are dark and stuffy. We had to go elsewhere to watch the World Cup games.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private terrace or courtyard - not one along the common terrace that serves 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Cozy hotel located about 5 minute walk from the city which has a few restaurants and stores. Bigger close by city (Urgup) is 10km away and requires a car. Checking in was seamless. Hotel has 3 indoor sitting areas, which are all comfortable.

Rooms are built in a cave and this was a unique experience. The walls had rough finishings. Rooms did not have a/c and they are not needed given average temperature in room was naturally 19-20 degrees. Our room was big and had an underground sitting area on a lower level. Some rooms have padios infront of them which have chairs and are nice to tan on or have afternoon tea. While rooms were equipped with a mini bar, the hotel also had a common kitchen equipped with cold drinks and coffee/tea.

Bathrooms‎ were ok but ventilation is poor.

Restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner, we arrived at 12 pm and were directed to a nearby restaurant (which was very close by and had good food). Breakfast was ok and dinner was a set menu.

Room Tip: if you dont mind steps, ask for a a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nasser F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny ny
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at Yunak Evliri for 2 nights and it was pure perfection! We had 3 different rooms and all were beautifully decorated with local antiques, rooms were spacious, and the experience of staying in a cave was unique. The staff was lovely and helpful...views were amazing...breakfast was great and all around a wonderful experience. There are many cave hotels in the region but Yunak Evliri was a great value and very special.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zachNyNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our room was huge.
Breakfast is very good, and the made us some sandwiches on the early morning when we left (it was 4 am!)
The staff is very kind and helpfull.
The bed is a bit hard. The bathroom was huge with a jacuzzi big enough for two.
We had dinner at the hotel restaurant once and it was very good, a bit expensive but abundant.
I would defenitely recommend

Room Tip: If you don´t want to climb too many stairs, ask for a room near the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank budinam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

It was AMAZING! Cappadocia is a place that everyone should be lucky enough to experience. The accommodation are unlike anything that we have ever seen. The views are stunning - especially at night. Since it is in a stone mountain, the temperature is fairly constant and very comfortable. The hotel is unique , the staff was wonderful. Enjoy!

We chose to go into town for dinner instead of at their restaurant, so I cannot comment on the dinner, but the included breakfast was fine.

Room Tip: The suites are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1_finicky_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.3 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
5.4 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#7 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
MDC Hotel
MDC Hotel
#7 of 64 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
4.4 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
5.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#13 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yunak Evleri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yunak Evleri

Property: Yunak Evleri
Address: Yunak Mahallesi, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Urgup
#2 Spa Hotel in Urgup
#8 Family Hotel in Urgup
#13 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Yunak Evleri 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magical Serenity : Yunak Evleri Cappadocia In Cappadocia's magical landscape of fairy chimneys, in the ancient village of Urgup, is a unique cave hotel carved into a mountain cliff, the Yunak Evleri. This hotel includes 7 cave houses, 40 rooms dating back to the 5th and 6th centuries and a 19th century Greek Mansion. Yunak Evleri is an inspiring hotel - an ideal base for exploring Cappadocia's elaborate underground cities, hidden cavernous churches and enchanting rock terrain. A labyrinth of narrow passageways and curved stone stairways lead to unique rooms tastefully decorated in warm traditional style. These exceptional cave houses are renovated and decorated with care and in their own distinct style with strictly respecting the local character. The decor is elegant and personalized with beautiful hand-crafted furnishings and antiques. All rooms have private patios overlooking the Turkish Mesa. With 40 rooms, Yunak Evleri is small enough to be intimate, yet large enough to offer you privacy. Accommodations range from exotic luxury caves to multi-chamber deluxe suites, including family suites. One can find the signs of past times in each room which all have been decorated differently. The elegant decor is prominent wherever you lay your eyes on.Emperador marble floors, handcrafted lace curtains, antique chests and bedside tables, traditional bed covers, old brass bedsteads, old handcrafted writing desks , old kilim carpets and antique lighting have been chosen with care and with simplicity in mind. At the foot of the cliff stands the hotel's main lobby. Housed in a 19th century Greek mansion, the main building exudes a kind of sophisticated charm. Within the stone building, cozy meeting rooms provide a soothing atmosphere for lounging in the evening. Alongside a room with computer and wireless Internet connection, the music room has a wide variety of CDs you can borrow and the TV room is decked out in plush Turkish cushions with a view of the surrounding cliffs. There is a DVD room on the second floor decorated with local handmade pottery accessories, candles, and a lovely furnace. Evenings are characterized by sunset gatherings on soft upholstered Turkish pillows warmed by an outdoor fireplace. Candlelight dining is offered on the adjacent rooftop terrace. We serve local homemade foods for dinner and an open-buffet breakfast. Yunak Evleri opened its doors to its guests in 2000 and since then has hosted around 200,000 travellers from all regions of the world. Listed in various prominent guidebooks' top hotels lists, Yunak Evleri has created a peaceful balance between modern today and traditional past. With its convenient location in the center of Urgup, Yunak Evleri is a perfect base for daily excursions within Cappadocia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Yunak Evleri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yunak Evleri Urgup
Yunak Evleri Hotel Urgup
Yunak Evleri Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing