We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place”
Review of Yunak Evleri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yunak Evleri
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We loved our stay at this hotel. Abdullah was extremely helpful, answering many emails with queries about airport connections and tours and encouraging us to make reservations for dinner through the hotel so that he could ensure we got excellent service in the restaurants. The staff was courteous and helpful as well, and the town and restaurants were within easy walking distance. The room was lovely, and the many patios made for relaxing evenings. Buffet breakfast was more than generous, in a very pleasant room. You can't find a quieter place to sleep than in a cave, either.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tresdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (680)
There are newer reviews for Yunak Evleri
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 342 of 680 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2010

A warm and welcoming reception with an upgrade to a cave suite was just the beginning to a wonderful experience at this hotel. Great views, good food and exceptional service. We had a jacuzzi which we didn't use but the shower worked well. Heaters were provided in both the bathroom and lounge area and although these were useful for drying a much needed laundering of underwear, the temperature of the cave itself stayed so constant that the heaters were not necessary. The hotel rooms are located in caves on a hill in the older part of Urgup and most have views across a valley. A local cafe, Ziggy, served exceptional food as did the hotel itself. A short walk takes you past the locals which includes small children picking you flowers, a cow, a few chickens and several cats. A short distance down the road is a panoramic view over the newer town. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scheza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

We stayed at the Yunak Evleri hotel for 4 nights on our Honeymoon. I have to say that this is the best hotel that I have ever stayed at and I work in the industry! From the moment we arrived the staff could not do enough for us. They always had a smile and were interested to know about your day. While there I would definitely recommend a meal at Ziggy's. Best ever!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joker79London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

just like brochure ,beautiful experience-snowed while there- so amazing to see . Staff very helpful couldnt do enough for you.Totally fantastic to stay in a cave with 5 star comfort.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sian66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

We were on a buiness trip to Istanbul, and decided to take two days to go to Cappadocia. It was a remarkable experience. Can you say that a cave is luxurious and comfortable? That it comes with a jacuzzi? We enjoyed everything about the Yunak Evleri. The owner could not have been more helpful. He arranged a guide, suggested an itinerary, told us where to dine. This is a trip we will never forget with a hotel we will never forget and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lafraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

The other reviews pretty much sum this place up. Out of all the hotels I have stayed in all around the world nothing compares to this. It is a unique experience topped off with excellent five star service and facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mateo303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2010

Classed and termed as a Luxury Hotel, therefore expectations high. The rooms are absolutely beautiful, you will not be disappointed by the accommodations. Traveling around Turkey in January, it was the only hotel that had turned on our room heat prior to our arrival. Nice treat to walk into a beautiful warm room!!
We were booked for 4 nights, and my criticism is that the individual rooms lacked some of the modern conveniences - T.V., room internet capabilities. Perhaps that is just me and you would be fine with the main house common room area.
Lovely breakfast. The hotel does offer a fixed dinner menu at the restaurant for $25.00USD per person. I do not recommend, better food and options available in town.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.3 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.2 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
0.3 mi away
Sacred House
Sacred House
#10 of 66 in Urgup
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
4.4 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
5.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#13 of 30 in Uchisar
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yunak Evleri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yunak Evleri

Address: Yunak Mahallesi, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Urgup
#2 Spa Hotel in Urgup
#8 Family Hotel in Urgup
#13 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: £81 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yunak Evleri 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magical Serenity : Yunak Evleri Cappadocia In Cappadocia's magical landscape of fairy chimneys, in the ancient village of Urgup, is a unique cave hotel carved into a mountain cliff, the Yunak Evleri. This hotel includes 7 cave houses, 40 rooms dating back to the 5th and 6th centuries and a 19th century Greek Mansion. Yunak Evleri is an inspiring hotel - an ideal base for exploring Cappadocia's elaborate underground cities, hidden cavernous churches and enchanting rock terrain. A labyrinth of narrow passageways and curved stone stairways lead to unique rooms tastefully decorated in warm traditional style. These exceptional cave houses are renovated and decorated with care and in their own distinct style with strictly respecting the local character. The decor is elegant and personalized with beautiful hand-crafted furnishings and antiques. All rooms have private patios overlooking the Turkish Mesa. With 40 rooms, Yunak Evleri is small enough to be intimate, yet large enough to offer you privacy. Accommodations range from exotic luxury caves to multi-chamber deluxe suites, including family suites. One can find the signs of past times in each room which all have been decorated differently. The elegant decor is prominent wherever you lay your eyes on.Emperador marble floors, handcrafted lace curtains, antique chests and bedside tables, traditional bed covers, old brass bedsteads, old handcrafted writing desks , old kilim carpets and antique lighting have been chosen with care and with simplicity in mind. At the foot of the cliff stands the hotel's main lobby. Housed in a 19th century Greek mansion, the main building exudes a kind of sophisticated charm. Within the stone building, cozy meeting rooms provide a soothing atmosphere for lounging in the evening. Alongside a room with computer and wireless Internet connection, the music room has a wide variety of CDs you can borrow and the TV room is decked out in plush Turkish cushions with a view of the surrounding cliffs. There is a DVD room on the second floor decorated with local handmade pottery accessories, candles, and a lovely furnace. Evenings are characterized by sunset gatherings on soft upholstered Turkish pillows warmed by an outdoor fireplace. Candlelight dining is offered on the adjacent rooftop terrace. We serve local homemade foods for dinner and an open-buffet breakfast. Yunak Evleri opened its doors to its guests in 2000 and since then has hosted around 200,000 travellers from all regions of the world. Listed in various prominent guidebooks' top hotels lists, Yunak Evleri has created a peaceful balance between modern today and traditional past. With its convenient location in the center of Urgup, Yunak Evleri is a perfect base for daily excursions within Cappadocia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Yunak Evleri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yunak Evleri Urgup
Yunak Evleri Hotel Urgup
Yunak Evleri Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing