We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular rooms with warm hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Has Cave Konak Hotel
Ranked #13 of 69 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This cave hotel was amazing. From the spacious and comfortable rooms and luxury bathrooms, to the inviting public spaces, and most special was the warm hospitality of the 3 sisters who run this hotel. Our small group took over the hotel for a night, had a celebration on the rooftop patio before dinner, and then enjoyed a delicious meal. It was the best accommodation during my 2 weeks in Turkey. I would recommend it to singles, couples and groups. It's a unique experience I know I will remember for years.

Room Tip: Each of the rooms was unique -- I toured them all. Any would be a delight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VintageJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

Has Cave Konak is truly a Turkish Delight. We had the good fortune to be booked into that hotel for 2 nights as part of our Cappadocia tour June 30, 2013. We were given room #11, a cave room. The room turned out to be a suite of 3 rooms and a bathroom, with the entry off a patio. The first room had lace-curtained windows set into an arch and day bed seating. Farther into the rock, the nicely furnished sitting room, carved out of solid light-colored rock, was the largest space and was softly lit by lamps set into the stone walls. The sleeping area was in an alcove carved off the sitting room, also nicely lit by lamps set into the stone. The wonderfully comfortable bed was on a rock slab. Yes, I slept on a rock slab in a cave – and I loved it. It was the best bed I encountered and the quietest stay in my 2 weeks in Turkey.

The hotel was once the home of a wealthy family, perched up on the side of a cliff overlooking the town, at the base of a yet higher cliff. The entrance is up a flight of stone steps, and the staff whisked our suitcases up so fast we could not keep up with them. It was a delight to explore the courtyard, patios, rooftop terraces and balconies, and view the cliff dwellings above and across the valley, and the town and small park below. The breakfast dining room looks out over the park and across to Wish Hill, which overlooks the Urgup town square. Our second evening we had a special dinner on the rooftop terrace, under a blue velvet sky studded with stars and the golden spot- lighted cliff face above. It’s a good place to enjoy a summer sunset.

Has Cave Konak is a short (5 minutes) walk across the park and downhill to the Urgup center. There are grocery stores, cafes, bars, restaurants, tourist shops and all manner of services including a Turkish bath. Some of the cliff dwelling ruins are easily accessed above a parking lot on the road down to the square. Wish Hill is a short climb to a viewpoint on a cliff that drops down to the square. There is a domed tomb of a sultan up there, too. For the adventurous, continue up the stairs past Has Cave Konak’s door and explore the ruined cave dwellings in the cliffs above the hotel. Some people still live up there.

Our stay was during a quiet week when most of the owners were away. Sabri took excellent care of us, even making sure we were up at 4 am to take our balloon ride. Then, we had to wake him up again to let us back in when our ride was cancelled due to uncooperative weather. He was still pleasant! Serpril ran the kitchen, producing fresh baked, hot from the oven coffee cakes each morning in addition to an excellent breakfast buffet of fruits, breads, pastries, cheese, homemade preserves, eggs cooked to order, and other goodies. I miss those breakfasts. Sabri also arranged for Serpril to cook a special lamb dinner for us and served it on the rooftop terrace under the twilight sky. I have fond memories of being waited on and served a delicious meal by two handsome men high above the city lights in my cave palace.

Room Tip: Although outside day temperature was hot, the cave room maintained a comfortable temperature without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NMGetawayGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Has Cave Konak is truly a Turkish Delight. We had the good fortune to be booked into that hotel for 2 nights as part of our Cappadocia tour June 30, 2013. We were given room #11, a cave room. The room turned out to be a suite of 3 rooms and a bathroom, with the entry off a patio. The first room had lace-curtained windows set into an arch and day bed seating. Farther into the rock, the nicely furnished sitting room, carved out of solid light-colored rock, was the largest space and was softly lit by lamps set into the stone walls. The sleeping area was in an alcove carved off the sitting room, also nicely lit by lamps set into the stone. The wonderfully comfortable bed was on a rock slab. Yes, I slept on a rock slab in a cave – and I loved it. It was the best bed I encountered and the quietest stay in my 2 weeks in Turkey.

The hotel was once the home of a wealthy family, perched up on the side of a cliff overlooking the town, at the base of a yet higher cliff. The entrance is up a flight of stone steps, and the staff whisked our suitcases up so fast we could not keep up with them. It was a delight to explore the courtyard, patios, rooftop terraces and balconies, and view the cliff dwellings above and across the valley, and the town and small park below. The breakfast dining room looks out over the park and across to Wish Hill, which overlooks the Urgup town square. Our second evening we had a special dinner on the rooftop terrace, under a blue velvet sky studded with stars and the golden spot- lighted cliff face above. It’s a good place to enjoy a summer sunset.

Has Cave Konak is a short (5 minutes) walk across the park and downhill to the Urgup center. There are grocery stores, cafes, bars, restaurants, tourist shops and all manner of services including a Turkish bath. Some of the cliff dwelling ruins are easily accessed above a parking lot on the road down to the square. Wish Hill is a short climb to a viewpoint on a cliff that drops down to the square. There is a domed tomb of a sultan up there, too. For the adventurous, continue up the stairs past Cave Konak’s door and explore the ruined cave dwellings in the cliffs above the hotel. Some people still live up there.

Our stay was during a quiet week when the owners were away. Sabri took excellent care of us, even making sure we were up at 4 am to take our balloon ride. Then, we had to wake him up again to let us back in when our ride was cancelled due to uncooperative weather. He was still pleasant! Serprl ran the kitchen, producing fresh baked, hot from the oven coffee cakes each morning in addition to an excellent breakfast buffet of fruits, breads, pastries, cheese, homemade preserves, eggs cooked to order, and other goodies. I miss those breakfasts. Sabri also arranged for Serprl to cook a special lamb dinner for us and served it on the rooftop terrace under the twilight sky. I have fond memories of being waited on and served a delicious meal by two handsome men high above the city lights in my cave palace.
I wish I was able to stay there longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMGetawayGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

It was in the beginning of September 2013 when I stayed overnight there. This hotel is owned by three sisters and operationally run by themselves. Their hospitality, warmth and excellent service combined with the uniqueness of a cave hotel room made us feel like staying in a boutique hotel. They had been so kind and generous to upgrade our room to a larger cave room without additional cost. We had a long chit chat about everything from culture, religion to music etc. They contacted some balloon operator to check whether our names already in the list and make sure that we'd be picked up in the morning.

The room is perfect and spacious. My suggestion is just to provide additional electrical socket (there is only one in the room) and garbage bin (there is only one in the bath room). Our handycam, camera, mobile phone ,i pad , power bank and other gadget need charging.

For family and friends who's going to turkey and cappadocia, i'll recommend them to stay in Has Cave Hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hary0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Never seen anything similar. Beautiful rooms carved in stone, clean, romantic, well served.
We stayed 2 nights only during our road trip through Turkey and wanted to stay more. The owners are delicious and gave us a discount on the already low price. Breakfast was amazing in the morning and staff was so nice and kind to give us all the information we needed for our day trips. The hotel has got a great view, and is prefectly located for a visit around Cappadocia. I would recommend this to anyone wishing to experience the true spirit of the region.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clauz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The Cappadocia area is a must see in any Turkey trip and you could not do better than staying at the Has Cave Konak Hotel. From our initial arrival at 1.30 am! and throughout our stay the service was exceptional. Very friendly with attention to detail and lots of little extra touches that made our visit so much more than just another hotel room. We felt like family. Our 1050 year old cave suite was extremely comfortably appointed and very clean. The home cooked meals were the best we had in Turkey. The morning fresh made turkish coffee delivered to me in the courtyard with a sweet pastry, the beer in the afternoon with nuts and olives, the cool water with fresh and dried fruits (all un asked for) were little touches that made our visit so much more memorable. They even went down to the village to source a bottle of Champagne for us when we wanted to celebrate. I seldom feel this way but it was kind of sad to leave. We will be back. Thanks so much Selma and your Sisters and very generous husband.

Room Tip: ask for a cave room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We stayed recently and had a very enjoyable stay. The hosts made us feel very welcome, and we hung out with them in the courtyard and front room when we were too lazy to get moving with our day! It is very easy to relax in the hotel. They also cooked us dinner, and in general were very accommodating. The room itself was large and nicely decorated, however cave rooms are dark, so be careful if you are messy and have lots of dark things... I looked at some of the other rooms as well, and the non-cave room I saw was nice and bright. We were sad to leave!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.4 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cave Konak
Hotel Cave Konak
#5 of 69 in Urgup
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
0.3 mi away
Sacred House
Sacred House
#10 of 69 in Urgup
365 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#16 of 77 in Goreme
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Has Cave Konak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Has Cave Konak Hotel

Address: Musaefendi Mah. seyhulislam Sok. No:7, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 69 Hotels in Urgup
Price Range: £40 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Has Cave Konak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Has Cave Konak Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing