We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dinler Hotels – Urgup
Ranked #40 of 68 Hotels in Urgup
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed 2 nights from April 11, 2014. This is supposed to be a 5 star hotel. Not only is the facility very dated, the food at the buffet breakfast and dinner were the worst tasting out of all the hotels I visited in Turkey. They were also very poorly organized as a free for all ensued at meal times with all the very large tour groups. To make matters worse, the hotel burns their garbage in the back around 5:00am. When I confronted the front desk regarding our suffocation due to toxic inhalation, they denied burning the garbage, which is illegal, and said it was an accident. I find that hard to believe as all three dumpster were charred with soot and I could hear them rolling around underneath my room before the fire started. There was little concern for guest safety and no prior advice to keep windows closed.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, choose the east facing side of the property where garbage burning doesn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 235Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front_Office_Mngr, Yönetici at Dinler Hotels – Urgup, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Mark,

Thank you for sharing your comments.

According to hotel questionnaires & travel agency reports, almost of our guests seemed very satisfied with the food. If you inform us about the problem in detailed, we will be glad to correct it.

Usually we have 330 guests in our hotel, as you mentioned, mostly groups. Dinner starts at 7 pm and ends at 9, 30 pm. Most of our guests want to have their meal at 7 pm. From 7 pm till 8 pm, it is the rush hour of our restaurant. However, between 8 pm 9:30 pm (the time that buffet service ends), there are not more than 50 guests at the restaurant. We do not force any our guest to come at the restaurant at any time. If you see that restaurant is busy, you are free to come at 8, 30 pm.

About the fire; we already contacted with the insurance company because it was accident. We still have no idea how it happened. They are going to compensate the damage at the garbage room (air condition – trays and some other things.). People used to burn their garbage until the end of 1980’s. As there are no recycling facilities or many garbage trucks. We are now in 2014. I don’t have any idea about what makes you believe that, we burn our garbage every morning! in a touristic region! nearby the hotel! Also, for which purpose?
Our staff, who tried to stop the fire, didn’t think about the smoke. Garbage room is 10 mt. away from the main building. Fire cannot affect the main building. As it is open air and they already stopped the fire, they didn’t think that the guest rooms were affected by the smoke. I apologize for not informing the guests whose windows were open on that day.

Hope to host you again in the future and change your ideas about Dinler Hotels - Urgup.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed for a few days in March, its out of the way of places to walk to, but the rooms are pleasant, food is varied and good and the service is friendly. Was with an RSD tour of Cappadocia. The room I stayed in had lovely views out over the mountains, it was very quiet. It is not a 5 star hotel by British standards but each country has a different standard for star ratings.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherryblossom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front_Office_Mngr, Yönetici at Dinler Hotels – Urgup, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Madam,

Thank you for sharing your comments and hope to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I assume the 5 stars, next to the hotel sign, are for decoration only. This is no luxury accommodation. In Europe, the hotel would be rated 2 or 3 star. Went there as part of an RSD Tour. I would not trust this company to pick the best quality accommodation. Rooms OK, but nothing more to say. Food poor. I would have expected far more fresh fruit and quality ingredients. I would not want to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a lift away from the lifts and stairs. There can be a lot of noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmpireRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front_Office_Mngr, Yönetici at Dinler Hotels – Urgup, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your comments...

For the winter season; Orange, apple, grapefruit, tangerines & red orange (blood orange) are served during the breakfast & dinner every day. We will take your suggestions into consideration when we will plan the buffet menu again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We had a room facing open land and if stretched, the cliffs. The room was clean and warm. We slept with the windows open and had a very quiet and peaceful rest. The services were good as was the buffet. Our internet service was adequate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bstdflsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front_Office_Mngr, Yönetici at Dinler Hotels – Urgup, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your comments and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Comfortable hotel with a nice view of the cliff dwellings! Our biggest disappointment was lack of internet. It is difficult to keep all the attractions in order when you can't blog each day... The buffet was very nice & the maître D and chefs were very helpful for my gluten free needs. Do be careful tough, as the staff at the door won't allow you to take food or water out of the restaurant.... Many of us wanted to fill our water bottles or take a piece of fruit to go and were asked to surrender it when leaving... They have a very nice fireplace near a secondary bar that we enjoyed Happy Hour, between 5 & 7 pm nightly, 33% off beverages during that time. Even so, for 2 nights for 2 people, the cost was almost $90.00, so not cheap...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front_Office_Mngr, Yönetici at Dinler Hotels – Urgup, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Karen,

Thank you for sharing your great comments and hope to welcome you back again soon.

We already noticed that we have a problem with the Wi-Fi service during the busy hours. We hope that with the new machine that we bought, this problem is solved.

As a hotel policy, we do not allow our guests to take out or bring any food from / to the restaurant except some issues (health problems, early departure, late arrival etc.).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This hotel was clean and comfortable. The buffets were enjoyable. The staff worked hard and were always helpful, which for a tourist hotel can be hard given the crowds that shuffle in and out. The view from the room was beautiful. For someone visiting the area this is a solid choice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front_Office_Mngr, Ön Büro Müdürü at Dinler Hotels – Urgup, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Paul,

Thank you for your nice comments and hope to welcome you back again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel as part of a tour doing the Cappadocia/Efeso Circuit. The rooms are from the 70's but the beds are soo comfortable. We had wifi in our rooms, the bathrooms were comfortable with plenty of hot wáter.

We were most impressed by the dinner buffet. It was really extensive, plenty of choices and with great bread! The waiters are a bit of a pain in the butt. They are a bit rude and quiet inflexible. That is something that should change for them to have better ratings. For us, these were the best meals on the circuit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ibizaluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front_Office_Mngr, Ön Büro Müdürü at Dinler Hotels – Urgup, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Luz,

Thank you for your comments and hope to welcome you back again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.3 mi away
Perissia Hotel & Convention Center
1.1 mi away
Melis Cave Hotel
Melis Cave Hotel
#45 of 68 in Urgup
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burcu Kaya Hotel
Burcu Kaya Hotel
#43 of 68 in Urgup
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
7.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Avanos Cappadocia
9.7 mi away
Dinler Hotels - Nevsehir
Dinler Hotels - Nevsehir
#2 of 13 in Nevsehir
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dinler Hotels – Urgup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dinler Hotels – Urgup

Address: Mehmet Dinler Bulv. Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Urgup
#11 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: £34 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dinler Hotels – Urgup 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dinler Hotels - Urgup, with it's breathtaking Urgup / Kayakapi room views, offers all the high quality details for a comfortable stay in Cappadocia.Our hotel is located in the most central and lively location of Turkey’s most extraordinary landscape: Cappadocia - Urgup and it is the First 5 Star Hotel of Urgup. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Dinler Hotels – Urgup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urgup Dinler Hotel
Dinler Hotels – Urgup Turkey/Cappadocia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing