We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax”
Review of Selcuklu Evi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Selcuklu Evi
Ranked #24 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Suva, Fiji
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to relax”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed for five nights and had a wonderful time. Halil, the owner, is an excellent host and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. I have travelled around Turkey with my family many times (we used to live there) and I can honestly say this is among the best, if not the best, boutique hotel I have stayed in. Apart from being a great base to explore Cappadocia, the hotel itself is really beautiful and a lot of thought and care went into creating such a relaxing environment.

Room Tip: No tips for rooms, they all look fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    48
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
58
75
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Great little hotel. Beautiful rooms, well appointed. The owner and his wife are extremely welcoming and helpful. Great breakfast. Extremely good value for your money. Close enough to all the key sights in Cappadocia, and there's even parking!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eliot F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed for two nights while exploring Cappadocia. It was an excellent place to stay to do this. Halil and his wife and all personnel at the hotel were eager to please. In fact, everything - from the actual room to the splendid breakfast to the beautiful, landscaped gardens - was wonderful

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed in July in this hotel and enjoyed not only the nice rooms but also the wonderful romantic garden. Great breakfast and dinner, modern rooms in old building, friendly staff and a good location to visit Cappadokia.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vnoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This was a classy, relaxing cave hotel, which had been superbly restored. It was a joy to walk
around and enjoy all the attractive attention to detail, both in the rooms and in the garden/terraces. Our room was beautiful, with a delightful bathroom, which included a jacuzzi -
most welcome after tiring touring days! The owner, Halil, was most friendly and helpful, even
arranging a pick up from the bus station. Breakfast was impressive, with a wide choice. We
especially enjoyed the made to order Gozlemes (Turkish pancakes). Urgup is a lovely town to
wander around at night, with far less tourists than Goreme. We loved climbing up to the hilltop
views at sunset and exploring the abandoned caves without any hassle. We would highly
recommend both this hotel and the town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilliandurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The owners of the hotel, Halil and his french wife, are ever present at the hotel, eager to please and generous with their time and knowledge. My shower door was stuck and they had someone in minutes to repair it. The gardens of the hotel are beautiful and create a lovely respite in dusty cappadocia. The stone fountain spigots actually run local white and red wine!! Urgup town center is an easy walk. Each room is unique, some cave, some in the old Turkish houses. The details of decor and functionality are excellent (lovely kilims and turkish textiles adorn walls, floors and beds). Like another visitor my room did not have enough lighting, especially in the bathroom. I didn't bother to ask for additional lamps because I wasn't in the room much... too much to see and do in cappadocia! The breakfast buffet is excellent. A totally comfortable, clean, beautiful and authentic Turkish hotel. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Had an excellent two night stay in this luxurious cave room hotel. Ours was a spacious room with an amazing spa bath / shower and a small balcony for enjoying nibbles and drinks in the evening. Staff were really helpful, collecting us from bus station on arrival and offering general advice. We spent our evenings in the hotel rather than going in to Urgup town as it really was the best place to eat and relax. The evening meal was delicious and there truly is a wine fountain - where you can fill up your glass for free!!! This hotel was much more upmarket than the other places we stayed during our four week tour of Turkey, but we got a surprisingly cheap offer as a result of a cancellation and it gave us a wonderful taste of staying in luxury.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marelle g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.3 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
3.5 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
0.1 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#7 of 65 in Urgup
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
MDC Hotel
MDC Hotel
#6 of 65 in Urgup
953 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Akuzun
Hotel Akuzun
#33 of 65 in Urgup
153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cappadocia Palace
Cappadocia Palace
#18 of 65 in Urgup
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selcuklu Evi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selcuklu Evi

Property: Selcuklu Evi
Address: Yunak Mahallesi P.K. 55, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#10 Family Hotel in Urgup
#15 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Selcuklu Evi 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selcuklu Evi is a fine example of Seljuk architecture. This antique house has been restored by hand. The local craftsmen of Urgup spent two years to complete this restoration. Each block was carried from the local area and then manually sculpted and leveled before becoming part of Selcuklu Evi. Situated in a small lane surrounded by local homes and gardens this area has panoramic views of rock hewn caves and the old village of Urgup. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Selcuklu Evi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selcuklu Evi Urgup
Selcuklu Evi Hotel Urgup
Selcuklu Evi Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing