We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The gem of Cappadocia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Selcuklu Evi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Selcuklu Evi
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Klosters
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The gem of Cappadocia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This small secluded boutique hotel is a haven amongst the plethora of tourist hotels in this stunningly beautiful area of Turkey. It has enormous charm with the rooms being decorated authentically and maintained to a high standard. The staff are professional, extremely helpful and the owner his French wife are true hoteliers knowing how to accommodate their quests!

Room Tip: The Garden Suite was in calm, quiet garden, but also had a roof terrace for a panoramic view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    45
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
55
75
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife & I were on our honeymoon and our first ever visit to Kapadokya. We were welcomed with open arms by the hotelier themselves, Halil & Brigitte Elalan. They were very friendly and hospitable and made us feel very comfortable despite arriving in the late afternoon after a long day of travel. They were very efficient in arranging other tour activities prior and upon arrival at the hotel, which also gets my 2 thumbs up!

The Garden Suit was amazing with its own jacuzzi and unique room design, which added to our fantastic experience. Location wise, the hotel is close to several restaurants and shops however don't expect much as Kapadokya is a city that is very sporadic and the hotel staff are more than willing to point you to the right direction of what you are looking for.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and miss that hotel very much!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ira1_Sud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights in ürgüp in this hotel.
Impressive with a warm welcome by the owner of the hotel.
Good advices, services, dinner, etc.
Good decoration, both interior and exterior.
One thing that should be improved, there is no wifi signal in the room.
Chaturon

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chaturon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

As soon as we arrived the property that morning we were politely and warmly welcomed by the owner and offered complementary breakfast, which was absolutely delicious. From the savory "Turkish pancakes", made to order, omelet station, fresh breads, fruits, jams and a variety of other local delights. Our rooms were ready as soon as we were done an we were ushered off to a wonderfully decorated room with stunning paintings, fixtures and bathroom. We had dinner at the hotel's restaurant that night. As well as reasonably priced, the mezze were impeccably prepared and the main courses were expertly prepared. Every time we passed by the main building we were always greeted in a most friendly manner by the owner and the staff. We were even offered wine from the elegant wine spigot in the courtyard. Everything in the hotel was wonderful down to the last detail. I would highly recommend his hotel if you're staying in Urgup.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed in one of the cave rooms for 3 nights during a two week trip to Turkey in May 2014. Our welcome was effusive - and the warmth and friendliness we experienced every day from the owner and all members of staff was a highlight of our stay.
We ate in the hotel restaurant for breakfast and two dinners, the food was very enjoyable and the service excellent.
In addition to our stay we organised some local activities through the hotel (whirling dervish and balloon ride), both were great... especially when we heard of some experiences others had had with whirling dervish 'performances' at other venues.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Although traveling with a group which was staying at a large, modern hotel, we chose to spend a night at Selcuklu Evi to experience the "cave" style dwellings of the Cappadocia area. We were not disappointed. Not only was the atmosphere and decor all we had hoped for, the staff and owner were extremely accommodating and charming, assisting us in departing and re-joining our tour. The dinner we had at the hotel's restaurant was superb, and the dining room comfortable and elegant. The location, a short distance from the center of town is perfect. The King suite we stayed in was extremely comfortable and spacious, with the most modern conveniences as well as charming touches in the "cave" decor.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Henry-Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Selcuklu Evi offers a blend of traditional Seljuk and European ambience, warm turkish hospitality and excellent location to nearby Urugup town. Owners 25 years of business experience and network of friends are open, friendly and easily share their insight into the local arts, traditional culture and activities which offers interesting insights into turkey's ancient history and an appreciation of the beautiful natural cappadocia landscapes.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShafinazN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.1 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#8 of 64 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cave Konak
Hotel Cave Konak
#2 of 64 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
MDC Hotel
MDC Hotel
#7 of 64 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
4.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selcuklu Evi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selcuklu Evi

Property: Selcuklu Evi
Address: Yunak Mahallesi P.K. 55, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#10 Family Hotel in Urgup
#15 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Selcuklu Evi 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selcuklu Evi is a fine example of Seljuk architecture. This antique house has been restored by hand. The local craftsmen of Urgup spent two years to complete this restoration. Each block was carried from the local area and then manually sculpted and leveled before becoming part of Selcuklu Evi. Situated in a small lane surrounded by local homes and gardens this area has panoramic views of rock hewn caves and the old village of Urgup. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Expedia so you can book your Selcuklu Evi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selcuklu Evi Urgup
Selcuklu Evi Hotel Urgup
Selcuklu Evi Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing