We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful place with amazing staff”
Review of Selcuklu Evi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Selcuklu Evi
Ranked #23 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very beautiful place with amazing staff”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I stay here with my girl-friend and other two couples of friends.we are all very very happy to stayed in this fantastic hotel.all the staff are very kind and advised us some amazing tour in Cappadocia.If you want to pass a good and relax time in cappadocia you have to stay here.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Davidebertolini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    47
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
58
75
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was probably the best hotel i have stayed in terms of service. I have stayed in many 5 star properties (Marriott, Sheraton, Hyatt) but this one surpasses all. Excellent service and wonderful breakfast and dinner. I have to personally thank Yasin (Manager) and Ahmet who were outstanding and made sure we were taken care of. Yasin in particular talked to the airport authorities regarding my missing baggage and made sure that i got that back in time. The owner and his wife were very nice as well and provided all necessary information regarding tours and activities to make our stay comfortable. The icing on the cake was the packed sandwiches that was provided to us since we had an early morning flight. I would definitely stay again if i visit Cappodocia next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venkat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tolyatti, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

A good place to stay with few negative points. Gives you an antique atmosphere, architecture, furniture etc. but missing some modernization points. Negative points are definitely not just for this hotel but for this destination, lots of stones and dust. Whoever doesn't like stones and dust, then better to choose some other destination ))

I highly recommend to those who visits Urgup.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gokhan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel has a very inviting courtyard and visually impactful architecture. The staff was very helpful. The breakfast plentiful with fresh Turkish pancakes (cheese or potato filled) made to order along with omelette. The negative was the air conditioner - we had two room rented for byte family and the AC was weak in one of the rooms and had problems with the vents in the other. Also, the hotel has pet cats roaming around in the patio - so be careful if you are allergic to cats.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Manoj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in a cave room at Selcuklu Evi for a few days. Unlike many places in the Cappadocia area, it was not overly touristy, which was nice. Our room was a few minutes walk up from the main area, which we didn't mind. We had our own private outdoor patio. The room was nice and had a his and hers sink, a standing shower, and a one person jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was great, with lots of choices. There was also a chef to make omelettes and a nice lady who would make delicious Turkish pancakes. Selcuklu Evi is a beautiful place with lots of flowers and a garden like atmosphere. The owner was extremely helpful in giving us suggestions on where to go and what to do with our time there. We were quite grateful for his help. He offered to set up a hot air balloon tour which seemed expensive. We later talked with some locals about the prices and were told that they were less pricy. We never did end up taking a hot air balloon, but I would suggest to do your homework. We had dinner at the hotel, and it was the most delicious place I ate in Turkey. Tons of choices from the salad bar, and they were all amazing! For the main course we shared some kind of meat with rice cooked over a flame in a pot. It was amazing! Expensive, but worth it.This hotel is great if you rented a car like we did. It is a short drive from the town center and is located up toward the top of the town. Renting a car makes it easy to get around the cities in Cappadocia. Selcuklu Evi is also next to a winery, which I would suggest to visit. The only reason I am giving this 4 stars is because the internet did not work very well. You had to sit in one spot in the room. Lovely place. Great staff. I'd go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at selcuklu evi for three nights. The hotel staff Ahmet was very amicable and helped us throughout our stay at the hotel. Mr. Halias the owner of the property was a nice gentleman and we enjoyed our interactions with him. He was gracious enough to upgrade our rooms. The property is very well maintained and the breakfast spread was good. Don't miss the Turkish pancakes - the best I had in turkey. Overall it was luxury at a very reasonable price !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viji2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

tranquil oasis , with comfortable spacious honeymoon suite with sitting area (which we didn't get to use since we were out touring both days. very good breakfast . owner honored his TA offer of 1 free airport transfer with min 2 night stay .

Room Tip: ask for the 2nd flr honeymoon suite for larger bed and more spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank am001_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.3 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
3.5 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
0.2 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#8 of 65 in Urgup
664 reviews
0.5 mi away
MDC Hotel
MDC Hotel
#7 of 65 in Urgup
937 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selcuklu Evi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selcuklu Evi

Property: Selcuklu Evi
Address: Yunak Mahallesi P.K. 55, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#10 Family Hotel in Urgup
#15 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Selcuklu Evi 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selcuklu Evi is a fine example of Seljuk architecture. This antique house has been restored by hand. The local craftsmen of Urgup spent two years to complete this restoration. Each block was carried from the local area and then manually sculpted and leveled before becoming part of Selcuklu Evi. Situated in a small lane surrounded by local homes and gardens this area has panoramic views of rock hewn caves and the old village of Urgup. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Selcuklu Evi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selcuklu Evi Urgup
Selcuklu Evi Hotel Urgup
Selcuklu Evi Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing