We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, great rooms, great vibe”
Review of Sacred House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sacred House
Ranked #10 of 69 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2011

we loved this place - the rooms were beautifully decorated, and the individual themes added to the flavour of the place. We stayed in a cave room which was divine - felt like a medieval movie scene, but with all the modern touches. The deck and the views were fabulous, and perfect to unwind after a long days sightseeing - they cat and dog just added to the at home vibe.

Urgup is the perfect place to base yourself for sightseeing - small and intimate, with not too much to see.

looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarjMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2011

I recently stayed for three nights at the Sacred House in Urgup, Cappadocia, Turkey. The hotel was beautiful, and the service was outstanding. The breakfasts were excellent. The staff to guest ratio was extraordinarily high (we were there on a Mon/Tues/Wed and were the only guests for the first 2 nights, while the hotel had a full staff complement running). We stayed in The Room of Antique Tiles. Huge bathroom, nicely decorated, dazzlingly clean. I was travelling with a friend and we had 2 beds in the room, which made it feel very cramped, but the space would be fine for a couple or a solo traveller. This particular room is, to be fair, the smallest and least expensive room in the hotel, and we had requested it. I peeked at several other rooms and could see that they were all lavishly decorated and were double, triple or even quadruple the size. Note that not all rooms have stand-up showers - all have luxury jaccuzzi-style tubs, some of which have a stand-up shower option. This hotel would be perfect for couples wanting a memorable hotel experience with a high standard of service. It is not an appropriate place for children, as most sitting areas are in nooks outside of the rooms, on patios, or in the hotel's main entry area. Ece and her husband, the owners, are young, hip, totally fluent in English, full of great ideas, and extremely accomodating.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jareid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at this boutique hotel before moving on to the more tourist area of Goreme. What a great decision as Urgup was perfect for us to relax a bit and Sacred House was the perfect place to do that. Our room was available earlier than usual and seeing that we got there early we could check in. Ece was extremely hospital and we were even given a tour of the rooms that were not occuppied. The poppy seed cake upon arrival was just out of this world, as was the fresh lemonade. The food during dinner was also splendid and plentiful. I cant actually find the words to describe the rooms. Incredibly designed with attention to detail. I hope we can return in future

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0nd0nGenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We spent three wonderful nights at the Sacred House in May. Cappadocia is amazing, and the Sacred House is the perfect base to use while visiting this mystical area. We loved everything about the hotel - the wonderful breakfasts (served either in the beautiful dining room or the great terrace), the music that surrounds you and the beautiful decor. We stayed in Bacchus Hideaway, and loved to retreat there after a day spent wandering through caves and churches. The hotel is in town, and we loved that Urgup was a "real town" with some very nice restaurants. We had a private dinner one night at Sacred House. The candle lit dining room with personal service and delicious food was a highlight of our 2 1/2 week trip to Turkey. We are already looking forward to returning to Sacred House - our big decision will be what room to stay in next time!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mayo Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

great hotel, great people , great service. I believe everyone once in life should stay at sacred house in Urgup. the fantastic decoration, well thought details make a true difference while you stay. also the personnel is quite nice and kind.
ı would highly recommend , the rooms with the concepts of the bizans , sultans or harems rooms

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ustunkaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Sacred House is a hidden treasure in Urgup. You don't expect to find such a beautiful and charming place behind the wooden doors that lead to a narrow stone street. These doors separate the today's world and ancient times. This hotel represents the ancient times, it not only reminds you things about those times but it makes you believe that you actually live in that era. Its decoration is magnificient, everywhere from the entrance to the terrace is full of nice touches which complete the "ancient times" concept.
When you get in the room you smile happily because you immediately understand that the room is itself a different world again from the old times. Every room is decorated in a different way. They just show you the different part of the world or different life styles in those times. Very comfortable, very interesting and very very stylish. There are many many details within the room that you will love to investigate. We have stayed in the Old Chapel and I must admit that it has the best bathroom I have ever seen. Lighting is wonderful and as a consequence ambience is so nice that you don't want to leave the room.
Service quality is excellent, all the staff knows what they do. More importantly they do their best to make you feel comfortable, and they are successfull at it. Order a dinner at the Sacred House and enjoy your meal with a stylish serving. You must try it, be sure that you won't regret it.
To sum up I can say that Cappadocia is a very interesting and different world, but if you want to live the place and not just visit you better complement it with staying in the Sacred House. Staying at this hotel is as worthy as visiting Cappadocia.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oytun_kurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Rooms very large, all done differently and were extremely beautiful. The food was excellent and the service unsurpassed. There are no elevators so if you have trouble walking stairs this would not be a good choice for you. There are only very larg bathtubs, no showers. Most have fireplaces and king beds. They are all very romantice and tastefully done with antiques. No phones or TV's in rooms but are in the beautiful lobby.
The owners, hosts, are wonderful people and make you feel as if you are part of the family.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.3 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
5.4 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
0.5 mi away
Golden Cave Suites
Golden Cave Suites
#20 of 69 in Urgup
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sacred House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sacred House

Address: Dutlu Cami Mah. Barbaros Hayrettin Sok. No:25 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Urgup
#3 Spa Hotel in Urgup
#17 Family Hotel in Urgup
#18 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: £95 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sacred House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sacred House is a 250 years old, Greek mansion, where medieval art & contemporary luxury meet to provide that certain old world touch. Precious decorations, antique furnishings & worthy antique items enhance the atmosphere and luxurious comfort of the 21 totally different & unique rooms. Our menu accompanied by old, forgotten and ancient cuisines which are served in a medieval atmosphere supported by antique silverware, antique chandeliers and chevalier tables, to be a 'knightly' one to remember a long time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sacred House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacred House Hotel Urgup
Sacred House Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing