We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and unique hotel”
Review of Sacred House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sacred House
Ranked #12 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
“Beautiful and unique hotel”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

It is difficult to say anything nicer than the other guests have already written about the hospitality, perfect service, personal and delicate taste of the Scared House. The whole of Cappadocia is a magical place. To stay in this special boutique hotel was the crown on the joyful days. The only thins we regret is that we could not stay there longer. We are still talking about the smiles of Ece and the carved angels of this spiritual place. We truely hope we can stay with them again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this review, 20 June 2016
Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    19
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
211
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Sacred House lived up to high expectations from the many great reviews that we had read about prior to booking. We visited Europe for 4 weeks on a once in a lifetime trip for us. We stayed in Santorini for a few days, Kusadasi for a week, Urgup/Cappadocia (Sacred House) for 4 days (not long enough!) and Istanbul as well as Venice.
Sacred House was amazing. We loved Cappadocia- such a great feel and so many great sites. Sacred House was the perfect spot to stay while here. The ambience is unreal, very relaxing and unique- perfect for this area. The service is unbelievable. The meals here- the best we had on our trip in the personalized "order that day so that they can pick up fresh ingredients" restaurant.
The only hiccup was a group of Americans who checked in very loudly at 11 pm (on the night before we went on our balloon ride (up at 430 am) at this small and intimate hotel. This was not Sacred house's fault, just the ignorance of the group checking in.
The little touches at Sacred House- like afternoon tea, free housemade cherry liquer, and on one day a sampling of Turkish Delight in our room, were kind and most appreciated. In fact, we stayed at Argos in Ucishar in a 700euro/night room for a special treat on our last day in Cappadocia, only to miss SACRED HOUSE. We wished we hadnt left, and although Argos was a beautiful setting, the ambience and hospitality of Sacred House left us incredibly disappointed in Argos. It made us truly appreciated Sacred House and the value that it brings . I highly recommend Sacred House. Highly.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C123_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this review, 20 June 2016
Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the Sacred House and I was so sad to leave! This boutique hotel went above and beyond and exceeded any expectations we had. We visited Istanbul, Selcuk (Ephesus), Bodrum and Cappadocia (Urgup/Goreme) and Sacred House was by far our favorite hotel we stayed in. Service was fantastic and they welcomed you at the door every time you arrived back from your daily adventures and asked how your day was. Truly genuine staff that made you feel at home. Candles were lit upon our arrival in the Harem room where we stayed, homemade cake and chai when we checked in and the food served from there on sight restaurant (both breakfast and dinner) was top notch with amazing spices and flavors! The cherry liquor that was refilled in the room every night was tasty and warming to the soul also. I work in the textile business and this place was beautifully designed and decorated with the best of the best decor! I cannot say enough wonderful things about this place...it is a must stay! Thank you Sacred House for making this such a memorable experience for us!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this review, 20 June 2016
Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We only stayed at the Sacred House for one night and I have to thank TripAdvisor for correctly recommending it. This hotel is a work of love. Every inch is full of personal details. A warm and caring host (Ece) and well trained staff. Also, the best Turkish breakfast we had in our trip in Turkey. Would return anytime to Cappadocia just to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: check their web site, every room is different
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robituzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this review, 20 June 2016
Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

After the tour company let us down on the transfer to from Nevsehir airport, we eventually arrived to a little oasis of heaven,hidden behind a stone wall and wooden doors. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming or appreciative of how we were feeling. A welcome drink and chocolate cake to die for! We were then shown to our room, we only had a standard room booked, Deep Forest, but it was beautiful. We felt as if we'd stepped in to a parallel universe.
No buffet at breakfast, but oh what a feast! Fabulous local food, meats, pastries, cheese, bread, jams, fresh fruit and omlette cooked freshly for us. Coffee, however you want it, they can serve it. All served on a roof top terrace in the sunshine. We did indulge and eat dinner in the hotel as well on our last night, again the most wonderful food, a bit expensive but well worth it. The restaurant setting was very atmospheric and romantic, we had a room to ourselves complete with candles & wine cellar at the end of the room :-)
The staff were brilliant both in the restaurant and for any other enquiries and help we needed. They are discreet but somehow anticipate your every need.
Oh & lets not forget the local cherry liquer in the room, lovely!

Room Tip: Look at the Sacred House web-site to see all the rooms. We booked through a tour operator adn had no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this review, 20 June 2016
Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We spent 5 nights in the beautiful Sacred House which was beyond our expectations. Each room is individually designed and furnished with such attention to detail. We spent the first night in Anka's Lair, one of the 3 cave rooms. It is beautifully furnished with a Byzantine theme. When we entered, all the candles were lit and a bottle of cherry wine and fruit awaited us. We spent the other 4 nights in the Fairies' Nest which was also delightful. The bathroom is a large round room ending in a domed ceiling with a big beautiful chandelier hanging over the large round bath. We loved both rooms, both completely different, but both oozing with character.

The breakfast is a work of art, beautifully presented and served on the roof terrace. We also had one dinner on the roof terrace which was delicious.

Eje who runs the hotel was there for our every need and enquiry and always charming and helpful as were all the rest of the staff.

This little hotel is a jewel, we are so glad that we found it.

Room Tip: Look on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimpatco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this review, 20 June 2016
Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poncha Springs, CO
Level Contributor
122 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We spent four lovely nights at the Sacred House in September. We had a few issues with our room the first night and the staff was very accommodating in moving us to a room much more to our liking for the remainder of our stay. In fact, the staff was great throughout our visit; always friendly and helpful (such as the books the manager loaned to us about the area). A nice touch was a light breakfast that was prepared for us on our departure day, well before the kitchen was open.

All of the meals and afternoon tea were served on the upper terrace which offers a commanding view of Wishing Hill and the valley below Ürgüp. The breakfast each morning was amazing - always fresh and unique, and SERVED rather than laid out in typical buffet style. We had dinner only one night at the hotel and it was excellent. The menu offers period dishes reminiscent of Turkey's history. I had the Byzantine lamb and my wife had an Armenian dish.

Our room was something out of another century (several centuries, actually), filled with artwork and antiques. For me - always the practical business traveler- it was a bit over the top. Storage was limited, there were few electrical outlets, lighting was dim, and there were many things to bump into and knock over during my nightly wanderings. The linens, however, were soft and delightful, and there was plenty of room for our morning yoga routines.

The location is great. It's close to the center of Ürgüp where it's easy to catch a taxi or bus to the surrounding communities. At the same time, it's in a calm and quiet part of town. Like many of the towns and villages in Turkey, Ürgüp offers plenty of opportunities to practice your hiking skills, so pack a pair of good walking/hiking shoes and be aware of uneven surfaces.

My one criticism of the Sacred House is the music that plays constantly throughout the day until about 10:30 at night. Although generally tasteful it does become pretty monotonous as the same songs are repeated numerous times. It's also rather loud and could be turned off much earlier in the evening.

Room Tip: Request a room in the lowest section or off to side for the most tranquility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John-David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this review, 20 June 2016
Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
5.5 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#13 of 28 in Uchisar
683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#7 of 65 in Urgup
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
5.4 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sacred House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sacred House

Property: Sacred House
Address: Dutlu Cami Mah. Barbaros Hayrettin Sok. No:25 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Urgup
#3 Business Hotel in Urgup
#17 Family Hotel in Urgup
#18 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sacred House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sacred House is a 250 years old, Greek mansion, where medieval art & contemporary luxury meet to provide that certain old world touch. Precious decorations, antique furnishings & worthy antique items enhance the atmosphere and luxurious comfort of the 21 totally different & unique rooms. Our menu accompanied by old, forgotten and ancient cuisines which are served in a medieval atmosphere supported by antique silverware, antique chandeliers and chevalier tables, to be a 'knightly' one to remember a long time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sacred House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacred House Hotel Urgup
Sacred House Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing