We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in the crown of Cappadocia”
Review of Sacred House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sacred House
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We experienced exceptional hospitality from the owners and staff from the moment we arrived until we left 6 days later. The restoration of this Boutique hotel has shown exceptional detail to each of the rooms, it is peaceful and restful. An amazing experience. especially sitting on the rooftop balcony enjoying the sunrise or sunset and also wonderful breakfasts. We plan our return trip to the Sacred House.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2012

It was completely an amazing experience especially with the staff's unlimited hospitality. Breakfasts, coffees, views, rooms make us feel in more than holiday. Although it was a quite small amount of time that wespent there, we felt like taking a rest for a month. Once weleft, we started again our next visit. We still remember its delicious taste.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deniz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at sacred house on jan,2012 for 3 days. From the moment we walked in , not only the beautiful surroundings but the special treatment from all the staff, especially the owner/ manager. The rooms were beautiful and unique. The breakfast delicious, beautifully presented. They assisted us in booming a hotair balloon tour, spa ,transportation, dervish dancers and restaurant reservations. The highlight of our stay was our special dinner at the hotel which was in a private cave like setting just for the two of us. The food, the music,the presentation, the ambiance, the candles , the wine, the service etc. My husband is not easily impressed and not the most romantic but he even asked me for a dance. We have traveled extensively and this was one of our best experiences ever. I will definitelly love to goback.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures and perhaps communicate directly with the owner and let her know what your purp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pensativa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My daughter & I stayed at Sacred House in January 2012, in the room of the Antique Tiles, which couldn't have been a better choice; since I love collecting old tiles myself. The room and bathroom were lovely. It was a very restful, peaceful place for us, after traveling for awhile. A day tour was easily arranged for us the owner. The staff was great, arranging a late arrival snack, and a late breakfast for us. They were also very accommodating for a vegetarian diet and the food was delicious

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingcnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I've stayed in hundreds of hotels around the world, but Sacred House in Urgup is by far the most romantic hotel I've ever stayed in. From the moment I arrived, I knew it was going to be someplace special thanks to the very attentive and welcoming staff, which treated us like old friends. We had selected the Fairies' Nest for our accommodations - it's a spacious deluxe room with stone arched ceiling, a fireplace, very comfortable bed and an ensuite bathroom with heated floor, vaulted domed ceiling (and chandelier that's nearly as large as the one in the bedroom) and huge tub for relaxation. While I definitely enjoyed Urgup and the surrounding Cappadocia region, I would enthusiastically return to Sacred House as a destination unto itself. If you want style and luxury in the middle of Turkey, this is the place.

Room Tip: Be sure to go onto Sacred House's website to view each of the themed rooms in advance. We had an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveOnBroadway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We couldn't have been more impressed with the Sacred House. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with very attentive care and exceptional service. We immediately felt welcomed to Cappadocia after our long day of travel. The location is great for exploring Urgup, and other nearby villages with very prompt taxi service that the hotel arranges for you. Staying in the Sacred House is really a once-in-a-lifetime experience that you will not forget, due to the comfort of the rooms and the elegant atmosphere in the entire hotel. To give an idea of how committed the staff was to making our stay wonderful, they even delivered a piece of jewelry that I had forgotten to our next hotel, and it was there before I even knew I had lost it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Fullmoon Suite and thought it was really romantic. It is especially nice if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The hotel is above average. The level of service is a European 4 - 5 stars but it's a boutique so it's quite small. The pricing is on the high end for the region but not the most expensive.

The meals at Sacred House are the best we had in the area - high quality,large portions. The breakfasts are huge. If you hang out in any of the lounges they'll offer variety of tea.

The hotel's concierge was able to hook us up for all activities for reasonable prices. I was able to negotiate better prices in person but maximum 10% discount. Likely if you're very thrifty you can negotiate down. In the tourist season you may get stuck on huge group tours so make sure you request the mini-bus.

The location is in a kind of more upscale city in the region - everything we found was targeted at tourists. Do take a day to walk around, there are plenty of caves to just walk into there. Some are still occupied!

There are a few points that lowered my rating from 5 star and actually I would consider staying in a different hotel next time. Believe it or not there are a number of similar luxury hotels in that city. Sacred House is the most wildly decorated that we saw - we went to a couple others just to check them out.

1. The music in the hotel was really out of control. They played it from 8am to 10pm. Very very loud. We couldn't sleep - and we had to wake up at 5am for the balloon ride once. I called every single day to lower or turn it off. I think each room has a sound system, why blast music outside? It totally ruined the atmosphere.

2. They totally didn't tell us that the free hotel shuttle is ONE WAY. So you have to pay on the way back. For a seemingly luxury hotel we thought they'd cover the cost.

3. There are no phones in the rooms so you cannot communicate with hotel staff. If you need something you have to leave your room. Kind of unusual for a 4+ star hotel. And since we had to call every night about the blasting music I called from my cell. Kind of weird.

Other than that it's a really good place to stay! We'd recommend it for a nice retreat. We weren't able to meet any other guests but suspect they would be interesting folks.

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arseny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
5.5 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#12 of 30 in Uchisar
720 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
5.4 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
Taskonaklar
Taskonaklar
#6 of 30 in Uchisar
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sacred House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sacred House

Address: Dutlu Cami Mah. Barbaros Hayrettin Sok. No:25 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Urgup
#3 Business Hotel in Urgup
#17 Family Hotel in Urgup
#18 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: £97 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sacred House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sacred House is a 250 years old, Greek mansion, where medieval art & contemporary luxury meet to provide that certain old world touch. Precious decorations, antique furnishings & worthy antique items enhance the atmosphere and luxurious comfort of the 21 totally different & unique rooms. Our menu accompanied by old, forgotten and ancient cuisines which are served in a medieval atmosphere supported by antique silverware, antique chandeliers and chevalier tables, to be a 'knightly' one to remember a long time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sacred House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacred House Hotel Urgup
Sacred House Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing