We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amemorable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sacred House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sacred House
Ranked #12 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Amemorable stay”
Reviewed 9 July 2009

I fell in love with Sacred House from the website and decided to spend two of our seven nights spent in Cappadocia there, although for us it is quite expensive. We spent our other 5 nights in Goreme first and were disappointed with Urgup when we arrived there. We just loved Goreme too much. Sacred House made up for this disappointment though. The location is excellent, within walking distance of the town, shops and restaurants.

We stayed in Faeries Nest after having difficulty in choosing between this room and Anka's Lair. In the end after seeing both rooms, we made the right choice! Faeries Nest is the top room of Sacred House with a balcony and a lovely view of Urgup. Anka's Lair, although beautiful, is a cave room and very dark with no view. The decor in our room was absolutely beautiful and it is so romantic and cosy at night with dimmed lighting and lovely chandeliers. We started the fire as it was very cold and they brought more wood upon request. The only negative comment I can make is that practical aspects were overlooked like a place to put your suitcases and other stuff, a comfortable seating area ( the chairs were their for decorative purposes only according to me!) etc. The emphasis here is mainly on interior decorating. But still, I chose this hotel because I love this aspect! Maybe they can just add small practical things that travelers do need?

The breakfast was of a high standard as well as the one dinner we had there. Both meals were served on the top terrace with a lovely view over Urgup town. We had drinks on the terrace late afternoons to just enjoy the view.

Other reviewers have said it all. I would recommend this hotel and choose it again. As I also wanted to stay in a cave hotel/B&B, that is what we have done in Goreme, so if you only have limited time in Cappadocia, that might be your first choice!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ters317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this review, 20 June 2016
Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
208
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
eastcoast
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2008

We booked the tour and reservation through Credo Tours in Istanbul. What a wondrous little hotel with such loving and caring staff, and attention to detail. We stayed in the Fairie Nest and the room is just precious, My wife and I loved it. Even better, the staff goes to any length to make you happy. The food in thier restaurant is served with charm and finess and the preparation is definitely 5 star. we would have breakfast on the terrace every morning with plates of food with fresh fruit and vegtables, a special crepe, and always something different and special each morning. Dinner, if ordered in the morning, is prepared by the staff and it also is wonderful, eating as we watched the lights fade on the hillside on top of the beautiful terrace. Service is superb. Before coming down for breakfast, they would serve us coffee on the terrace outside our room, In the evening, if we got back late, they would get food from the local delicious take out restaurant and then serve it to us on china. It was our 25th Anniversary and we couldn't have expecte more. Mark and Kanika Taylor

  • Liked — You couldn't find a place more charming, elegantly decorated or with nicer people
  • Disliked — a few too many stairs
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bearsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this review, 20 June 2016
Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2007

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Sacred House. The staff was amazingly hospitable and the food was DELICIOUS! The rooms were beautiful and modernly appointed with a very rustic nod towards decorating. We loved the stone vaulted ceilings. The hotel is located close to the center of town making it easy to get around by foot.

Only drawback is that all the rooms open onto a courtyard which can get quite loud when people are talking, etc. Also, beware if you go during Ramadan as you will be jolted out of sleep several times during the early morning when a drummer passes the hotel making sure everyone wakes up for morning prayer. Not the best.

  • Liked — The staff is so friendly and the breakfast is delicious
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VAMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this review, 20 June 2016
Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2007

When planning our stay in Cappadocia, I had arranged that we stay in Urgup rather than Goreme purely because I had fallen in love with the Sacred House Hotel from their website and wanted to stay there - and that, rather than any other reason, was why we made Urgup our base.

We certainly weren't disappointed. The Sacred House was everything we could have dreamed of and more. It is the most romantic of hotels. We stayed in Anka's Lair, which is rather like a medieval fantasy, and from what I saw it was the most stunning of all their amazing rooms (and the only cave room) - but you would have a very special stay in any of them.

The bed was so comfortable, the decor amazing and something from a medieval fantasy, the staff are friendly, welcoming and helpful and the terrace (and the cats) are delightful.

The bathroom (through a huge stone archway) was also stunning and huge!

Breakfasts were huge, fresh, with bread, fruit, fresh preserves, olives, freshly cooked eggs, and much more, and were served wherever you wanted it..... in the dining room, on the terrace.... wherever.

A big benefit of the Sacred House (unlike many of the other hotels in Urgup which are up a real killer of a hill) is that it is easily walkable to the town - great for exploring or going out for dinner.

If. or more likely when, we return to Cappdocia, we will without doubt stay at the Sacred House Hotel. It is a dream hotel.

  • Liked — The whole atmosphere of peace, tranquility - and a hint of magic!
  • Disliked — Loved it all!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Gonetothedogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this review, 20 June 2016
Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mersin, Turkey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2007

We spent two marvelous days at The Sacred House on 28th and 29th of September. We spent the first night in Anka's Lair and the second night in Chevalier. The hotel is situated on a narrow and steepish street. Entrance is through a wooden door into a beautiful courtyard of an old house made of stone. The staff is extremely cheerful and helpful and welcomes you with fresh lemonade with mint leaves. The rooms reflect a high taste in decoration. Rugs, textiles, furniture, bed posts, lighting elements, etc for each room is chosen uniquely and exquisitely consistent with the name (hence the concept) of the room. Beds are VERY comfortable. The breakfasts (at least the two we have had the chance to eat) were so tasty and we (as a breakfast loving couple) made them last about two hours each. First night we ate at Ürgüp. A 5 minute walk will take you to the small city center. The second night we chose to eat at the hotel. Warning: You have to inform the staff that you will eat at the hotel that night, so that your dinner will be ready at the time you prefer. What we ate that night (-we checked from the online menu of the hotel- Stewed shallot with lamb, Vegetarian, and Walnut and Fig) were delicious and special. Just let the staff lead you what to eat we may say. Especially the stew reminded me of the diverse civilizations and cultures (and especially tastes) that have lived and are living in Turkey that we yet have to explore and cherish.
Of the two rooms we stayed at, Anka's Lair was the main attraction. Anka's Lair is not an ordinary room, especially when you dim the lights. You have to see it for yourself. The lobby of the hotel is the showcase of the high taste in decoration and antiques and last night we spent nearly 2 hours taking photos there. As this was not our first time in Cappadocia region, the Sacred House was really worth the trip to spent two days off the city. We were beautifully without TV, internet and... cell phones... One warning for those who can't live without cell phone: Cell phones may have connection problems as the hotel is made of stone and especially Anka's Lair is carved into rock.

  • Liked — The staff was very helpful and kind.
  • Disliked — None.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank SinBur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this review, 20 June 2016
Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2007

First of all, I COMPLETELY AGREE with all the rave reviews of this place...fabulous rooms, atmosphere, breakfasts, views, service, etc.....!! However, my boyfriend and I might still opt to stay somewhere different next time, if we were to do it again. Here's why:

We are two 31-yr olds, we have no kids, and so we still consider ourselves pretty young and enjoy nightlife, adventures, etc. During our stay, we saw only 2 other couples at Sacred House, and both were in their 50s-60s. We also dined at a great rooftop restaurant in the center of Urgup (Somine) and again, most of the clientele were 50+ (and all tourists). There is pretty much no where to go after 9pm in town, so prepare yourself for early nights in.

Also, this place was extremely affordable by US standards ($120 a night for gorgeous boutique hotel accomodations!) but we realized when we arrived in Cappadocia that that is actually VERY expensive for Urgup/ Goreme. Many great little places are closer to $50/ night.

We also felt that the luxury of this place isolated us from experiencing the "real" Cappadocia. It is such an amazing place, and the locals live such fabulously simple lives, I felt really pretentious and guilty being so pampered!

Next time, we would probably stay in Goreme, where the scene is a bit younger, livelier. Goreme also has the advantage of having "fairy chimneys" RIGHT in the middle and immediately surrounding the town, which Urgup does not.....

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
17 Thank CambridgeVactioner9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this review, 20 June 2016
Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
316 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2007

We have just returned form an incredible 3 week honeymoon during which we visited Turkey and some Greek islands, staying in some amazing hotels along the way. I can say that despite being one of the less expensive hotels on our trip the Sacred House was outstanding and was definitely one of the two best hotels we stayed in - we will certainly not forget it. I must say we were a little disappointed on arrival when we passed through the atmospheric 'cave district' of Urgup and realised we were staying more in the town. Any disappointment was washed away however when we went through the inobtrusive little entrance to the Sacred House and were greeted by a really smiley member of staff who immediately showed us around the beautiful hotel. Our room was the Old Chapel and was absolutely stunning. I doubt it is possible to stay anywhere more atmospheric than this room which was the worshipping area of the house serevral hundred years ago and comes complete with cross and altar! The whole ambience of the room is of great tradition and history, yet the modern luxuries are certainly not forgotten. A decanter of cherry brandy along with some gorgeous turkish delight was waiting for us, the bed was so so comfy, the bathroom complete with fancy products and a jacuzzi big enough for two was outstanding. There is no TV but frankly if there was it would have spoilt the atmosphere. The main courtyard of the hotel is an amazing, restful place and relaxing jazz music often plays there, while the roof terrace on top of the house with sun loungers and rockers overlooking the mountains is simply awesome. We stayed 3 nights, and each afternoon when we came back from exploring the wonders of Cappadocia we came back to what felt like our terrace, relaxed and read, looking out at the amazing view, listening to the sounds of deepest Anatolia, and felt totally peaceful. And then we would be brought sumptous complimentary chocolate or lemon cake along with freshly made lemonade and we were in heaven. Honestly I could go on and on about Sacred House - the lovely staff who would do anything for you and were so helpful, the absolutely incredible breakfasts (my wife had to request that her's was cut as we were being fed too much!) and the great candlelight dinner we shared but basically if you want unforgettable luxury you must stay at the Sacred House - I think it is pretty much as perfect as a hotel can get. By the way while the main town is not exactly inspiring, further up in town there is a lovely restaurant called Dmitri with great views and a very trendy bar called Ziggy. We also went to Goreme one night (not nearly as authentic as Urgup) and ate in a great place called Alaturca.

  • Liked — The rooms, the atmosphere, the terrace, the breakfasts - everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank libero7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this review, 20 June 2016
Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.3 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#8 of 65 in Urgup
657 reviews
5.5 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#13 of 27 in Uchisar
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#7 of 27 in Uchisar
703 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
6.1 mi away
Gamirasu Cave Hotel
Gamirasu Cave Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ayvali
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sacred House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sacred House

Property: Sacred House
Address: Dutlu Cami Mah. Barbaros Hayrettin Sok. No:25 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Urgup
#3 Business Hotel in Urgup
#17 Family Hotel in Urgup
#18 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sacred House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sacred House is a 250 years old, Greek mansion, where medieval art & contemporary luxury meet to provide that certain old world touch. Precious decorations, antique furnishings & worthy antique items enhance the atmosphere and luxurious comfort of the 21 totally different & unique rooms. Our menu accompanied by old, forgotten and ancient cuisines which are served in a medieval atmosphere supported by antique silverware, antique chandeliers and chevalier tables, to be a 'knightly' one to remember a long time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sacred House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacred House Hotel Urgup
Sacred House Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing