We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel but has "but"”
Review of Sacred House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sacred House
Ranked #10 of 69 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2010

The hotel is amazing with each room decorated in a way to sweep you off your feet. We stayed in Fairies’ Nest at the top of the hotel with a somehow private sitting corner and it was amazing watching Urgup at night from that corner. We also had a fireplace, which we used with joy and the heating from the floor in the bathroom created a comforting atmosphere. There was problem with hot water though, it never became hot, only warm.

We also saw some of the other rooms and they were all wonderful. Be careful if you have asthma and don’t stay in Byzantium Treasury (my personal choice) and in summer it became unbelievably hot in the King as there’s no A/C in any or the rooms to keep the authenticity. I can’t say anything bad about any of the rooms, they were wonderful and you should experience it yourself.

Apart from these good sides, unfortunately, recently, there have been some changes in the hotel, which I believe is not good. First of all, Yeşim, the wonderful manager is not working there anymore. This is a real loss as she was a fabulous hostess and took care of her customers/guests with top attention. I have a lot of friends who stayed in this hotel in different seasons apart from me, and they all agree that the best part of Sacred House was Yeşim somehow. Now that she’s gone, I noticed things are not the same and little details makes you feel not fully satisfied from the hotel.

When we stayed, we were welcomed by Murat (who I think used to be the night attendant as his tag said as far as I can remember but I suspect him being the new manager or the supply at least). He helped us find the way to the hotel. He was very panicked and a little bit uncomfortable I guess, but I thought it’s fine since it had only been 2 days since Yeşim left. There was a bit misunderstanding about the hotel’s kindness as we thought the served tea was free (he literally just said: “you came from a long way, perhaps you’d like some tea?” and this indicates free offering in Turkey at 99% of all times). They also offered us a bottle of wine (thanks to Yeşim actually as she arranged this detail and left) for our anniversary but we told them we don’t use alcohol so Murat said they can change it to something else. They never did. Then we asked for cappuccinos instead of wine and again it was really disappointing to see they charged us to pay. At the end, the money was nothing really, it was only around 40 USD but the management irritated us. This is not common or welcomed in Turkish hotel business or in Turkish hospitality.

I also noticed that the breakfast is not that wonderful now, but maybe it’s because when we visited, the hotel was nearly empty (which wouldn’t be an excuse but anyway). So just for now, don’t expect that spectacular breakfast mentioned in early comments. I’m not sure if it’s related to season or the management change. I honestly ask them to improve themselves and get rid of that panicked environment around to let guests feel welcomed. By the way, we asked for a receipt, and it has been a week and they haven’t sent us via e-mail. Odd.

It was interesting to see all those things occurring since the hotel’s owner is there all the time. I highly recommend Sacred House, though not soon, not in the near future. There’s a construction going on as they build an additional building next to the hotel (it’ll be a part of Sacred House with an underground pool and lots of new rooms) and it’s quite loud especially in the mornings. Moreover, I think the new management should be settled first and start being comfortable before they try to make you.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arestoktra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2010

Great location, beautiful hotel, captivating concept, sexy, mysterious and classy all at once. The service was impeccable, the staff among the friendliest and most genuine I have ever met in the world. Food was spectacular, variety amazing, every day you get a little surprise in your room like turkish delights or chocolate coated fruit. If you want to do a tour, the hotel organises it for you in the most efficient manner, no hassle at all, you just have to be ready at the hotel for your pick up.

There is even a house dog, a golden retriever named Melek (Angel), The hotel had rescued her as she was abused and abandoned. The loveliest dog I have ever met, she greets each and every guest, every time they come through the door, by offering you her ball. We fell in love with her and we were heartbroken when we had to leave.

Hotel manager, Ms. Yesim, personally took fantastic care of us, as she did with all the other guests. Upon first meeting her, you feel more like you're good friends than guests of the hotel. Intelligent and knowledgeable, she could tell you everything you wanted to know about anything. The time and effort spent on personal touches really made a difference. She made sure you were comfortable and was always around, 24/7, if you needed anything or if you just wanted a chat.

I would recommend this to everyone visiting Cappadocia. An oustanding, beautiful, grand hotel for a very reasonable amount of money. You will not be sorry you picked it and will definitely be sad to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanineKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

When we went to Cappadocia, we were confused between the multiple cave hotel choices and it was reading the fantastic reviews on Tripadvisor that made us pick Sacred House. We couldn't have been happier with our choice. Having stayed at some of the best and most expensive hotels all over the world, Sacred House still tops our list as one of our all time favourite! Our stay there was flawless right from the beginning to the end - from the warm welcome we received from Yesim (the property manager) to the most relaxed 'check-in' on a couch with a glass of yummy homemade lemonade, to the even more yummy cherry liquor in our room with the little surprise daily treats, and the gorgeous, innovative rooms (yes they look even better in real than they do in pictures if possible!), the list it really endless. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough having visited all the other top hotels in Cappadocia, including the Museum hotel and CCR...none of them even COMPARE! Stay here if you get the chance to with your eyes closed...I know we'd certainly love to again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atg_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We stayed in the Bachuus Hideout room which was beautiful, and very romantic. The breakfasts on the terrace were superbly presented, and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. On our last night we had dinner in the hotel which was the best food we had during our stay in Turkey. Yesmin the manager organised everything we wanted most efficiently and gave us a warm welcome when we first arrived, complete with home made lemonade which was delicious!!

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank adsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

This is the best place to stay while exploring Cappadocia. The entire staff, notably Yesim, are EXCELLENT. The room we choose was the Harem. What a delight! As we had previously read in other reviews- the breakfast is amazing. Our stay at Sacred House was magical. I urge anyone to book without hesitation as there is no room for disappointment but only time to be delighted by all the elegant touches of this hotel. We could not have asked for anything more. Best Honeymoon EVER!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLen717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Our stay at Sacred House was great. The service provided is exceptional, including by the Hostess/Manager Yesim. We stayed in Anka's Lair, which was a splendid cave room. The location of the hotel is excellent for Urgup. And my wife is still talking about the breakfasts! I would highly recommend this place for couples.

And a special thanks for the following: While we were waiting at the airport my name was called over the sound system. I went to check on the situation and it turns out we left a small bag containing some purchases in our room. Well between Argeus Tours and Sacred House they managed to get the item to us at the airport before we boarded our plane. Thank you very much to the both of you!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchRok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

What really makes this place is the wonderful people. The manager Yesim is so warm, and fun, and welcoming, and she does everything she can to make your stay perfect. The entire staff is fantastic, so polite, professional, and helpful.

The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful, the rooms wonderful and so uniquely decorated. One thing to keep in mind when choosing your room is that they don't have air conditioning, so stick to the lower, cooler floors in the summer, which are very comfortable even on the hottest days.

The breakfasts are the best I had in Turkey, and it's so pleasant to have them on the hotel's rooftop terrace. Unfortunately I didn't try dinner--but it sounds like it's a must!

The location of Urgup is convenient to all the sights, yet since it's outside of Goreme, it's nice that it's not as flooded with tourists at all hours, and has better restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckdexterhaven37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacred_House, Owner at Sacred House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Years have been passed since your last visit... Sacred House expanded and deserves a new visit.

We have 21 rooms now with a stunning restaurant & bar, underground SPA that might take away you breath.

Looking forward to serve you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Ece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.3 mi away
Fresco Cave Suites & Mansions
5.4 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
0.5 mi away
Golden Cave Suites
Golden Cave Suites
#20 of 69 in Urgup
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sacred House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sacred House

Address: Dutlu Cami Mah. Barbaros Hayrettin Sok. No:25 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Urgup
#3 Spa Hotel in Urgup
#18 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: £97 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sacred House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sacred House is a 250 years old, Greek mansion, where medieval art & contemporary luxury meet to provide that certain old world touch. Precious decorations, antique furnishings & worthy antique items enhance the atmosphere and luxurious comfort of the 21 totally different & unique rooms. Our menu accompanied by old, forgotten and ancient cuisines which are served in a medieval atmosphere supported by antique silverware, antique chandeliers and chevalier tables, to be a 'knightly' one to remember a long time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Prestigia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Sacred House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacred House Hotel Urgup
Sacred House Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing