We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy”
Review of Burcu Kaya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Burcu Kaya Hotel
Ranked #43 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cosy”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

The hotel isn't in a cave, but I didn't think it was, so wasn't upset by that. Staff are friendly and the meals are good. Our bathroom was a bit strange - half bath / half shower but the pressure was good and there was plenty of hot water. The rooms are tiny, but the beds are super comfy. We had to check out early to drive back to Istanbul (about 7am) and had a knock on the door about 10 minutes before we left to check if we had taken anything from the mini-bar, which I thought was a bit strange. I's shop around and see what else is around. Cappadocia is a great little town!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knights1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    56
    29
    11
    12
See reviews for
37
45
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
America's Finest City, San Diego, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

First of all this hotel is in the middle of the sticks! You will be isolated if you stay here as far as places to shop, no nightlife, etc.

I had prepaid for my hotel "Suite Room" from Hotels.com. I had a late arrival (about 9pm) and I was told by the reception (male) clerk that my room type (Suite) was not available. (They had sold/given it to someone else!) I was offered a nasty three bedroom room with the beds all slumping in the middle and barely enough room to move around. I was not happy. The desk clerk was a hard nose man who had no intentions of doing anything to accommodate me into something equally as nice as I should have received. Based on their horrible staff and what I had to put up after it was THEIR mistake I would never recommend this dive to anyone.

For one hour and a half I stood there and argued with him and his staff. He said that there was no manager on duty, until Monday! Yeah, like I was going to stick around to wait for a manager to show up. No way!! Finally one of the female staff clerks who was feeling my pain offered to help me. She said I would be taken (via their van) to another hotel that I would really enjoy. Although I was thoroughly skeptical at this point that this other hotel would be better I took the risk saying that I would be back if it wasn't better.

She was absolutely right! OMG, it (Yusuf Yiğitoğlu Konağı) was to die for. I was put into the Kaya Suite on the second level and was so happy. Check on Booking.com (see their 8th and 9th picture that was my room!) Fabulous and so was their breakfast. Their staff was attentive so unlike the Burcu Kaya. If you are a cheap tourist and don't care about how the room looks or if you can physically move inside your room then stay at the Burcu Kaya Hotel and take your chances. IF you want quality and feel you deserve the best then stay at the Yusuf Yigitoglu Konagi Hotel.

Room Tip: Stay at the Yusuf Yigitoglu Konagi Hotel (not at the Burcu Kaya Hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Livin_Life_In_Style
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

I reaaly enjoyed the experience in this hotel. Is out of everything, so, if you are there you need a car to go everywhere, but the hotel is a little gem, with nice food and a beatiful architeture.
Is not a cave hotel but the building is completly insert in the cappadocia landscape.
In the pool and also from some rooms is possible to have a view from rock mountains. Breakfast is glorious and at night is possible to have a dinner in the restaurant, a very honest buffett.
Rooms are quite small and they tried to reproduce a cave, is cute.
The outdoor area is great with a great garden and a small fontain.
If you can, go to the small village right down the hotel, is fantastic to see a real turkish life, with the mens tea house, small shops, and normal people (not tourists) on the streets.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aleteles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

It’s not a cave hotel, as they’ve advertised themselves to be. They've just built it to look like one, but it's very much free-standing. It’s also not located in Urgup, as their address shows online. It’s actually located in a satellite city of Urgup, called Ortahisar, located 6km away. Ortahisar has little to speak for…with virtually no entertainment for tourists in the evenings. There seems to be more tractors than cars, and no restaurants or cafes. Getting to the relative conveniences of Ugrup requires either taking a taxi or a bus. Busses supposedly run every 20 minutes from another hotel just a block down the road, but we waited for 30 minutes, and never saw a bus arrive. Instead, we walked into Ortahisar town and caught a taxi. A taxi ride costs about 15 TYL, either flat or by meter.

The hotel seems a bit old, and musty smelling. The bathroom could use an upgrade, and overhaul to prevent dripping water in places. The courtyard out front and the pool area are quite nice to relax in, however. The staff are friendly, and pretty helpful when you need any assistance. The man whom I believe is the hotel manager, however, comes off as a pushy salesperson, always trying to up-sell us on "nicer" and more expensive tour options. Every offer of assistance coming from him felt like he saw it as another option to make some extra cash.

A stay in this hotel usually includes both breakfast and dinner. However, the dinner buffet isn't spectacular... We actually tried it once, and then left the hotel for dinner the next day. Breakfast is fairly standard across Turkey, although they did offer an omelet cooking stand, which is, admittedly, pretty nice.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kungpao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Vic. Australia
Level 6 Contributor
492 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

Adequate average hotel with nothing really outstanding other than its view, if you have a poolside room, which we did.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blossom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Hotel is close to the main tourist attractions. Most are within 10 mins drive. Don't be fooled by the smallish hotel gate entrance as it opens up into a garden.

We stayed two nights in twin room 201 which was located in a corner near the flight of steps beside the lobby. Not for elderly if you are staying on upper floors as there are no elevators.

Rooms are comfortable but on the smallish side which makes walking a little difficult. The rooms have high ceiling with rough stony walls which made us feel like we are in an ancient cave which suits the atmosphere and landscape of Kapadokya. Furniture are painted in dark colour that made it antique looking. Umm, how to put it? A sense of age perhaps.

During our stay, we notice that the hotel receive many tour groups and the restaurant was usually crowded with many tables reserved for the groups so finding a seat can be difficult.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zutzut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

This was a great hotel. It was built to fit the terrian of the area. The catherdal ceilings in the hallways and rooms where nice. The rooms were a bit small but comfortable, clean, food great, staff friendly and helpful. Beautiful area and gret sights

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBIRDMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.0 mi away
Melis Cave Hotel
Melis Cave Hotel
#41 of 65 in Urgup
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elif Stone House
Elif Stone House
#23 of 65 in Urgup
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dinler Hotels – Urgup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.0 mi away
Perissia Hotel & Convention Center
0.0 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#7 of 65 in Urgup
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burcu Kaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burcu Kaya Hotel

Property: Burcu Kaya Hotel
Address: Ortahisar Beldesi Ortahisar, Urgup 50650, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Burcu Kaya Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Burcu Kaya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burcu Kaya Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing