We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrer show”
Review of Burcu Kaya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Burcu Kaya Hotel
Ranked #45 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Vadodara, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“horrer show”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Worst hotel we ever had. Worst hotel in our 18 say stay in Turkey. Stayed here for 3 nights. Tripple rooms are 10ft. by 12ft. You cannot even open your bags. Bathroom is so small you can not even turn around without being hit be the door. Food was horrible. Staff speaks no English whatsoever. Would never go back there even for free. This place is not even worth writing review.
They had a table tennis table but no balls.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Truptesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    54
    28
    11
    12
See reviews for
35
44
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sverige
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We got a room close to the pool area, and it might have been one of the smallest and scruffiest rooms ever! Even though you have a view over the pool, you don't get a chair in the room! I suppose they've tried to make it look charmful, but it just looks awful. The walls doesn't seem to be finished at all, and the height up to the roof is way too low. The beds are extremely hard and the springs are felt thru the sheets! We had a crack in the showerwall and black mould in the shower itself. You could only flush the toilet if you tried 4-5 times. We know that there are better rooms than this, be lucky if you get a room inside the hotel without the view, cause they are better - or be even luckier if you end up at their sister hotel which is located next door that seems to have a comletely different standard. This is a 4 star hotel, but I'd give it 2 stars at best! When you eat breakfast they never refill anything and you have to be there early to get anything at all, but since most of it is uneatable, it probably doesn't matter. All ppl in our group that got rooms by the pool complained, some had their lamps flickering or not working at all, and some didn't have any working refrigerator. The staff is helpful and friendly though and the surrounding area is great as well as a nice pool, but this doesn't help I'm afraid! And on top of it, the walls are so thin that you're bound to get woken up in the middle of the night by the shoutings from the mosque in the village. Not recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get a room inside the hotel, avoide these close to the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVirtual1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
470 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We were told that this was a "boutique" hotel, but it's not. It's quite a large place, appearing to be actually two separate hotels trading together as one. We stayed here for three nights in early March, which is outside normal season, as part of an RDS tour of Capaddocia. The place is built into the hill-side, so there's quite a few steps, ramps and levels etc, although we did not spot a lift. We were the first people to stay in our "wing" this year and it showed. The rooms had been (just) cleaned & refurbished. We could still smell paint & carpet cleaner/ shampoo. The room was icy cold, despite the radiators being on. We had to put the air/ con on max heat, but it took nearly 24 hours for it to really thaw out. We had no curtains, and it took them two attempts over two days to fix this properly. The rooms are OK, but the bathroom small. They are like stone cells or large caves, rather than the usual box shape, which make them more interesting. The food is OK - selection & quality being adequate, but not terrific. At breakfast there's no cooked eggs or omelettes (other than hardf-boiled). The place overall is OK - it looks better at first than it really delivers. Staff are helpful & friendly. The setting is interesting. Good location for touring several attractions in this part of Capaddocia. Enjoyed it, but three days was enough.

Room Tip: Disabled travellers need to be aware of the steps, slopes & levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siedlce, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2013

it is a charming place, quiet and recommended highly especially for couples.It's a great place to explore mushroom rock or underground towns. They can also arrange balloon . I personally charmed the place and would gladly return. Spectacular views especially in the morning and an amazing mood music highlighted the evening.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannahmiriamola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Stayed here in January when cold - and blocks of ice in pools!
Supposedly offered a good room, but in old wing which was very dated. Bit of a maze to find reception and restaurant. Let down by poor food - bland and warm at best. Despite complaining to tour rep. and Manager, no improvement in heated food.
Good location for ballooning in area though.

Room Tip: From pictures above Reception area, definitely the new wing much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISD_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgas, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

First of all - This is far east Turkey, so "4 stars" has specific meaning. I think that this hotel is one of the best in Capadocia, but do not expect too much. Hotel is on Half board basis, because there is no bars and restaurants in the vilage. If you like nightlife this vilage is not for you, but there is only 3 kilometers to Urgup where you can find a lots of bars and pubs. Staff is polite, food is very good. Nice base to explore Capadocia!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_Kostov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

....with lots of stairs and no lifts. Two pools with attractive terraces. A pleasant dining room with generous breakfast and evening buffets. Efficient management. Free wi-fi. But older rooms are ridiculously small, rather tired and have small beds and half a bath. Newer rooms (4-digit numbers from 1000) are of a standard size. The hotel appears to be mainly geared to groups.

Room Tip: Insist on one of the newer rooms - numbered above 1000
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeathfieldChiswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.0 mi away
Dinler Hotels – Urgup
0.0 mi away
Elif Stone House
Elif Stone House
#24 of 65 in Urgup
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melis Cave Hotel
Melis Cave Hotel
#42 of 65 in Urgup
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dilek Kaya Hotel
Dilek Kaya Hotel
#9 of 17 in Ortahisar
177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yusuf Yigitoglu Konagi
Yusuf Yigitoglu Konagi
#31 of 65 in Urgup
167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burcu Kaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burcu Kaya Hotel

Property: Burcu Kaya Hotel
Address: Ortahisar Beldesi Ortahisar, Urgup 50650, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Burcu Kaya Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Burcu Kaya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burcu Kaya Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing