We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Burcu Kaya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Burcu Kaya Hotel
Ranked #45 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 27 October 2009

I reaaly enjoyed the experience in this hotel. Is out of everything, so, if you are there you need a car to go everywhere, but the hotel is a little gem, with nice food and a beatiful architeture.
Is not a cave hotel but the building is completly insert in the cappadocia landscape.
In the pool and also from some rooms is possible to have a view from rock mountains. Breakfast is glorious and at night is possible to have a dinner in the restaurant, a very honest buffett.
Rooms are quite small and they tried to reproduce a cave, is cute.
The outdoor area is great with a great garden and a small fontain.
If you can, go to the small village right down the hotel, is fantastic to see a real turkish life, with the mens tea house, small shops, and normal people (not tourists) on the streets.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aleteles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    54
    28
    11
    12
See reviews for
35
44
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

It’s not a cave hotel, as they’ve advertised themselves to be. They've just built it to look like one, but it's very much free-standing. It’s also not located in Urgup, as their address shows online. It’s actually located in a satellite city of Urgup, called Ortahisar, located 6km away. Ortahisar has little to speak for…with virtually no entertainment for tourists in the evenings. There seems to be more tractors than cars, and no restaurants or cafes. Getting to the relative conveniences of Ugrup requires either taking a taxi or a bus. Busses supposedly run every 20 minutes from another hotel just a block down the road, but we waited for 30 minutes, and never saw a bus arrive. Instead, we walked into Ortahisar town and caught a taxi. A taxi ride costs about 15 TYL, either flat or by meter.

The hotel seems a bit old, and musty smelling. The bathroom could use an upgrade, and overhaul to prevent dripping water in places. The courtyard out front and the pool area are quite nice to relax in, however. The staff are friendly, and pretty helpful when you need any assistance. The man whom I believe is the hotel manager, however, comes off as a pushy salesperson, always trying to up-sell us on "nicer" and more expensive tour options. Every offer of assistance coming from him felt like he saw it as another option to make some extra cash.

A stay in this hotel usually includes both breakfast and dinner. However, the dinner buffet isn't spectacular... We actually tried it once, and then left the hotel for dinner the next day. Breakfast is fairly standard across Turkey, although they did offer an omelet cooking stand, which is, admittedly, pretty nice.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kungpao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Vic. Australia
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

Adequate average hotel with nothing really outstanding other than its view, if you have a poolside room, which we did.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blossom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Hotel is close to the main tourist attractions. Most are within 10 mins drive. Don't be fooled by the smallish hotel gate entrance as it opens up into a garden.

We stayed two nights in twin room 201 which was located in a corner near the flight of steps beside the lobby. Not for elderly if you are staying on upper floors as there are no elevators.

Rooms are comfortable but on the smallish side which makes walking a little difficult. The rooms have high ceiling with rough stony walls which made us feel like we are in an ancient cave which suits the atmosphere and landscape of Kapadokya. Furniture are painted in dark colour that made it antique looking. Umm, how to put it? A sense of age perhaps.

During our stay, we notice that the hotel receive many tour groups and the restaurant was usually crowded with many tables reserved for the groups so finding a seat can be difficult.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zutzut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

This was a great hotel. It was built to fit the terrian of the area. The catherdal ceilings in the hallways and rooms where nice. The rooms were a bit small but comfortable, clean, food great, staff friendly and helpful. Beautiful area and gret sights

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBIRDMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2009

I had a pleasurable stay in Burcu Kaya Hotel. The size of the rooms were ample (I was given a twin room while the other members in our group had smaller double rooms). The heating in my room was perfectly working (although the other members in our group had problems with their heater). The bed was comfortable. The room and bathroom were clean. All rooms have small ancient but perfectly working tv's. The hotel had separate wings for twin rooms and double rooms.

All their rooms were patterned after caves. The ceilings of the rooms are curved in a half cylindrical shape. Their style is a cross between caves and a usual hotel room.

Another big plus with this hotel is the excellent service of the staff. The porters were very prompt in bringing up and down the bags. Front desk was also helpful. They lent me a plug adaptor. They are also efficient. They would also always ask about our timings (breakfast, luggage out, wake-up call, dinner).

The only odd thing about this hotel was that the rooms which have adjacent washrooms could faintly hear each other. I reckon that this was largely due to the design of the washroom vents in which the adjacent rooms share with. This is perfectly okay if you know the person at the other room. It might annoy others though who might not know their adjacent neighbor.

The location of this hotel is also good in that it is right beside the town brimming with shops and restaurants. It is only 5 min driving from the Goreme Open Air Museum. Other tourist spots are also within short driving distance away.

This ain't a 5-star hotel but if you are willing and game to experience living in cave hotel with comfortable amenities, clean rooms and excellent and attentive staff, then this is the hotel for you in Cappadocia.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourist_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.0 mi away
Dinler Hotels – Urgup
0.0 mi away
Elif Stone House
Elif Stone House
#24 of 65 in Urgup
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melis Cave Hotel
Melis Cave Hotel
#42 of 65 in Urgup
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dilek Kaya Hotel
Dilek Kaya Hotel
#9 of 17 in Ortahisar
177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yusuf Yigitoglu Konagi
Yusuf Yigitoglu Konagi
#31 of 65 in Urgup
167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burcu Kaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burcu Kaya Hotel

Property: Burcu Kaya Hotel
Address: Ortahisar Beldesi Ortahisar, Urgup 50650, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Burcu Kaya Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Burcu Kaya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burcu Kaya Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing