We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, but....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temenni Evi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Temenni Evi Hotel
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok, but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

Our room was kind of dark and simply decorated , but with good taste. A small TV set would do no harm!. Attention: tour busses cannot reach the hotel (narrow, steep and slippery streets). The same goes for strollers, wheelchairs, etc. You'll depend on taxis and/or hotel owners to drive you/pick you up 'main street' ( I have my thumb on a cast, due to a fall on a day we walked down the streets). Our room had twin beds. When we requested a queen bed, the owner promptly promised us one for the following day. To our surprise, they put the 2 twins together (we could have done that ourselves!). Too much taragon and spices, so we skipped our second dinner there. Extremely quiet, perfect if you want to relax. Nice rooftop terrace with gorgeous view! Best linens in the world! Staff tries to be friendly, but occasionally lacks sincerity.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarciaSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    42
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
52
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

As a first time visitor to the Cappodocia region we were intrigued by the concept of a Cave Hotel. Unlike others in the region, the Temenni Evi lived to its description. The rooms were suprisingly airy, bright, and spacious. We found the breakfasts to be a hearty start to often physical days of hiking the gorgeous terrain.

Furthermore, the owner Saadi was incredibly helpful and personable. After a friendly conversation during our second evening at the Temenni Evi, Saadi offered to upgrade us (for free) the following evening. Although our existing room was great, the Suite he put us in was amazing (and would be great for a family of 4). In addition, you often see the best or worst in someone when problems arise. Since we are traveling for a few weeks, we asked Saadi (the evening before a morning flight) whether his hotel could wash some laundry last minute. Saadi obliged but, an issue arose with the dryer that morning. To rectify our predicament, Sadi and his team worked overtime to help us dry our clothes before our flight and then personally drove us 45 minutes to the airport.

We would definitely stay there again and highly recommend Temenni Evi hotel for anyone looking to stay in the Cappdocia region. The food is good, the rooms are terrific, and the service is exceptional. Oh, also ask Saadi to see the romantic dinner spot in the hotels own ´Underground City´.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelsonduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

We visited Temmenni Evi (the House of Wishes) at the beginning of july. It has a magical character, and a wonderful location with views across the city from its rooftop restaurant. The rooms are stuffed with character and well apppointed, in a quirky way. The food was excellent - no choice, but everything was beautifully cooked. The owner was also extremely helpful. Finally, free wireless throughout - chain hotels please note.

Mike, Jane and family

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Turkophile_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

This is a charming cave hotel with all of the amenities in your room that one would want. The rooms are huge with a large bathroom area as well. It is an easy walk into Urgup which has some terrific restaurants and shops. The hotel owner who is on site is extremely helpful and friendly. Arranged tours will pick you up from the hotel. Ask the owner to show you the underground city under the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pbfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2009

We had a lovely time at Temenni Evi on our recent holiday with our 19 year old niece. Our two-room suite suited our needs perfectly, and we all enjoyed the novelty of staying in a cave. We were really impressed by the hospitality of our hosts, the Eraslans. Saadi had a free afternoon while we were there, and took us to a nearby Greek village and a great neighborhood restaurant. As vegetarians, we had some difficulty in Turkey, but not at Temenni Evi. The food was outstanding. The weather was a little chilly during our stay, so we ate indoors, but we were still able to enjoy spectacular views. In fact, one of the best aspects of the hotel is the abundance of great views of the entire city. In warm weather, the outdoor terraces and roof deck are absolutely heavenly. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby_and_Rama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontarıo
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2009

My wife and I stayed at this very nice cave hotel in Urgup for 3 nights in April, 2009. Our room was very spacious with a nice (also spacious) bathroom. The hotel's location, at the top of a hill, affords it some excellent views of Cappadocia's unique landscape.

One of the best features of this hotel is its kitchen. Breakfast at the hotel is quite good and includes some hot dishes as well as the usual olives, cheese and bread. We ate dinner twice at the hotel and both times it was excellent. We ate once in the hotel's regular dining room and a second time in its special, secret cave room. Both meals were delicious, home-cooked dinners with lots of food. The local wine that they serve with dinner is also very good.

The service at this hotel was excellent. Saadattin, the owner, was an excellent host, and Farouk, who helped out with a whole range of tasks from serving us in the dining room to helping us with our luggage, helped make our stay an enjoyable one. When we told Saadatin that we didn't have a laptop to use the room's internet connection, he loaned us one for the duration of our stay. This hotel is not lacking a bit in the area of hospitality.

If you want great views of Cappadocia with some excellent dining, this hotel would be a great choice. And make sure to take advantage of the secret cave dinner.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank World_Travellers2526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2009

A business collegue and I had a free weekend in Turkey before a 2 day business trip in Istambul. Our contact in Istambul had suggested to me Cappadocia as something "out of this world", so inspite of the cold weather, I decided to go there. They booked the hotel for me directly with the owner.
We flew from IST to Nevehsir airport, a 1 hour flight. The son of the hotel owner picked us up at the airport. This was a good sign to me, family business. The owner looking after customers. He drove us to Urdup, the city where the hotel lies, a 45 minute trip from the airport. We arrived and were greeted by his father, the owner of a beautiful property atop a short steepy road in Urdup with beautiful views. It is a hotel built in the hill based on a very old property that was renovated by its owners. The hotel itself is very nice, a great atmosphere. The room I got was #104. The stone ceiling makes it incredible. Its size is adequate for a couple. The bathroom as a nice Jacuzzi which is a great thing after a busy day in the area. The weather was freezing outside, something like -1C, so a hot shower after a long tour day was nice, together with the Jacuzzi.
We also did hot air ballooning with Anatolian Ballons, recommended by the hotel owner and it was an incredible, must do experience. Very serious and responsible people.
The food was amazing too, and we enjoyed every minute of this hotel. I would recommend it for a romantic weekend, for a longer stay in Capadocia, a region outside of this world or for whatever reason brings you there.
If you come on honeymoon or with your beloved one, you definetely must ask for the "secret romantic dinner".

  • Liked — personal care, rooms, views, food
  • Disliked — nothing in particular
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dr_zito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.2 mi away
Meleklerevi Cave Hotel
Meleklerevi Cave Hotel
#24 of 64 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.5 mi away
4ODA Cave House
4ODA Cave House
#22 of 64 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Cave Suites
Golden Cave Suites
#17 of 64 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
0.3 mi away
Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cappadocia Palace
Cappadocia Palace
#9 of 64 in Urgup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temenni Evi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temenni Evi Hotel

Property: Temenni Evi Hotel
Address: Temenni Mah. Temenni Sok. No 7, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Temenni Evi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly romantic, boutique hotel in the heart of Urgup, Cappadocia. For the discerning traveler who loves the charm, warmth and ambiance of an historic building, Temenni Evi Hotel is the most perfect of Cappadocia hotels to stay in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Temenni Evi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temenni Evi Urgup
Temenni Evi Hotel Urgup
Temenni Evi Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing