We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melis Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melis Cave Hotel
Ranked #39 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel!”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Gorgeous hotel with lovely staff. Our room was very clean and beautiful. The breakfast buffet was delicious with a variety of Turkish food. The pool was great and the perfect place to cool off after a day of sight seeing. The hotel is walkable distance to the commerical area of Urgup.
Would most definitely recommend Melis Hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamstoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    22
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
33
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seevetal, Germany
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Ürgüp is a great place to stay and an ideal point of departure to the many interesting places in Cappadocia. It is a busy little town where you still get the feeling of rural Turkish life, despite the many tourists. As this Cappadocia a very touristic area, the hotel prices are quite high and not always good value for money...

We stayed for 7 days at Melis Hotel and had quite a nice time there. All in all we enjoyed it there, as it is a very nice place within a wonderful garten, however, there were a few buts:

Positive:
- Great location.
- Just a few minutes walk from the town centre.
- Very close to the main road, but no noise could be heared from the street.
- Nice rooms.
- Very friendly staff.
- Lovely garden.
- Great breakfast in the beautiful garden or at the pool area.
- Refreshing pool, though the water was too cold.
- Free computer for guests to use.

Negative:
- Constant loud background music (areas etc. - not everyones taste)
- There were a lot of construction works going on and in addition to the permanent loud music the
continuous sounds of hammering and sawing had to be endured.
- One of the dogs was not always happy to be on the leash and barked a lot in the evenings.
- The bathrooms are very sparsely equipped.
- The amplified calls to prayers from the nearby mosque in the middle of the night were annoying.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christiane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Staffs are nice and very friedndly yet not many speak good English. Little Turkish language will make your stay much more enjoyable. The hotel is not far from center of Urgup. I would love to stay the hotel again.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank waterboy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We rented a "cave room" which turned out to be upstairs in the main building. It was not what I expected from a "cave" hotel. We returned to our room in the evening and it was very, very warm. I told the management that I could not stay there for my entire reserved time, he put us in the cave suite (extra charge of course). Those rooms are very nice with large bathroom. The location in Urgup is good and I would recommend this place only if you reserved the cave suite.
The breakfast was minimal at best. Coffee/tea, bread, watermelon, cheese and olives. With the wide array of fruit in the market, I expected to see some in the mornings. The last morning we just paid for breakfast in town. I didn't like the frequent urging to have them book tours and balloon rides with them. Wireless was sporadic and only worked next to their computer, not in the rooms or by the pool.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FLCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

we live in a large city right next to Cappadocia, so have spent many weekends there. When I arrived, the owner tried to sell me tours. Because I've spent so much time in Cappadocia, nothing new was on offer. I politely refused and then asked how we could hike Zemi (Love) Valley. He, who had grown up in Urgup, said he'd never heard of it. Well, try the tourist brochures at the Visitors' Center. They told me exactly how to get to Zemi Valley. Needless to say, that encounter with the owner left a bitter after taste.

The other mixed reaction I had was the music. There was a large sound system hooked up to deliver music throughout the gardens and pool. Some of it was absolutely fascinating and transporting (a haunting symphonic rendition of the national anthem, ballads instrumentalized, opera overtures and arias) but then, there was the throbbing disco beat at night, under our window...

Bad stuff aside, the pool was beautiful and deeply refreshing, given the heat. It was a gem. The prices were reasonable. The rest of the staff were very attentive and helpful. The garden, where breakfast was served, was lovely and peaceful. The family had an absolutely wonderful golden retriever my son fell in love with. The location is a short, easy walk to the center of Urgup. The walk also takes you right by the local hammam (Turkish bath). It's mixed gender, so we screwed up our courage and got massages and soap scrubs for roughly $16 each. Lots of fun and a good massage. Our room was a decent size and the beds were fine.
Would we go again? Sure, but we'd ask for a room away from the sound system.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuieKnife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We stayed two nights at this hotel. They had a lovely garden and outdoor sitting area. the rooms we had were spacious and the beds were comfortable. the rooms didnt have very good lighting at night. The bathrooms were quite small and not well made.
they had a nice pool
my main problem with this place is the cleaning. they did very basic cleaning, not up to hotel standards. for example, we had a dead moth on the room floor and one in the bathroom, and they came in to do the 'room cleaning' - moths were still there.
there were no nets on the windows and no airconditioning, but the rooms was still pretty cool.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meemomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2009

My spouse and I stayed for a total of three nights in early October. It was fabulous. We stayed in Room 120, a cave room with lots of room (and a jacuzzi--which we did use). Although I am generally not too picky about room decorations, the decor was distinct and fabulous. During the four days we were there, we did two and a half days of sight-seeing. In the evenings, we did a touristy "Turkish Night" (turned out to be excellent--not a rip-off; hotel provided free rides back and forth), hot-air balloon, and a 20 TL Turkish Bath (about 5 minute walk from the hotel). In addition, we went shopping. First for a jacket because it was colder than I anticipated (owner of Melis hotel, Murat, took me to the clothing store!!!), bought and ate lots of yummy dried fruits. Sitting by the poolside and enjoying chay both during breakfast and at the end of the day was delightful. All in all, Melis Hotel turned out to be a fabulous base for Cappadocia. We like it so much, we will return soon to use it as a base every time we go the the Middle East. It felt like home. Our next planned trip is to Eastern Turkey and the Mediterranean Turkey, followed by a trip to Iran. In both cases, we will certainly drop by Melis and "relax". That is how good our experience was.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseySisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.1 mi away
Cappadocia Abras Cave Hotel
0.3 mi away
Yusuf Yigitoglu Konagi
Yusuf Yigitoglu Konagi
#35 of 65 in Urgup
158 reviews
3.1 mi away
Magic Cave House
Magic Cave House
#14 of 65 in Urgup
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Surban
Hotel Surban
#46 of 65 in Urgup
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asia Minor Hotel
Asia Minor Hotel
#37 of 65 in Urgup
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melis Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melis Cave Hotel

Property: Melis Cave Hotel
Address: Istiklal Caddesi No: 75, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#27 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Melis Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Melis Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melis Hotel Urgup
Melis Cave Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing