We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask to stay in one of the cave rooms”
Review of Melis Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melis Cave Hotel
Ranked #40 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ask to stay in one of the cave rooms”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here as part of a tour and it was lovely. There is a pool with sun loungers, a large grass area with tables and chairs and the grounds are beautiful. We were lucky enough to get a cave room which slept 5 (we had 4 people in the room) and it was lovely and cool. We had a huge bathroom with spa bath and a separate shower. The room is not very well lit but it adds to the cave feeling.

Others on our tour were in rooms by the pool or upstairs and said the room was very hot, so if it's summer try to get a cave room.

The hotel is around a 10 minute walk to the centre of town where there are heaps of restaurants and shops.

The breakfast was a buffet of bread, cheese, salads, olives, spreads, cereal and fruit. The water is very expensive at 5 lira for a large bottle, where in town you can get the same for 1 lira, but it was convenient to have a bar at the hotel when we did run out of water.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kez_from_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    22
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
34
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Grounds are beautiful, food acceptable and medicare, owner friendly and interesting and meeting Iness, one of the young men who is working there, was a highlight of our trip. He was so helpful and inspiring with his story. Only complaint is the mattress for 70 year olds was a challenge at best, other than that it was a great place and very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel52024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I was booked into the Melis hotel through my hotel in Istanbul, I was there for two nights, and had a room beside the pool. The rooms were large, well catered for, and servicing was great. The breakfast provided was a large buffet, the only complaint ( and this was rather turkey wide) was the use of Instant coffee ( why oh why when the Turkish coffee is so good?)....

The setting is idyllic, large grounds, bar set in the gardens, table tennis and swinging chairs and two wonderful large friendly labradors that wonder around and will take your attention if you are willing to give it. It's very clear that a lot of work goes into maintaining and keeping the place looking so good.

The staff are helpful and friendly and will make suggestions and recommendations if requested.

I imagine that the original "cace" part of the hotel would be just as inviting in the cold months.

I had a great time there and I would go again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwinui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights as part of a tour of Cappadocia, and were lucky enough to get one of the cave rooms. What a delight! Besides the unique ambiance, all room facilities were excellent, no complaints on anything.

There are lovely spacious garden areas adjoining the pool, and we had many of our meals there. Breakfasts and Dinners were buffet style, and offered a good, but not spectacular, variety.

If you are a dog lover, like us, then the owner's two labs are a delight, and always ready for a rub and a pat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graemef23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I loved this haven. Top notch place to rest a weary head. Beautiful greek house that provided a relaxing ambiance, felt like home. Upon arrival, our backs were transported to our rooms, which overlooked a well maintained pool and scenic gardens. Although we arrived quite late, supper was provided with beautiful mezzes to choose from, even the owner came over to welcome us. A fire was ablaze to warm us, they even provided pashminas whilst we sat in the garden.Breakfast is enjoyed in the well manicured gardens with two gorgeous dogs frisking about; Buddy and Barden. Beautiful music floats through the gardens throughout the day; simply fantastic. Service excellent, even complimentary slippers after staying in hostels and the likes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel is the the most fantastic little oasis where you can relax, eat nice Turkish food and see lovely birds every day. The grounds and the rooms are lovely but unfortunately this was completely negated by the terrible mattress on the bed. We stayed in a standard double room (there is a shower only) and you could feel the springs through the mattress. I had a similar experience in Asia but would not expect a mattress of such poor quality in Turkey. In fact, the hostel where we stayed in Istanbul had a much better quality bed than the one I had to sleep on at this hotel. When we complained to staff as soon as we checked in the gentlemen apologized with his hand on his chest and said that all of the beds in all the rooms are the same. We were so disheartened especially since we were with a tour group and stuck at the hotel for three nights. What could be a top rated hotel for us, became a typical 2.5/3 star European hotel room experience. The breakfast was just ok; nice preserves, honey, some cake and bread, hard boiled egg, watermelon and orange, the typical Turkish meats and cheeses, olives, yoghurt, dried apricots, raisins, tea and instant coffee. There was no variety on the three mornings we were there either, everything was the same and no water or juice. They did not provide bottled water in the rooms either and they charged 4 Lyra for it! You can buy one in town for only 1 Lyra, but it is a 10 minute walk downhill and then you have to walk back uphill. There Apis not a kettle in the room either. The speakers for prayer are every four hours and it was the loudest I have ever heard at an accommodation and we have been to several Muslim countries that have the call to prayer over loud speakers. The worst was at around 4:00 am, it is so loud that it sounds like there is a speaker inside the room! So in all, for a daytime visit on a nice day it would surely be nice and relaxing, but to stay there is another reality. They absolutely have some work to do. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone I cared about. Perhaps the expensive suites have better beds but that is not something I can comment on.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karaj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

It has a perfect breakfast with warm hospitality.
The cave rooms was nice.
It has good environment especially in night time.
The city tour was connected with this hotel and it was expensive and unpleasant. This tour was mostly business tour for them-self instead of city tour!


Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Saeid Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.1 mi away
Cappadocia Abras Cave Hotel
0.2 mi away
Asia Minor Hotel
Asia Minor Hotel
#37 of 65 in Urgup
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cove Cappadocia
The Cove Cappadocia
#41 of 65 in Urgup
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Cappadocia
0.3 mi away
Elif Stone House
Elif Stone House
#24 of 65 in Urgup
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melis Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melis Cave Hotel

Property: Melis Cave Hotel
Address: Istiklal Caddesi No: 75, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#27 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Melis Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Melis Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melis Hotel Urgup
Melis Cave Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing