We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swanky cave hotel”
Review of Alfina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alfina Hotel
Ranked #36 of 67 Hotels in Urgup
Reviewed 14 June 2013

A 300 yr old hill made into a swanky cave hotel was definitely what we wanted to stay at while in Urgup. It has natural air conditioning The rooms are very cool in summer and stay warm during the winter.

Lovely place to be put up at.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zarah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

The place is built on the side of a hill. One gets a great view of this place from the road, as one enters Urgup.

They have a gorgeous view, clean and well done rooms, also very spacious. The staff was great, in service and also hospitality. The kitchen did a great job in meeting our travel food needs. They had good collection of Cappadocian wine at reasonably price.

The town is 7 minutes walk from the hotel. This was one of our favorite hotels from our 1st trip to Turkey. My wife is clear, if we get another chance to visit, we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the top floor does not have good WIFI connectivity. The Suites at the end are great place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kurmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Very attractive and built into the side of a mountain, this "cave" hotel is cooler in summer and warmer in winter. The rooms are nice, with wall decorations carved into the soft natural rock walls. Very different than your usual hotel. Only downside is lack of an elevator. The hotel had a nice breakfast setup and at dinner, the excellent bottles of Cappadocian wine were reasonably priced. Also I was very impressed with the laundry service. Affordable and things came back not just clean, but unwrinkled and nicely folded. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mineralz111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I had the room with the smallest window deepest set into the cave. REALLY! There is a difference as I saw from the others on the tour. With my claustrophobia, I had the door wide open both nights there. NOT the most pleasant of experiences. It is very poorly lit to begin with and the bathroom has absolutely no window. Thus, I did not adore this at ALL. The place is attractive and luckily we were so busy on tour that we didn't spend all that much time at the hotel itself. Breakfast was ok but the least attractive and sumptuous of all the trips hotels.

Room Tip: Ask about windows in room if you, too, have claustrophic issues. As we were on a tour of 12 others I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank sfoshila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

After a long time stayed at a hotel which was superbly built and great service. This hotel is built along the caves and very nicely done rooms. We had a small living room and the bedroom. pretty spacious overall. Their restaurant is nice with good a-la-carte choices. If you are in cappadocia - there can be no better hotel to stay at than this one.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShabbirMerchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

While there are many 'tourist' hotels in the Cappadocia region, you can't get any more authentic than this one. Built in the side of a mountain, it provides an extravagant feeling of roominess with it's extra large granite bathrooms, large seating areas and large but cozy bedrooms. The cafeteria style breakfasts are included with an excellent selection of foods, both hot and cold. Note that while TV, room safe and internet are all provided, the internet connection is not possible on the higher floors assuming due to the rock formation interference. Absolutely a great place to stay that provides luxury while still affording a cave dwelling feel of the region!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RetiredTraveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Our family of 6 stayed in this hotel in January this year as part of a tour package. We were the only six in the hotel that 2 nights. The restaurant had good breakfast and the waiter there was really really funny and accommodating. Doors are opened by electronic keycard. The only bad point I had was that in the middle of the night at 2am, my door was opened using a keycard by someone and I woke up because the beep was quite loud. Thankfully my door was latched and I had put a chair blocking the door from opening further. The next morning, I went to the reception to asked whether my door was opened in the middle of the night and the reception guy said that as there was a change of shift and the previous guy forgot to inform him that there was someone in that room(quite funny especially since we were the only people there.) and he needed to show a room to a couple who came in the middle of the night. He apologised more than once for that. Other than that, it was a nice place to stay at.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoshT_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.4 mi away
The Cappadocia Hotel
The Cappadocia Hotel
#29 of 67 in Urgup
53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Selcuklu Evi
Selcuklu Evi
#27 of 67 in Urgup
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kemerhan Cave Suites
Kemerhan Cave Suites
#1 of 67 in Urgup
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
MDC Hotel
MDC Hotel
#7 of 67 in Urgup
966 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel
0.4 mi away
Yusuf Yigitoglu Konagi
Yusuf Yigitoglu Konagi
#32 of 67 in Urgup
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfina Hotel

Address: Karagandere Mah. Istiklal Cad. No: 89, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
#25 Family Hotel in Urgup
#26 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: £61 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alfina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely restored cave hotel in Cappadocia, Urgup. Some rooms dating back 300 years, cozy bar and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Alfina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfina Hotel Urgup
Alfina Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing