We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bijou cave house with warm welcome”
Review of Serinn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Serinn
Ranked #30 of 68 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Access to Urgup is easy from Kayseri airport, with fast roads and dual carriageways.
Serinn House is a small bijou hotel, developed from the ancient remains of previous dwellings carved out of the soft volcanic rocks the area's famous for. Location is ideal, on a hill, with views over the surrounding countryside and just a short stroll from Urgup town.
We had a very warm welcome from the owner and her staff and were greeted with cool drinks in the peaceful courtyard. But even before arrival we were spoiled by having our transfer from the airport arranged and a guided tour suggested and booked. Nothing was too much trouble for Ms Serpen who was knowledgeable, full of ideas of what to do and ready to make bookings on our behalf.
Rooms were comfortable and cool with plenty of fresh water provided daily. Breakfasts were served on the terrace, from where one can see for miles. They were excellent, with a broad range of choices including very good coffee, fresh fruits, cereals, cheeses and freshly baked cakes and specialities, and It was easy to linger, just watching the sun rise.
This is a hotel that feels like home.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

The service from Serinn House begins before you arrive with Eren's attentiveness and warmth, she asks if you need any transports or if you need her to help you book tours. As I have read in various places online and on tripadvisor, Eren is indeed very knowledgeable about the region and she can help you put together a great Cappadocian itinerary, which is what she helped us do, and it was awesome. She will also arrange for airport transfer if needed.

Serinn House is as its name suggests, a cozy house with 5 guest rooms, each with a unique layout and interior design. The rooms are spacious yet cozy and comfortable, and have a modern/ minimalist interior. The cave rooms, which like other cave hotels, can get quite warm but thankfully Serinn has air conditioning installed in the rooms.

Eren and her staff go out of their way to ensure everyone feels right at home, in fact if you have any type of breakfast preferences and make note of it, Eren will do her very best to ensure its on the table the next day. Speaking of, the breakfast is very delicious and its home made! They even cook quite authentic Turkish breakfast dishes, and change it up everyday. Eren is extremely helpful, attentive and cheerful and simply wants guests to feel comfortable, at home and relaxed. She is great to talk to about Cappadocia and Turkey, and will even join you for some wine or dinner at one of two very delicious restaurants in downtown Urgup, Ziggy's and Han Ciragan. Urgup itself is a bit further away from the main attractions of Cappadocia, but it also feels less touristy and more local.

This hotel is definitely worth the value, especially for the service and comfort you get. I'd recommend this for solo, couples, families, friends and travellers of all sorts. It is a very relaxing, homey/ comfortable, and local yet modern accommodation in Cappadocia.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Before we arrived at Serinn House, Eren got in touch with us and asked when our flights landed and departed, if we were interested in any tours, and if we wanted to go on a hot air balloon ride. After going through many options, Eren arranged a tour, a hot air balloon ride, as well as rides to and from the airport. We knew right away that we were in good hands.

When we first booked our room at Serinn House, we were a little nervous, as the hotel informed us that they did not require a credit card to hold the room. Eren, the hotel owner, just e-mailed us and said she trusted that we would show up. Sure enough, our room was waiting for us when we arrived.

We stayed at Serinn House for two nights. We arrived in the evening at around 8:00, and we were greeted by Eren at the gate. Immediately after showing us our room, Eren mentioned that many restaurants may not be open much longer, so she was going to drive us to her favorite place to make sure we got to eat. Never in my life has an owner of a hotel offered to drive me to dinner. We were impressed.

We had a great meal at Ziggy's Cafe (http://www.ziggycafe.com/), and the view there is phenomenal. There were people there from all over the world, and all of the staff there spoke English well.

Our room at Serinn House was simply decorated, but everything was very clean, and the cave atmosphere was charming. Eren allowed us to look into two rooms and pick whichever we liked best, as both were available. (The other room was also clean, charming, and simply decorated.) The bathrooms were surprisingly modern for being inside caves, and the shower was more spacious than what we had at other hotels around Turkey.

Breakfast was great, and there are pancakes and eggs to order along with the typical spread. Fresh-squeezed orange juice is also available, as are Turkish coffee and tea. (Complementary tea and coffee were also served to us later in the afternoon when we returned from tours.) The view from the breakfast area is gorgeous, and it was a wonderful way to wake up.

Although we spent most of the days outside the hotel, the patio is a great place to sit and read for a while. The wireless connection is great, and there is no charge to get online.

All in all, our experience at Serinn House was lovely, and we would absolutely recommend it to friends in the future.

Room Tip: Photos of all of the rooms are on the hotel website. The pictures are accurate, so just pick whiche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The breakfasts and service really stand out from our stay at Serinn House. Every morning we were treated to fresh fruits, cheese and jams and homemade Turkish specialties. All the previous positive reviews are completely accurate, and count mine in as well! Eren and her staff were helpful without hoovering (especially the gentleman, I cannot remember his name, but he was so wonderful!). An excellent value (our room was upgraded, but even still), cozy but chic environment (maybe a few Ikea furnishings here and there, but I didn't let it bother me), and truly kind service. My only complaint was the window in front of our bed did not have a thick enough shade and the early morning light woke us up, but otherwise, a wonderful stay at Serinn House!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem great, so if you want to save money go for a less expensive room, it's still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

nice cozy hotel, very friendly staff!!
they really made an effort to make my stay very comfortable, and pleasant!!

the homemade breakfast, really made the mornings feel better than they were.

two thumbs up, highly reccomend!!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank LeoK79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Fantastic! Luxurious, peaceful, friendly, tasteful and they have a Çem! Çem, the boutique hotel’s Man Friday will ensure that your stay is perfect. When I asked for directions to a camera shop as I was having a problem with my camera charger, he provided me with a map and pointed me in the right direction. I’d only walked a few minutes when he caught up with me in the car and drove me there, explaining to the proprietor of the shop what was wrong. They needed an hour to sort it out, so I left the camera at the shop and went out for the day. When I arrived back, Çem had already been to collect it for me – and example of how nothing is too much trouble for a team which is determined to do all they can for you. Breakfast on the sunny balcony is memorable, not only for the view, but also the quality of the food. We could only stay 2 nights, but would have loved to spend longer in such a superb place.

Room Tip: They are all excellent - take pot luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niel-Wolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

...and the reason I say that is because you truly won't be disappointed with Serinn House. From start to finish, the entire staff with Erin were incredibly hospitable, professional and kind. The property is small, warm. the rooms and simple, modern - a nice difference from the over-rugged places in the area. the breakfast variety was fantastic and fresh. My boyfriend got severe food poisoning (not from Serinn) and was laid up for 2 of the 3 days. They went out of their way to purchase appropriate foods, replenish our water bottle supply, offered to take me to town (to relieve me of of watching him moaning in bed) and for our early morning departure, give us fresh baked biscotti and fruit for the road. And let's be honest, it's about the major threes when choosing a hotel, right? Service, cleanliness and location. Serinn House hits all those and more.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jyc510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.1 mi away
Acropolis Cave Suite
Acropolis Cave Suite
#8 of 68 in Urgup
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Assiana House
Assiana House
#39 of 68 in Urgup
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
4ODA Cave House
4ODA Cave House
#11 of 68 in Urgup
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Cave Suites
Golden Cave Suites
#17 of 68 in Urgup
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elif Stone House
Elif Stone House
#21 of 68 in Urgup
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elkep Evi Cave Hotel
Elkep Evi Cave Hotel
#41 of 68 in Urgup
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serinn

Address: Esbelli Sok. No: 36, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#13 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: £49 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a fresh perspective on the stunning Cappadocia skyline, discover the new Serinn Hotel, a unique boutique cave hotel that incorporates cutting-edge design with the intimacy of the natural caves. Nestling in the heart of Urgup, Cappadocia, with magnificent views of the town and surrounding mountains, the Serinn is a stylish hotel with just five guest rooms. Elegantly furnished rooms have been designed for your utmost comfort with sumptuous beds draped with fine cotton linens, fluffy towels and custom-made toiletries, as well as seamlessly integrated modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Serinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serinn House Hotel Urgup
Serinn Hotel Urgup
Serinn Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing