We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay in an authentic cave”
Review of Assiana House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Assiana House
Ranked #38 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Old Tappan, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay in an authentic cave”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We were accommodated here as part of a tour with Package Tours Turkey. The best part was our treatment by the owners, Mevlut and Suna. Suna cooked an excellent dinner and breakfast for us. The room and bath were average. but I think that is what you have to expect when you sleep in a cave. I found the hotel a little remote and would have preferred being in the town of Goreme.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriette7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
56
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Mevlut and Suna have a wonderful cave hotel at the top of the hill in Urgup. It's got about seven rooms, a great terrace, and a cave dining room with stoves for colder days. They're very accommodating hosts and they put on a great breakfast. Will definitely look them up again when I return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We were with a small tour group. One of our team didn't want to climb the stairs to the top level, so we got an upgraded room. It was nicely decorated and large, with a sitting room. The shower was very large and complicated, and we never quite did figure it out. The staff was friendly and the breakfasts were good. We went to a restaurant that was fairly close and within walking distance. There were a couple good shops with reasonable prices and good merchandise on the way to the restaurant. The hotel would have made us dinner one night, but not at the time that we needed dinner. It sounded like a fun idea to have dinner there and we would have tried it if it worked with our schedule.

Nice view also from the hotel of the surrounding hills etc. Quiet hotel and serene.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgierocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed one week in Assiana cave house in August with two young children. The room was very very nice and the hosts wonderful. Mevlut and his wife were very kind and help us for everything. The breakfast on the roof terrace is sumptous!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in July (but of 2010). For the first day/night, I was the only guest at the hotel. I arrived very late at night, and the owner's son greeted me and helped me with my bags. The owner, Mevlut, was extremely welcoming as well. He allowed me to use the computer in the office to email my family, letting them know I had arrived safely (I was traveling alone).

The breakfast was AMAZING! The spread was so extravagant considering I was the only guest, and I felt kind of guilty for not eating everything, but it was just impossible, though I did take bread for later.

The cave room was immaculate. It was my favorite hotel in my Turkey trip, so beautiful and unique. I felt like I was a world away.

Which brings me to the hot air balloon ride during my last day there. I was picked up at 4am at the hotel, and when it was time to board the baskets, instead of being crammed in with 15-20 other people, I was moved to a basket with only 5 people. The gentleman who chose me to move said it was because I was a guest at the Assiana House, and Mevlut is, apparently, a very important person in Urgup, so they treated the guests there quite well. Wow. The experience of being in a basket of only 5 people versus 20 was just awesome. I had room to move around to catch different views.

Anyway, staying here made the overall experience in Cappadocia wonderful. I was treated like a VIP.

The only downside is that the hotel is quite a walk from the city center. The walk down was fine, but when I walked back to the hotel, there was a bit of an incline, so it was tiring. Since I was a female walking alone, I did get a little hassled from a driver, but it was never threatening, just a slowing down of the truck, stare, and minor comment in Turkish, and then he drove off. He was probably just being friendly. Still, if you are a female walking back from the city center, make sure there is plenty of day light left.

The relief of arriving back to my cozy room was immense. I didn't want to leave. This was a place where you'd probably rather stay at the hotel and the vicinity rather than venturing far off, though I did take tours to various places in the region. The next time I visit, though, I think I'd just want to sit and take in the scenery.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingtrtl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Quite simply, the Assiana cannot be topped, so look no further!
From the moment I arrived, I was treated royally by Suna, Mevlut and Fatih - they are the reason I will come back to Urgup! It's impossible to find harder-working people committed to your satisfaction.
OK, as for the accommodation itself: he cave room (#7) that I had. Quite possibly the most romantic hotel I've ever seen. The room was cozy, clean and delightfully comfortable...and the views are top-notch.
Bravo, Assiana!

Room Tip: Cave rooms are unforgettable! Do know that there is no wi-fi in the cave rooms, though, the signal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalaguete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cotswolds, england
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Extremely friendly and helpful hosts without being intrusive. Do dine in if you can to experience the home cooking. Really glad we chose it, and even though our room wasn't technically built into the hillside like most of them it didn't matter. Very relaxing time and a good base for some great organised tours - ballooning over the spectacular scenery as the sun comes up being the undoubted highlight. It will encourage us to seek out a small family run hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brassbander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.1 mi away
Acropolis Cave Suite
Acropolis Cave Suite
#9 of 65 in Urgup
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cappadocia Hotel
The Cappadocia Hotel
#28 of 65 in Urgup
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Elkep Evi Cave Hotel
Elkep Evi Cave Hotel
#40 of 65 in Urgup
198 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Cave Suites
Golden Cave Suites
#20 of 65 in Urgup
156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cave Konak
Hotel Cave Konak
#3 of 65 in Urgup
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Assiana House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assiana House

Property: Assiana House
Address: Esbelli Mah. Dolay Sok. No:1 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#23 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Assiana House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Assiana House is a cave hotel located in the old part of Urgup (Esbelli district), and has 5 rooms with ensuite bathrooms and beautiful decoration. This family run small hotel of Cappadocia makes your stay a memorable and unforgettable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Assiana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Assiana House Hotel Urgup
Assiana Hotel Urgup
Assiana House Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing