We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Cave Room Experience”
Review of Assiana House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Assiana House
Ranked #38 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cave Room Experience”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

On recommendation from our hotel in Ayvali village, we spent a night in a cave room at Assiana House. Despite our short stay, we had a great time at the hotel which has spellbinding terrace views and is beautifully decorated with various artifacts from the region. We found the staff to be very helpful and the manager went out of the way to help us send a gift to one of our tour guides. We stayed in Room 1, which was very huge and had a separate sitting area inside as well as outside the room. It seemed an ideal place to sit and spend time with 3-4 friends. And the cave room reminded me of the caves that we had seen during a trip to the nearby underground city of Kaymakli, with all modern comforts added. We wish that we had more time to spend there.

Room Tip: Room 1 is huge and richly decorated along with a bath tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirmax124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
56
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This hotel was and incredible experience. The owners and staff were wonderful and friendly. The location of the hotel was very safe and a short walk to the main area of restaurants and shops. But the experience of staying in a cave cannot be put into words. If you travel to Turkey you MUST go to this area and stay here.

Room Tip: we had an actual cave for our room. Room #7 if I recall. It was a little damp in the room but we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Burbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

There is a great variety in cave hotels, and this one fitted all our wishes.
Some cave hotels are very authentic (be careful to touch the walls) and some are very luxurious, but most are nicely renovated as ours was.
Most of the times we stay at B&B's, as we like small places where you can ask the host for advice on which day trips to take or what roads to walk in town.

This place met all our wishes, it has a terrace with a beautiful view where it is a joy to have breakfast. And if you are an early bird, the terrace can provide a beautiful place to see the sunrise transforming the valley in a beautiful landscape with a sky filled with almost 100 colorful balloons (depending on the wind).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Henk W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

My incredible cave room with all the luxuries was unbelievable. Everything about it was wonderful and charming. From the staff, the breakfast and even two baby kittens, it could not have been more lovely. Sorry my stay was so short. I plan to return someday.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Labuenanota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Well situated, 15 mins walk from Urgup, with beautiful views over the valley.

Variety breakfast served on sunny terrace.

Free wifi.

Quiet, clean spacious rooms with wonderful personal service from the owner and staff.

Owner acted as tour agent and organised buses etc and even ran us into town in his own car.

Room Tip: Room 4 worked for me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niglom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Tappan, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We were accommodated here as part of a tour with Package Tours Turkey. The best part was our treatment by the owners, Mevlut and Suna. Suna cooked an excellent dinner and breakfast for us. The room and bath were average. but I think that is what you have to expect when you sleep in a cave. I found the hotel a little remote and would have preferred being in the town of Goreme.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriette7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Mevlut and Suna have a wonderful cave hotel at the top of the hill in Urgup. It's got about seven rooms, a great terrace, and a cave dining room with stoves for colder days. They're very accommodating hosts and they put on a great breakfast. Will definitely look them up again when I return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.1 mi away
Acropolis Cave Suite
Acropolis Cave Suite
#9 of 65 in Urgup
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cappadocia Hotel
The Cappadocia Hotel
#33 of 65 in Urgup
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Asuwari Suites Cappadocia
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cave Konak
Hotel Cave Konak
#3 of 65 in Urgup
358 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Cave Suites
Golden Cave Suites
#20 of 65 in Urgup
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Assiana House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assiana House

Property: Assiana House
Address: Esbelli Mah. Dolay Sok. No:1 Urgup Merkez, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
#23 Family Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Assiana House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Assiana House is a cave hotel located in the old part of Urgup (Esbelli district), and has 5 rooms with ensuite bathrooms and beautiful decoration. This family run small hotel of Cappadocia makes your stay a memorable and unforgettable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Assiana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Assiana House Hotel Urgup
Assiana Hotel Urgup
Assiana House Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing