We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Meleklerevi Cave Hotel
Ranked #30 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Victoria, BC, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Meleklerevi Cave Hotel in June of 2012. It was the best place we stayed in Turkey.

We chose a cave room which was called Sevgi. I wasn't sure before we arrived what a cave room would actually be like, but it was well apointed, spacious, clean and a cool refuge from the Cappadocia sun. The cave interior made the room exotic to us as visitors, but also made us understand the essence of Cappadocia. And with a name like Sevgi ....

The bathroom was very modern and certainly would be the envy of any cave dweller in the area. The shower even had body massage jets!

I think the thing that I most remember was how much at home we felt in the Meleklerevi. Arzu and Muammer, the owners and builders of the hotel, are some of the kindest and friendliest people you will ever meet anywhere. If you've been to Turkey, you will know how hospitable the people are; however, Arzu and Muammer take hospitality to a new level. I remember my surprise when Muammer carried our two bags up to the room. It was at least three flights of stairs and a hot day, but he insisted on carrying them, opening the door to the room and showing us around.

The meals are simply magnificent. My wife loves to entertain, so we are not strangers to good food with nice touches. She loved it. We found ourselves lingering over our meal, savouring the new tastes and enjoying the fading sun. What else could you ask for on a vacation?

The hotel's web site tells you a little bit about Arzu and Muammer. Being curious, I asked Muammer why he'd left Istanbul for Urgup, a small town in a somewhat remote part of the country. He said that he wanted a more tranquil life (actually he said that Istanbul was very busy and took a lot of time to commute, which I translate as 'I want something different than haste'); you will find this tranquility and the quality of life it brings in the Meleklerevi hotel.

I'd recommend this hotel to a friend.

Room Tip: There are pictures of each room on the hotel web site. I liked our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Servator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    13
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
41
109
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We were fortunate to stay here for 3 nights in June. Arzu and Muammer are the most special hosts you will ever encounter. They designed and built the hotel and their love and care is everywhere. Muammer showed us the video of the creation of the hotel which was such a special treat. Our room, Sevig (Love) was a cave room with a window so it had light during the day. The room was good sized with a nice sized bathroom. The hotel is multilevel with sitting areas everywhere and a terrace bar overlooking Cappadocia. Breakfast is a huge buffet taken inside or outside. Treat yourself to at least one night of Arzu's gourmet dinner. On our first morning, Muammer sat with us and using his own hand drawn map set up a wonderful sightseeing day (which he repeated again for day 2!). The tour of the pottery factory in Avanos was great. We will definitely be recommending this to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcplanner123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington,DC
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

In July, my husband and were fortunate to stay at the Meleklerevi Cave Hotel in Urgup. We were warmly greeted by our lovely hosts, Arzu and Muammer Erinal. The Erinals came to Urgup from Istanbul to renovate ancient caves which had been a stable until seven years ago. Words can't capture the beauty surrounding this property. The rooms are modernized, but still retain the cave aspects. We awoke each morning to a sumptuous breakfast buffet of local foods as well. as anything else one could want. We ate amid a garden terrace filled with flowers. At dinner, we ate by candlelight, enjoying the Arzu's gourmet cooking and the warmth of the Erinal's friendliness. As stated in the title, we felt like their family. Meleklerevi means house of angels. We can recommend this small hotel wholeheartedly. Also, the central location is convenient to the major sights of Cappadokia

Room Tip: Imthinkmthat all eight rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amieduvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The ower's hospitality made my short stay in Cappadocia unforgettable in my life. As other guests already checked out very early in the morning, I was only one guest left in that morning. So, he kindly took me to several view points in Urgup including Baloon points. Also, I had a chance to have a bite of wild apricot which was so nice, and he also took me to a Turkey Bakery shop for our breakfast, where I had a trully fresh bread which was the best bread I've ever had. Yes, he gave me a surprise morning short tour around Urgup.
In addition to this tour, his wife and his staff were so kind, and my short stay in Meleklereve Cave hotel made my memory in Cappadocia really unforgettable.
The hotel ower is an architect and he designed this cave hotel and several other cave hotels in Urgup. So, it is, not to mention, nice about its facility and atmosphere.
I'd like to stay here again when I have a chance to return Cappadocia!!

Room Tip: This is a boutique hotel with only eight guest rooms. It is said each room is different size and de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiroSayama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This was, by far, the best experience we have ever had at a boutique hotel. Not only were the rooms unique and the grounds enchanting, the owners were genuinely warm and hospitable. They were interesting to talk to and even though I'm sure they've answered our questions hundreds of times before, we felt as if it was being answered for the first time. We only stayed two nights but there were hugs and kisses when we left. A three night stay would be the MINIMUM I would recommend. You can walk to town and there are plenty of restaurants. Make sure you eat one dinner at the hotel because it was wonderful as were the breakfasts!

Room Tip: There are lots of steps, so if that is an issue, request a room on the ground floor. Also if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyinMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2012

we spent 2 nights in Meleklerevi. one of the best hotels we have ever visited. each room has unique design with fireplace. breakfast was marvelous with numerous kind. dinner accompanied by music from old records. best choice for a romantic stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onur857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Ister bir gunlugune ister cok uzun , eger kapadokya seyahati yapacaksaniz hic dusunmeden melekler evine gidin ve kalin. Bolgeyi biliyorsaniz veye hic bilmiyorsaniz farketmez tereddutsuz burda kalin ve kendinizi Muammer ve Arzu'ya teslim edin. Magara otelde kalmanin keyfini surun, odalarin ve otelin sicak ortaminda , sahiplerinin samimiyeti ve yonlendirmeleriyle mukemmel bir tatil yasayin. Ben bundan sonra sadece kahvalti etmek ve uyumak icin bile oraya tekrar gitmeyi dusunuyorum.


Doesn't matter how many days you will spend in capadocia, doesnt matter if you know the area or you visit for the first time, just stay in MELEKLER EVI and let the owners Muammer and his wife Arzu show you the way how to spend your visit. I will visit soon again just for having breakfest and rest in a magical way.

aram

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aram K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.3 mi away
Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel
0.2 mi away
Has Cave Konak Hotel
Has Cave Konak Hotel
#18 of 65 in Urgup
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heaven Cave House
Heaven Cave House
#27 of 65 in Urgup
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yusuf Yigitoglu Konagi
Yusuf Yigitoglu Konagi
#33 of 65 in Urgup
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Selcuklu Evi
Selcuklu Evi
#24 of 65 in Urgup
210 reviews
3.5 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meleklerevi Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meleklerevi Cave Hotel

Property: Meleklerevi Cave Hotel
Address: Dereler Mahallesi, Dere Sokak No: 59, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meleklerevi Cave Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the first beating of Angel Wings...The first time we saw this land of beautiful horses, Cappadocia, and its magical fairy chimneys, we knew we had to leave our own mark on this land that has been home to different civilizations for centuries. In Cappadocia nothing is as it seems. We lived this with each throw of the axe and with each stone that we lifted from the soil. As we removed hundreds of cubic meters of dirt from the garden and from the top of the main building, we discovered the remainders of centuries past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Meleklerevi Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meleklerevi Cave Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing