We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a Place to Stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kervansaray Hotel & Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kervansaray Hotel & Pension
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Pamukkale
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
330 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Just a Place to Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is just an ordinary pension that has small rooms and dated bathrooms. Okay if you font spencer much time there. The served breakfast was meager. It is the first time I have not been given cheese at breakfast in my three weeks in Turkey. The owner is wily. He said my room would have a balcony with a view of the travertines, but the view was of an over grown dry creek. He quoted me a price in Euro and when I checked out he used an inflated exchange rate. When I reminded him of the current rate, he backed down. As I walked around the tiny town, I saw nicer hotels at a better price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AcePortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    30
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
24
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kusadasi, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We have lived near Kusadsasi for 6 years and wanted a short break in Pamukkale. As we are both retired we wanted the best value for money as we are on a budget. After much searching and looking at Trip Advisor for reviews, we came up with a list of 12 places to look at on our arrival.

The owner at Kervansaray did not believe that we were retired and that we worked for an emlak or travel company doing reviews of hotels x the price he was quoting us was far higher than booking.com and tried to argue that the price was in Euros and was due to the exchange rate, however, we looked at prices on Turkish Websites and prices only quoted in TL... Needless to say he lost the sale and we are staying at the first property we had on the list, although was the last one we looked at...

Anonymous

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We arrived to the hotel at a rather early hour after an adventurous night bus ride. We had to wait a bit for the owner to show up but at least we enjoyed the calm and freshness of the morning on the open veranda couches. The room was very clean and fresh, with a little balcony over the pool. The twin beds felt like heaven after the night on the bus and the air conditioning was silent and efficient. Traditional Turkish breakfast is served on the roof terrace, a big plate with fresh fruits, egg, cheese and olives it might not look a lot at first sight but the quantity it is just right! (and healthy). The owner and his son were very kind and helpful after I accidentally tripped and they assisted! me promptly. Much grateful for their help and patience!
A very lovely and calm place, close to restaurants and to the entrance of the travertine pools. We were happy with our choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthimisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We had the privilege of visiting Pamukkale and it's magnificent travertines in January 2012. We booked the Kervansaray Hotel, before we started our trip, and enquired as to how to get to Aphrodiasis and Laodicea, Mevlut our lovely host told us via email, we could organise that when we arrived, and that's exactly what happened, upon arrival it was very cold, Mevlut told us that while we stayed treat the hotel as our home, he then went on to ask us what we would like to see, "Aphrodiasis, Laodicea, Heirapolis and the travertines" we said. So he explained how we could see each, and promptly made several phone calls to help with our sightseeing. Within minutes we were told we could be taken to Aphrodiasis the following day if there were enough people, (which within an hour a phone call came to say there was). He then went on to explain how to get to Laodicea ( 10 mins away) and which is the best way to enter Heirapolis and to see the travertines. After we had everything organised we decided to go for a short walk around the small town of Pamukkale and up the end of the street to see the travertines from below... we were so excited to be there and just to look at them from afar. Upon arriving back at the hotel, we were invited to have a wonderful hot steaming cup of tea and to join a lovely chat with both Mevlut, Mesgure ( his wife) and two others who had finished doing some maintenance on the hotel for the day. We were the only two staying at the hotel at that time and Mevlut and Mesgure offered for us to have a meal with them. We ended up extending our stay for another day we enjoyed everything so much including the wonderful hospitality shown to us by our lovely hosts. Our room was simple but very comfortable and we had an ensuite. The hotel is within 5 mins walk to the southern entrance to the travertines and 3 mins walk to several cafes, the general store, and the travel agencies that are nearby. The hotel also has a dining area and pool, but these were closed when we were there due to it being winter. To get to Pamukkale we caught a small bus from Fethiye for 20TL, which takes you to Denizli, from there a connecting minibus is waiting to take you into Pmukkale 20kms away. Give yourself two full days to see both Aphrodiasis (one day needed) and Laodicea,(morning)Heirapolis and the Trevertines (full afternoon) Colossae is also nearby.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Kervansaray Hotel in Pamukkale is a little gem. Centrally located. Mr. Kaya and his family are truly kind and caring to customer needs. Rooms are small, simple and clean (decoration is a question of personal taste). All amenities are present: A/C hot+cold, flat TV, phone, fridge, hairdryer. Free WiFi everywhere. They even provide robes and slippers. No safe, though (maybe in reception).
The pool is small but very adequate. The water is cloudy (due to the enormous calcium content, that's where the travertines come from). The constant hum of water flowing in the street is very agreable and soothing.
The terrace is very comfortable, superb view, very good for diner. When we were there (June 2012), Mr. Kaya was offering a fixed menu at 25 euros each, with enough food for even the most hungry. And tasteful too. Not expensive at all, considering the alternatives outside and the quality of the food.
The (included) breakfast is also in the terrace. No buffet. But the quantity, variety and quality of the food they bring to your table is totally satisfying.
I regret that the curtains in the windows don't shade anything (sun aplenty in your room at 5 a.m.) but that's usual in Turkey everywhere. Bring your eye-cover (that thingy they give in planes).
A very recommended Hotel. And it's cheap, too. A sure shot.

Room Tip: If you're a couple and if a triple is available, chose it. It may be the same price, and you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mario_MZG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Positives:
Location is near to Pamukkale but on the other hand everything was nearby to Pamukkale.
Warm welcome from owner.
A bit reasonable price.

Negative:
Very old and out of fashion rooms.
Odd bathroom and furniture.
Morning noises makes you get up early, not enough sound isolation.
Bed was not comfortable.
Breakfast was poor.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifeisshortbegentle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

I have paid less for better rooms elsewhere in Turkey The room is nothing special for what I paid I feel the owner is taking advantage of over charging for the room
After touring Pamukale and waiting for the bus I checked two other nearby analogous properties charging more reasonable rates, in line to what I have paid elsewhere in Turkey
The old fashioned lesson to all fellow travelers is to plan ahead as much as possible or to arrive to your destination with plenty of day light to scout around for a room
The only positive is that the owner wife is very nice and welcoming and the breakfast was plentiful and tasty but other than that the rate is exorbitantly expensive for a simple room

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ViajeroSolitario1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pamukkale
0.6 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#1 of 27 in Pamukkale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aspawa Pension Hotel
Aspawa Pension Hotel
#10 of 27 in Pamukkale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.7 mi away
Richmond Pamukkale Thermal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pamukkale Ninova Thermal Spa & Hotel
3.4 mi away
Doga Thermal Health & Spa
Doga Thermal Health & Spa
#1 of 11 in Karahayit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ozbay Hotel
Ozbay Hotel
#7 of 27 in Pamukkale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kervansaray Hotel & Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kervansaray Hotel & Pension

Property: Kervansaray Hotel & Pension
Address: Pamukkale Kasabasi, Pamukkale 20280, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Denizli Province > Pamukkale
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Pamukkale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kervansaray Hotel & Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kervansaray (Caravansary) is located at a peaceful section of the city and only 5 minutes in walking distance to famous Pamukkale travertine. Being a family owned and operated business; Hotel Kervansaray offers an accommodation in a cozy, modest, comfortable, warm and sincere atmosphere.Rooms with a warm decoration and modern technology including air conditioner, hair dryer and TV will make you feel at home.You can enjoy the view of the famous travertine from certain rooms of the Hotel Kervansaray. You can relax and watch the spectacular Pamukkale travertine while sipping on your drink on your private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Kervansaray Hotel & Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing