We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing history and natural beauty”

Pamukkale Natural Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$105.86*
and up
Pamukkale Hierapolis Small Group Tour From Izmir
More Info
US$60.00*
and up
Best of Pamukkale Tour From Kusadasi: Hierapolis,Travertines,Cotton Castle
More Info
US$65.71*
and up
Pamukkale and Hierapolis Tour from Alanya
Ranked #3 of 20 things to do in Pamukkale
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Amazing history and natural beauty”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The site is amazing with the vista spreading out before you of brilliant blue salt deposits and roman ruins and burial sites.
We were delighted as we walked around to find the wildlife was teeming along some of the less walked rear of site pathways. You could walk all day and we spent 9 hrs on site and still did not cover it all.
The main attraction was supposed to be the salt deposits but they were so full of Japanese tourists taking photos we actually spent the least time on this facet of the site.
We did see tortoises gekos snakes and one very large hornet but at least he left us alone.
We thoroughly enjoyed cleopatras pool but this annoyingly was an extra and nobody warned us that the salts in the pool can and do seriously affect some ladies gemstones. My wifes opal rings were destroyed so CAUTION. Leave your jewellery in the lockers .
Overall brilliant and even the cafes style restaurants were good value for money.
The roman ruins also well worth a walk despite being a fair walk. Museum was overpriced and in honesty not value for money as too small.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank simon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    693
    245
    80
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rodenbach
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The thermal springs and ruins are awesome. Hieropolis is my favorite set of ruins in Turkey. The St. Phillip chapel is a hidden gem. It may be up a hill, but it is worth a visit, especially since there are so few people up there that you get it to yourself.

The thermal pool was cool, but overpriced. There were a lot of Russians when we went, so it was a cool international experience. The pools running down the hill are a necessary experience.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fuchsstrasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Too beautiful to be true”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Beside Ephesus, Pamukkale is the second place I most recommend in Turkey. The scene, pools, mountain are so beautiful. Full of tourists but who we can blame when Pamukkale is so unique and I don't think I can find another one looks like it or even similar.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HoangHai_Hanoi_VN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
190 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Visit for Pamukkale, Stay for Hierapolis”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Pamukkale is a really beautiful site. The calcite terraces with their baby blue pools are beautiful... but they're also overrun by tourists. The pictures don't quite meet reality too; don't expect easy walking. The ground is quite rough and sharp. Much of it is also off-limits to preserve it as well.

The real highlight is Hierapolis on top of the terraces. The ancient spa town is worth investing most of your time. There's an amphitheatre, temple ruins, aqueducts, and an agora that are truly awesome. You can wander among these (the town was quite large) and just get lost in thought.

There's also an exhibit of artifacts if that interests you. It's cheap. I didn't go though (time constraints), but you can see much of the relics through the chain link fence anyways.

Helpful?
Thank NorthernWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A natural wonder and a must see”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a UNESCO heritage site and one of the world wonders to see. Visit just at the sunset. No not forget to bring your swim suit. You are not allowed on the hills and pools and with shoes so be prepared to carry them. The park below the hills is also very pleasant. You may have a drink and a light dinner. There a re many hotels in the town and almost all are reasonably prices. You may wish to spend a night there to enjoy the hills and the historical sights on top in the morning and late afternoon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Haluk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pamukkale Natural Park also viewed

Pamukkale, Denizli Province
Pamukkale, Denizli Province
 
Pamukkale, Denizli Province
Pamukkale, Denizli Province
 

Been to Pamukkale Natural Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing