We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mineral pools/spa area but AWFUL food”
Review of Lycus River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lycus River Hotel
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Pamukkale
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel has a nice layout and the rooms were decent but the really great part is the mineral pools! There is an indoor/outdoor pool that is absolutely wonderful. We also did the Mr Fish thing which was very cool - try it.

The biggest drawback of the hotel is the horrible food. I barely ate anything while we were there AND they charged outrageous amounts for bottled water in the dining room (but you can't bring your own in - wonder why). Even breakfast was bad and it's pretty hard to mess up breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Hotel used as part of a package with RSD Lycus trip.
Room good and bathroom,
Dinner was a buffet, starters very good, main course limited choice what was available was well cooked but lacked imagination.
Again deserts looked very good on arrival but if you take your time over dinner and enjoy the company of other dinners you are to late on the sweet course as I was left with a choice of just two pastry type dishes that had somewhat been beat up and looked in a sorry state, or an apple or under ripe pear.
Breakfast again buffet but not as wide a choice as we had the following morning at the final hotel on out tour.
if I was to give meals a score out of ten (I being the lowest)
Dinner 5
Breakfast 4.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Tour group overnight stay. At first got attic room which was 'big' on paper but not much space you could actually use, and there's a tiny window in the eave. Changed to a room the floor below and were happier. Room was still quite strange by western standard - there's a mirror that runs across where the beds are, but the beds don't necessary fit into the space. I've come to accept these quirkiness from Turkish hotels by now. They do have pretty extensive grounds and even a fitness room with 2 running machines which we used. The swimming pool is huge but unheated. The thermal spa is very popular. I really like the bar which is enormous and nicely laid out and doesn't get full even with loads of coach parties coming in - probably because everyone was leaving early the next morning! The staff do demand payment straight away which is a bit unpleasant. The wifi signal in the bar is very hit and miss too. The restaurant is huge and terrible. For dinner they have loads of dishes, almost all very bland as is the want of self-service dinner. The 'Chinese' noodles (there are lots of Chinese guests) are more like spaghetti. Breakfast is even worse - the breads are really dense except for a sponge like thing. I suppose most guests stay here as part of their tour itinerary and won't see it coming, but watching the sunset in the outside thermal pool was worth it for me.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LC42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Fantastic pool. Nice place and location. We stayed on our bus tour for a night. Was great until all the other bus groups arrived. Then was very overcrowded. Buffet dinner was grab what you can before the plates were emptied by some people taking huge plates. Would only stay again if bus groups weren't there.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed with a tour group for one night. We are not a picky bunch, but this hotel was appalling. The staff were rude for the most part, alot of our rooms were double booked, which means strangers where in and out at odd times. The walls are paper thin and you can hear clearly the conversation etc taking place next door. The buffet was limited, the beer and any other drink ordered was expensive by Turkish standards. I would never recommend anyone staying at this hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Although there were a few signs labelling this as a 5 star one but definitely will let you down.
Overall i felt this premise was tired and worn, in need of refurbishment and modernisation. The room was small especially for the bathroom and shower screen. Sound proof was bad as you can hear the footsteps level above or conversation next door. Woke up a few times by noises from the aisle as our room was poorly situated where every guests on the same level will pass by.
Most of the area lighting were poorly lit including restaurant area. Limited food varieties served during dinner and breakfast and the taste was below average.
On the plus side, the hotel equipped a small thermal pool (indoor and outdoor) and a pretty large swimming pool.
This may be an average 3star hotel experience but a big let down for its' claim of 5star.

Room Tip: Try not to get room close to the block entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodsteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Our stay was part of a tour group and although check in ran smoothly the rest of our stay was well below the standard expected.

Our complaints ran from slow draining drains, broken toilets through to maggots coming out of the drains in at least two different rooms!!!
Yep MAGGOTS!

The food was unappealing and the wait staff were rude.
Beverages were the most expensive we had come across, approx. 30% higher then everywhere else!

It might be close to the thermal pools, but I would seriously recommend looking at upgrading to a 5 star hotel in this area if this is what rates 4 stars.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Alison k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pamukkale
0.5 mi away
Richmond Pamukkale Thermal Hotel
0.7 mi away
Doga Thermal Health & Spa
Doga Thermal Health & Spa
#1 of 13 in Karahayit
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spa Hotel Colossae Thermal
Spa Hotel Colossae Thermal
#2 of 13 in Karahayit
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pamukkale Ninova Thermal Spa & Hotel
2.4 mi away
Tripolis Hotel
Tripolis Hotel
#11 of 28 in Pamukkale
503 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hierapark Thermal & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lycus River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lycus River Hotel

Address: | Karahayit, Pamukkale 20290, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Denizli Province > Pamukkale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Pamukkale
Price Range: £40 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lycus River Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would be glad to host you - our dear guests - with the thousands of years old historical spas around our hotel , it's configuration and with our unique servicing concept. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, bedfinder AG, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lycus River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing