We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Hotel Birkent

Hotel Birkent
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Birkent
Ranked #5 of 16 Diyarbakir B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is a great two star hotel. Easy to find and handy location just inside the walls of the old city, close to all the historic sites.

The rooms are clean, large and comfortable. Interesting purple and lime green old fashioned decor, but the sheets are crisp and clean, beds are comfy, the air con works, steaming instantaneous hot water and decent towels. The windows facing the street are double glazed. Wifi works in the rooms and is quick. Laundry is available and is done inhouse, and on the day. The rooms are also serviced daily.

Breakfast is a good Turkish buffet, and the tables are set with cutlery and white table cloths. Staff are helpful but speak very limited English.

If you're looking for the best budget hotel in Diyarbakir, this is it.

In fact, it's the best budget hotel we have stayed in in South East Turkey. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel was easy to find by car. They have parking available and the location is very handy for the attractions located in the north part of the walled city. The room was well appointed and relatively clean. The wifi connection worked well and the personnel were friendly and with a helping disposition. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monstita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

VFM through and through. Great hotel with all the amenities that an off the beaten track traveller is looking for - location, helpful staff etc. Diyabakir is worth visiting and if you do I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kato M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Hotel Birkent, nice clean doublebed 70TL per night(I normally put the price I paid on here because one of the big reason I look on to Tripadvisor is to compare the price with other accomodations, hotel owners who are not confident with their hotel will not be happy with this but I believe the owners who are proud of their hotels have to have a chance to show off their cheap price with good quality of hotel as well as the travelers have a right to know the price before they get to the place, and revealing the price makes the better conditions for the travelers. Sorry for making it too long)

Pros:
clean, friendly staffs, ac worked well, big refri which worked really well(my water became ice), you can adjust the power of refri, wifi at every floor worked very fast(I'm Korean :)), very close from minibus(dolmush), close from all the spots in Diyarbakir, right next to the hotel there is 24 hour open restaurant serves good food with cheap price (2 person for 20 TL with 7 dishes)

Cons:
only problem we faced was breakfast. it was just ok but if I have a chance to get back to this hotel I will bargain the price without breakfast

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddoodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I really liked Otel Birkent - simple but comfortable, with excellent beds, plenty of hot water, hot radiators (this is March), blazing internet, and it seems clean, well-run and secure, and friendly without being intrusive. At least one of the guys speaks a little English. Breakfast was fantastic - several cheeses, olives, three kinds of bread, boiled eggs, a corba, yogurt, honey, cherry jam, juices... as good as any Turkish breakfast I've had and better than many.

It's in a good location for wandering around the old city - a bit noisy in the evening but the morning adhan didn't seem to happen, or at least wasn't loud. There are several other ** and *** places in the immediate vicinity so this is a good place to start asking.

Room Tip: You could try one at the back if noise is a concern but I doubt it would make a difference, and anyw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank asgerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

If you want a clean room, warm water in the shower and TV, one of the acceptable alternatives for a reasonable price ( like Hotel Kristal and Hotel Kaplan) is Birkent. The hotel must cost in Euro a single room ca. 25 Euro, a double room ca. 35 Euro.
Birkent is a simple hotel, but clean and comfortable enough.
Of course, Birkent is not like Prestige, Turistik, Miroglu, SV etc. They are of higher quality but then you should pay double on avarage.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tourtoturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We've stayed here twice now. Great location, very good value, lots of room furniture to put stuff away, and comfortable beds. Right in the middle of things so can be a bit noisy but things quiet down early. Staff friendly but not English speaking. Free wi fi. I love Diyarbakir and would definitely choose this hotel again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank playa13ShawIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diyarbakir hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Diyarbakir
Hilton Garden Inn Diyarbakir
#2 of 18 in Diyarbakir
174 reviews
3.8 mi away
Novotel Diyarbakir
Novotel Diyarbakir
#1 of 18 in Diyarbakir
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dies Hotel
Dies Hotel
#3 of 18 in Diyarbakir
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mitannia Regency Hotel
Mitannia Regency Hotel
#5 of 18 in Diyarbakir
27 reviews
2.2 mi away
Liv Suit Hotel
Liv Suit Hotel
#8 of 18 in Diyarbakir
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Miroglu
Miroglu
#14 of 18 in Diyarbakir
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Birkent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Birkent

Address: Inonu Caddesi Nr. 26, Diyarbakir, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Diyarbakir Province > Diyarbakir
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Diyarbakir
Price Range: £15 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Birkent 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Birkent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing