We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up the "Ally" to a Surprise”
Review of Anadolu Evleri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anadolu Evleri
Ranked #1 of 16 Gaziantep B&B and Inns
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
202 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Up the "Ally" to a Surprise”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Our tour group had to walk aways from where our bus had to drop us off. However, the location is ideal for walking around town. It was the most unique of the places we stayed throughout our tour. Breakfast was served in the open courtyard and we had dinner our first night there as well.
The rooms weren't fancy but quite comfortable. All in all, it was a fitting experience in an ancient city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timschindel, Owner at Anadolu Evleri, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Larry

Thank you for taking time to write this review. 12 years ago when I was looking for a location for which you awarded 5 stars, , it took me 45 days of walking the streets of Gaziantep. Glad you enjoyed, regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    50
    14
    9
    1
See reviews for
19
53
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We can highly recommend «Anadolu Evleri» in Gaziantep! It’s a very nice, centrally located hotel. Historically interested people will get their fill in one of the oldest continuously inhabited cities in the world, where you can still breathe the Antiquity, Hellenistic, Roman, or Byzantine history up to Ottoman period. «Anadolu Evleri» is located just next to the Zincirli Bedesten (the Ottoman era covered bazaar of Gaziantep) in the middle of the old town with its hustle and bustle during the day; people seeking peace and quiet find exactely what they want to suit them behind the old walls of «Anadolu Evleri» made of locally found keymik rock. Your Tea or coffee is served by a very friendly Staff in the inner courtyard called the 'Hayat' which is the focal point of the house.

My family and I will be back soon!
Oscar Bergamin, Switzerland

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OscarBergamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed for four nights in this lovely old town house with its quiet and peaceful courtyard in the centre of Gaziantep. It is ideally placed for walking round the old parts of the city and local restaurants. Our room (no 5) was large with high ceilings, big windows overlooking the courtyard and comfortable beds. The staff were helpful and friendly and although the English speaking owner was away and we struggled a bit with communication, with hand gestures and good will on both sides we managed well. This place has huge character, and while it may not have all the mod cons of a purpose built hotel (we would have loved a mini frig to keep our water and cold drinks in) I would very much recommend it - we loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynDalkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timschindel, Manager at Anadolu Evleri, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
thank you very much for taking time to write a review...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tobyhanna, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
295 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

dropped off by park at the foot of old castle because average size busses cannot maneuver through the charming but narrow streets of old gaziantep; then walked up hill through open air market to find the most charming hotel on side street... started as owners home; he then bought the building next to it and created a boutique hotel/pensione!! no two rooms are the same, but all have character all their own; and all are clean and comfortable. two reading rooms with 'lending' library, so leave a book or take one!! breakfast outdoors -- if weather permits -- more than adequate. staff helpful and more than willing to please... thanks for helping with luggage!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timschindel, Owner at Anadolu Evleri, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
thank you for your review. i am happy that the weather permitted an outdoor breakfast, very pleasant at this time of the year..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The hotel is located just a block away from the oldtown, and strategically close to "Imam Cagdas Restaurant", which is famous for its kebaps and baklavas...
The staff was very friendly. Breakfast was simple, but still very good.
It is a historical hotel, hence the rooms are not modern, but has everything and clean.
It has a nice atrium where you can spend some quiet hours after dinner. The breakfast is served in the same place.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timschindel, Owner at Anadolu Evleri, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
thank you for your review. we hope you will return for some more quiet time ...best regards...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Sensitively restored buildings around a lovely shaded courtyard. Large rooms with lots of original features. Good Turkish breakfasts. The most memorable part - I have rarely come across such helpful staff in any hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timschindel, Owner at Anadolu Evleri, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your review. I am very happy that my staff was the most memorable part of your stay. Hope to see you again. Tim Schindel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardin, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2013

You will not beat this accommodation in Antep - have been coming to the region for 3 years and this is a highlight. Beats the chain hotels and gives you a traditional feel.

Each room is different and the majority are centred around a beautiful quiet courtyard. Make sure you try and request a good room if needs be and prices can vary. Breakfast is good and not to heavy and the courtyard is a perfect setting to eat it in the cool breeze during the summer. The courtyard is also useful for relaxing during the day and in the evening.

The location of the hotel is second to none. One of Antep's finest and oldest restaurants is close by (Imam Cadgas - spelling not necessarily correct) and several other are close by also.

The staff at the hotel are very helpful but at the same time non intrusive. Internet is a available and also there are a coupe of indoor rooms for longing or working in.

Having stayed in many of the rooms, the highlight is the attic room in the main building as well as the two feature rooms also in the main building.

If you want peace and a place to relax with the hustle and bustle of Antep on your doorstep this is the place for you. It offeres a unique experience. One of the best traditional style hotels in the east.

Room Tip: Ask ahead of time for a good room - this is a traditional style hotel and each room is different so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaziantep hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gaziantep
Hotel Ibis Gaziantep
#8 of 27 in Gaziantep
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Gaziantep-Sehitkamil
0.9 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Gaziantep
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sirehan Hotel
Sirehan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Gaziantep
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Novotel Gaziantep
Hotel Novotel Gaziantep
#2 of 27 in Gaziantep
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zeynep Hanim Konagi
Zeynep Hanim Konagi
#2 of 16 in Gaziantep
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anadolu Evleri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anadolu Evleri

Property: Anadolu Evleri
Address: Sekeroglu Mah. Koroglu Sok. No:6 Tabakhane, Sahinbey, Gaziantep 27000, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Gaziantep Province > Gaziantep
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Gaziantep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Anadolu Evleri 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two connected stone houses wıth courtyards, in the middle of the historical old town. Both houses registered by the historical society. Walking distance to the fortress, copper market, covered bazaars, hamams, museums, restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anadolu Evleri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing