We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel But Musicians have very bad personality”
Review of Berksoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berksoy Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bergama
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The Staff was good. Expecially; technical service was very well. Everything were very well. But The musicians were terrible. One of them accosted my friend in restaurant. It was not good behavior. Other than that, I liked this hotel for Bergama region. The quailty was not high but It is good hotel among other hotels. If you go to Bergama, You can choose this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Guitarist-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Berksoy Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

I'm in Bergama for the ruins, drove thru town and saw some hideous hotels, kept driving and found this property right on main highway just west of town. Once nice older property that shows lots of signs of neglect, but it had a long way to fall and many of its rooms have been updated quite nicely, but DO NOT walk down interior hall are look into unrenovated rooms, wow. There are no nonsmoking rooms, the odor assaults you when you walk in but one adapts. King size bed was hard and pillows were a joke, I used towels and blanket from cabinet. Bathroom was updated, passed casual inspection, but either cleansers aren't available or the maids regard inch thick mold around the shower stall as acceptable (I took photo but haven't figured out how to post em yet!). No soap or shampoo, either the maid spaced it or they don't do it here, I suspect the former. Floor is redone in lick-and-stick fake wood, but subfloor was not repaired so its spongey, yuk. The property big enough to handle tour buses, but they don't come anymore, they stay on the coast hotels, all other guests are Turkish business types, briefcases and laptops instead of daypacks and guidebooks. Front desk English is marginal, no doubt reflecting their target clientele, but good enough though a bit stiff. They sublet the pool area to a friend who places tables around the pool area and improvises what is likely an upscale restaurant, quite nice, and the menu is good and reasonable, good table service. Breakfast well better than average, notably they'll make you a custom omelette, and I hope you like cigarette smoke with your meal. Street noise is substantial and all rooms face the highway, but I kept the air conditioner on high fan and slept well. Grounds are filthy, broken glass, garbage scattered around. Oh, and wifi is free but works infrequently...I got dumped off typing this.

Room Tip: I suspect the renovated rooms are essentially the same.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BillSmart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Lack of english at reception was not agood start ,the first room we were shown to stank of smoke the second at least had a double bed . When we inquired about lunch the receptionist just waved her hand at the dinning room,dinner that night was in the upstairs bar , beer was warm on shifting the seat closer to the table my wife discovered 40 dead flys behind seat . WE didnt eat here instead walked into town some three klm away. The place is not even backpacker standed would not ever stay again. DIRTY DIRTY DIRTY.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thesangas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed only one night at this hotel. At first sight, we loved it: an architecture reminiscent of 1950s-1960s, lovely gardens, small but renovated room, helpful staff, free wifi... all that a one night accomodation requires and more... But with the dinner time, our impressions started to alter: the restaurant has nothing to do with the rest of the hotel, a modern but tasteless place, no windows... though the hors d'oeuvres served as open buffet were delicious, the main course was barbeque and the whole smell and smoke of the preparations were inside the restaurant... By the time the dinner was over, our hair, clothes, everything on us were smelling meat and smoke.... the experience in our room at night was much worse: first all of, I did not sleep in a bed that was worst than this one and this is not an exaggeration... In the morning, I felt like I slept in an armchair or on the floor, all my body was aching and so were the remaining 20+ members of our group. But, worse than that was the smell.. the smell of manure was unbearable, it was as if we were staying on a farm, inside the barn itself... I kept smelling the sheets thinking maybe a shephard or someone in the animal business slept in the room before us and the smell remained... It was extremely unconfortable and disqusting... and in the morning we learnt the reason, as all other entry level room guests had the same complaint: they had just used manure at the garden (to make sure plants and flowers grow better!!!!). I really felt sorry that our experience turned out to be so negative as the place itself was lovely.... It's unfortunately a good example of bad management....

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TubaKoseogluOkcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This was a no frills type place. The room was big, quiet and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was clean but the water was warm at best. The food was nothing to write home about but wasn't horrible either. Pretty much an average hotel with average amenities. If you are looking for a hotel to hang out in you can find other places that might be a bit more eclectic but this hotel defiantly serves its purpose if you are ok with a basic place to rest your head after trekking some ruins.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APBERG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The hotel is Close to the city center. It is a Quiet and peaceful place. The Rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The staff is very kind and friendly.
We have dinner there and the food was average, could be better.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASMSIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Good road stop, but not for a long stay. Most rooms seem to have been recently renovated. Pool and dinner by the pool was nice. Breakfast was disappointing, and there is a noisy meyhane next to the hotel. We had planned two nights but decided to leave it at one.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergama
20.8 mi away
Kalem Island Oliviera Resort
15.4 mi away
Halic Park Dikili
Halic Park Dikili
#3 of 8 in Dikili
96 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Labella Bergama
Hotel Labella Bergama
#2 of 5 in Bergama
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Dikili Sunset Club Hotel
15.2 mi away
Rakasta Boutique Hotel & Convention Center
21.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Izmir Aliaga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berksoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berksoy Hotel

Address: Ataturk Street, No:128 Bergama, Bergama, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Bergama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bergama
Price Range: £35 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berksoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Berksoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berksoy Hotel Bergama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing