We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bergama, Turkiye”
Review of Athena Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Athena Pension
Ranked #6 of 15 Bergama B&B and Inns
Karachi, Pakistan
1 review
“Bergama, Turkiye”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The hotel is located down a small street which at first might make you nervous, but once your inside, there are independent blocks which house your room and bathroom. Loved them, neat clean and absolutely beautiful. The garden at the pension is the piece de resistance, absolutely beautiful with an old wall around the boundaries and when you look over the wall you see the hill with the ancient ruins. Amazing. Breakfast was served every morning in a separate section of the property with beautiful windows overlooking the garden and the trees. As well, the owner was very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. Bergama is a small town and all the towns people knew we were visiting. On one night, we got bread, meat, olives and cheeses and sat in the garden and enjoyed dinner. Overall an amazing trip, wish we had stayed a bit longer!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    24
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
50
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Fresh from a harrowing traffic incident that damaged our rental car, we arrived in Bergama with shattered nerves and at length found the Old Ottoman House (now the Athena Pension). Aydin, kind, patient, and funny, gave us coffee, calmed us down, and found someone to fix the car on a Saturday at an outrageously low price. No one would ever have known about our not-so-little scrape. He was like a father to us, and we loved him--especially when he drew himself to full height and asked, "Don't you think I look a little like Ataturk?"

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Utterly charming pension: quaint, tasteful, well-lit rooms; great breakfast (best fries ever - host's favourite) and tea or coffee in wonderful courtyard garden (unique feature) looking up to Acropolis and ancient theatre. Aydin, the host, is delightful, generous, very helpful, sincerely committed to hospitality and seeing the world through travellers' eyes. Athena Pension is HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ma_gtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Lovely stay! Aydin is most welcoming and speaks English. Our room was large and airy with huge windows on two sides. The bed was large for two of us and had an excellent thick mattress. The only sounds at night were dogs and chickens. The last 100 metres in the car was a narrow cobbled street but then we were able to park in the yard and have a cup of tea in the garden. Nice lokanta 5 minutes walk away for supper. Had we known how nice it was we would have planned to stay for several days.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fallonps07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2013

1. The house is an old Ottoman house. Very comfortable/clean.
2. Great location.10-15minutes walk to the Acropolis' Cable Car
3. Aydin (The owner) is so helpful/passionate about keeping his place a tourist friendly hostel.
4. Wifi to get you stay connected with your loved ones (inside hostel/backyard)
5. There is a warm room at the backyard where you can enjoy warm environment as we travelled during winter. The backyard is huge enough to cater for group activities.
6. No street noise at all
7.Stay there!! You won't regret!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NajibShahid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fl
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Stay here. The rooms are perfect. There is a detached glass-front building that is always open and offers tea and books. You can park a full size van. Great hospitality. Nice breakfast. Can walk to Pergamon site and anything else.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Without a doubt this is the best pension in Bergama - it has a lovely garden which has a clear view to the Acropolis and you can sit in it freely - newly renovated this year it is fresh and pleasant in an almost japanesey feel and the proprietor is very friendly. The breakfast is an exploration because it has Turkish elements unfamiliar in Western Europe such as mulberry syrup and rose petal jam and assorted pastries and things which are part of the holiday experience. We loved it and it is very central. As in all Turkish towns you are woken by the calls to prayer blasting out at 6.15 in the morning or so and the conversation between the local dogs in the middle of the night, but that is just part of the local colour.

Room Tip: You want to be in the main Ottoman House which has four bright and airy rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philipmartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergama
16.2 mi away
Halic Park Dikili
Halic Park Dikili
#2 of 8 in Dikili
75 reviews
22.0 mi away
Kalem Island Oliviera Resort
0.3 mi away
Les Pergamon Hotel
Les Pergamon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bergama
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Berksoy Hotel
Berksoy Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bergama
47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pergamon Pension
Pergamon Pension
#7 of 15 in Bergama
52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anil Boutique Hotel
Anil Boutique Hotel
#10 of 15 in Bergama
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athena Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athena Pension

Property: Athena Pension
Address: Barbaros Mah. Gokce Imam Cikmazi No:9 Bergama Merkez, Bergama 35700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Bergama
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bergama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to stay in the middle of the interesting old town, very central but very quiet street,Pension Athena is option for guests. This over a century-old, Ottoman house is located next to Bergama (Gallinos) river (just next to the Roman Bridge). Wifi internet, secure indoor car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Athena Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing